Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Lviv region
Found 469 attractions
Lviv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The Church of Mary the Snowy in the Stariy Rynok district in Lviv is one of the oldest churches in the city.
Built in the 14th century by German colonists next to the old market square. The church was first mentioned in documents in 1352.
The original appearance of the building was greatly changed by subsequent reconstructions in the 17th and 19th centuries. After the last reconstruction, carried out by the architect Yulian Zakharevych, the church became a single-nave, basilica type, with an elongated altar part, a square vestibule and a square two-story bell tower.
Previously, the interior was decorated with frescoes of 1750-1751 by the artist Stanislav Stroyinsky. In their place in the 19th century, the artist Edvard Lyepshy executed new paintings imitating mosaics.
Today it is the church of the Mother of God of Perpetual Help of the Ukrainian Greek-Catholic Church.
Snizhna Street, 2 Lviv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Historic area
The memorial cemetery of the soldiers of the Halychyna SS division and the First Ukrainian Division of the Ukrainian National Army was opened in 1994 near Zolochiv, not far from the place where the division broke out of the encirclement in 1944.
The remains of more than 500 soldiers, including not only the division's fighters, but also Soviet soldiers and Wehrmacht servicemen who died in the battles near Brody, were reburied at the cemetery.
A chapel was built at the cemetery, on the walls of which four memorial plaques are mounted, which tell about the combat path of the "Halychyna" division.
Halytske
Museum / gallery , Monument
The memorial complex "Fighters for the Freedom of Ukraine" was opened in 2005 on the territory of the former Stryi city prison, which operated from 1898 to 1963. It is part of the Stryi Local Lore Museum "Verkhovyna".
The exposition of the unique museum-prison is devoted to political prisoners tortured here in different periods by the Austro-Hungarians, the Polish authorities and the Soviet regime. The most terrible page of history is the mass execution of political prisoners in 1941 before the retreat of the Red Army.
The Memorial Complex "Fighters for the Freedom of Ukraine" includes a symbolic wrought-iron fence, fragments of walls with barred windows, a watchtower, an entrance arch with a crown of thorns, a two-story museum building, a mourning wall, a sarcophagus tomb, and a Pieta monument.
Yevhena Olesnytskoho Street, 4 Stryi
Museum / gallery , Historic area
The Memorial Museum of Totalitarian Regimes "Territory of Terror" was opened in Lviv on the territory of transit prison No. 25.
The prison was established in 1944 by the Soviet occupation administration, which replaced the Nazi one. During the Second World War, this place was the Lviv ghetto.
The museum complex has two barracks, watchtowers, barbed wire fence and other infrastructure facilities.
The museum tells the story of political, social, ethnic and religious repressions of totalitarian regimes against the population living in Ukraine.
Vyacheslava Chornovola Avenue, 45 Lviv
Museum / gallery
The Museum of Metrology and Measuring Equipment operates under the State Enterprise "Lvivstandartmetrologiya". It was founded on a non-profit basis. Later it received the status of "People's Museum".
The exposition, which reflects the development of metrology from the end of the 18th century to the present, occupies three halls of the first floor of the "Lvivstandartmetrologiya" building and is planned by types of measurements. Today, the museum collection includes about 800 measuring equipment.
Among the unique tools for measuring geometric quantities, it is worth noting the micrometric inside gauge with a division value of 0.125 millimeters, a measurement limit of up to 875 millimeters (USA, 1900); a micrometer with a division value of 0.01 millimeters and a measurement limit of 25 to 50 millimeters (1908); a caliper with a measurement limit of 0 to 125 millimeters and a division value of 0.1 millimeters with two scales (USSR, 1940); a weighing-type indicator with a division value of 0.001 millimeters (1940), etc.
Among the devices for determining mass are glass weights of 1 kilogram, 1 pound, 200, 100, 50, 10 and 1 gram of the 1st category for checking weights of lower categories (Russia, 1915); weights of 2 pounds, 1 pound 1913; a weight weighing 48.3 zlotniks or 203.5 grams (Russia, 1914); a shoulder weight with a weighing limit of 55 kilograms, a division value of 0.5 kilograms (1884); a test balance with a sensitivity of 0.04 milligrams (Austria, 1906); balance with a weighing limit of up to 500 milligrams and a sensitivity of 0.01 milligrams (1951).
The stand of measuring equipment for the physical and chemical composition and characteristics of a substance includes glass sugar meters (Germany) with a measurement range from 54% to 84% (1932); glass alcohol meters with a measurement range from 34% to 100% and a division value of 0.1% (Germany, 1925); a metal alcohol meter with attached slides with a measurement range from 20 to 90 conventional units (1915); hydrometers, etc.
The stand of measuring instruments for flow, consumption, level, volume of substances and motion parameters presents a gas chamber type meter (Ivano-Frankivsk, 1956), a rotary gas meter, a water meter (Lviv, Lutsk, Austria, 1926-1956), exemplary meters of the 1st category (Germany), a taximeter, automobile speedometers, a revolution counter, etc.
Of particular interest is the stand with instruments for measuring pressure, vacuum, and temperature, which includes vacuum gauges graduated in millimeters of mercury, millivoltmeters, bridges, pyrometers, thermometers, and other instruments.
The stand of measuring instruments for electrical and magnetic quantities presents about 100 devices: ammeters, voltmeters, milliammeters and millivoltmeters, support stores, bridges, normal elements, electric energy meters, combined devices, etc.
Radio engineering and radio electronic devices are represented by an electron-beam oscilloscope, a modulation meter, a rheograph, a tissue hydration content meter, an electrocardiograph and an electrocardioscope.
The stand of measuring instruments and frequencies is represented by a frequency meter, an electric and mechanical stopwatch, a medium-precision wavemeter, a marine and aviation chronometer.
Knyazya Romana Street, 38 Lviv
The Church-Museum of Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky was built in the village of Prylbychi in the Lviv region, which for several centuries was the ancestral estate of the Sheptytsky family.
The two-story Sheptytsky family palace was located here, where Count Andrey Sheptytsky and his brother Klymentiy Sheptytsky were born.
In 1998, on the site of the manor destroyed during the Soviet era, the construction of a temple-museum complex began according to the original project of the famous Lviv architect Oleh Bodnar. The complex was inaugurated in 2015 to mark the centenary of the birth of Andrey Sheptytsky.
A multimedia hall and information stands are available to visitors. The formation of a museum exposition of exhibits related to the life of the Sheptytsky family, the childhood and youth years of their outstanding children, continues.
In 2011, the first monument to Metropolitan Andrey and his brother the blessed holy martyr Klymentiy Sheptytsky was erected in front of the church.
Andreya Sheptytskoho Street, 25 Prylbychi
Monument
A monument to Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytskyi was opened in 2015 on the square in front of Saint George's Cathedral in Lviv.
Metropolitan Sheptytskyi is one of the most respected Ukrainian hierarchs. For more than 50 years, he was the head of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church with a residence in Lviv.
The 3.6-meter-high monument is made of bronze. The total height of the composition is about 5.8 meters. The sculptor is Andriy Koverko, the architects are Ihor Kuzmak and Mykhaylo Fedyk.
Svyatoho Yura Square Lviv
Historic area , Monument
The military cemetery of the First World War is located in the rural cemetery on the outskirts of Hlynsk.
Soldiers who died in 1915 during the campaign of the Austro-Hungarian army to Lviv occupied by Russian troops are buried here. Nearby are Ukrainians, Poles, Germans and Hungarians.
The entire cemetery is crowned by a rectangular memorial column, as a symbol of the triumph of the Austro-Hungarian troops over the Russians. On the four sides of the column, dedications to the fallen soldiers are written in four languages - German, Hungarian, Ukrainian and Polish.
The battle that took place in the vicinity of the village of Hlynsk on June 21, 1915, enabled the troops of General Bom-Ermoli to liberate Lviv from Russian troops. Reburials were carried out in July 2015.
Hlynsk
Architecture
"Naftusya" source No. 1 is the most famous and popular among the drinking sources of the resort.
Buvet No. 1 is located in the center of the Truskavets resort.
"Naftusya" water belongs to weakly mineralized waters (mineralization, 0.7 grams per liter) and chemically belongs to the class of hydrocarbonate-sulfate-calcium-magnesium mineral waters.
As the very name "Naftusya" shows, it contains organic substances related to the Boryslav oil field: phenols, heavy acids of the saturated petroleum series, a small amount of hydrogen sulfide, and impurities of volatile sulfurous hydrocarbons. This gives the water a specific smell and taste of oil.
Water obtained directly from the source releases gas bubbles on the walls of a closed vessel during storage. When stored in an open container for several hours, the smell and taste of oil, as well as gas bubbles, disappear.
According to its physical and chemical composition and physiological effect on the body, "Naftusya" is a unique water and has no equal in any of the resorts. It has a beneficial effect and is indicated for patients suffering from kidney stone disease, uric acid diathesis, gout and other metabolic diseases. "Naftusya" also stimulates the choleretic, bile-secreting functions of the liver and the activity of many other organs.
Teodora Torosevycha Boulevard Truskavets
A new exhibition of contemporary art of the Borys Voznytsky Lviv National Art Gallery - Modernism Museum - opened in 2021 in a modern two-storey office building made of silicate brick, erected in Soviet times behind the Potocki Palace.
A retrospective of Lviv art from early modern experiments to examples of the aesthetics of late structuralism is unfolded in the seven halls of the museum.
The exhibition hall of historical avant-garde and high modernism of 1914-1939 begins the exposition. The next section illustrates the existential sensitivity of postwar society and the state of social alienation of Lviv intellectuals in the days of totalitarian pressure of 1939-1953, in particular the work of Karl Zvirynsky and the artists of his "hermetic circle". The following are the works of artists of 1960-1970: Yevhen Lysyk, Lubomyr Medvid, Ivan Ostafiychuk, Roman Zhuk, Roman Petruk, whose works trace the influences of European trends: Dadaism, Surrealism and Neo-Expressionism, as well as the large-scale phenomenon of the "Lviv neo-avant-garde".
The last halls exhibit the works of the final phase of modern aesthetics and visualize the transitional period between Lviv modernism and postmodernism. The works of Myroslav Yahoda, Roman Zhuk, Rostyslav Lakh, and Andriy Sahaydakovsky reveal the phenomenon of anti-social alienation, close to the Western definition of "trans-avant-garde."
Kopernyka Street, 15 Lviv
The monument to the heroes of the UPA in Slavsko was erected on the grave of the fallen soldiers of the UPA and victims of the repressions of 1940-1950.
It is located next to the Church of the Assumption.
The names of those who died for the freedom of Ukraine are engraved on the monument.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street Slavsko
The Church of the Mother of God Help of the Faithful was built in Sudova Vyshnia in 1884-1890. The previous Catholic Church of Saint Michael, founded in 1620, burned down. The new church was built in the Neo-Gothic style.
In Soviet times, the church building was used as a warehouse.
In 1989, the church of the Mother of God Help of the Faithful was returned to the Catholic community of Sudova Vyshnia.
Danyla Halytskoho Street, 34 Sudova Vyshnia
The "Ancient Lviv" museum opened in 2020 in the dungeons of the Transfiguration Church in the center of Lviv, near Rynok Square.
This is the second institution of a large project of innovative museums under the brand "Formation of the Ukrainian Nation", which combines modern exhibition technologies, realistic 3-D figures of prominent Ukrainians and exhibits from private collections and museum funds.
The Lviv museum presents 40 figures of notable figures who had an impact on the development of the city from 1256 to 1722. Among them are King Danylo Halytsky, Prince Vasylko Romanovych, King Casimir III, sculptor Ivan Heorhiy Pinzel, founder of the first Viennese coffee houses Yuriy Kulchytsky and many others.
Classical and thematic excursions, children's quests, master classes on decorating weapons, weaving chain mail, pottery, making a motanka doll, painting with coffee, and medieval dances are held.
Tickets can be purchased online in advance.
Krakivska Street, 21 Lviv
The interactive museum of traditional medicine "Grandfather's Pharmacy" was opened in 2018 in the village of Myrtiuky on the Stryi bypass.
This is the second museum of the "Grandfather's Pharmacy" network dedicated to the history of folk medicine.
The exposition presents healing herbs, fruits, roots and tinctures from them, with which local residents were treated in ancient times. The excursion begins with the herbal room (museum-pharmacy storeroom), where visitors are told about the history of medicine in the Boikivshchyna, the healing properties of local herbs and the preventive properties of herbal teas.
In the second room, visitors can learn about the use of special tinctures with fly agaric mushrooms, snakes and bees in traditional medicine for the prevention and treatment of serious diseases.
"Grandfather's Pharmacy" also offers tastings of herbal, fruit, berry and root tinctures, aromatic Boykos teas, and berry syrups for children. The same products can be purchased in the museum shop.
The first museum "Grandfather's Pharmacy" operates in Kryvorivnia near Verkhovyna.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 2 Myrtiuky
The center of local history "Khata in Hlyboky" (House in Hlyboky) of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve "Tustan" opened in 2013 as a rural cultural and public center.
It is located in one of several dozen authentic Boyko houses of the early XX century, preserved in the village of Urych. The house-museum presents a modern ethnographic exhibition "Unnecessary? The story of Urych in objects and images", which presents old photos, household items, memories of the villagers.
The exposition uses modern technologies of material presentation with the use of multimedia means.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 106 Urych