Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Kyiv region
Attractions of Obukhiv district
Found 100 attractions
Obukhiv district
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Natural object
The landscape reserve of local significance "Vasylkivski Carpathians" is located east of Vasylkiv, between the villages of Velyka Buhaivka and Roslavychi. It got its name due to the steep hilly relief, reminiscent of Carpathian landscapes.
The reserve with an area of 226.8 hectares was created in 1999 on the basis of a large stream with adjacent ravines, at the bottom of which flows the Krushynka River and several nameless streams flowing into the Buhaivka River. The fragmented log-beam landscape has artificial pine plantations in the upper reaches and natural broad-leaved forest in the lower part, including a floodplain aspen forest. Some pine trees have been preserved on the slopes of the stream.
The main value of the "Vasylkivski Carpathians" is the natural meadow-steppe herbage preserved on the slopes of the ravines, which have never been used by humans for agricultural purposes. In summer, the slopes are full of flowers, filling the air with honeyed aromas of wild chicory, meadow sage, alpine clover and other meadow herbs. Among the rare plants there is hard fiber flax and half-moon bunchgrass (key-grass), which is listed in the Red Book of Ukraine.
According to the Department of Ecology and Natural Resources of the Kyiv Regional State Administration, the "Vasylkivski Carpathians" are home to deer, roe deer, roe deer, wild boars, hares, partridges, and moose, which is listed in the Red Book of Ukraine. More than 30 species of birds nest.
You can enter the territory of the reserve from the T-1006 road on a dirt road that starts opposite the turn to the Gvozdoff ski complex. There is a place for picnics.
On the opposite side of the village of Velyka Buhaivka, there is another truss-beam system "Kazkovy yar", which is often confused with the "Vasylkivski Carpathians".
Velyka Buhaivka
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The manor-museum of the writer Marko Vovchok is a branch of the Museum of the History of Bohulavshchyna.
Prominent Ukrainian writer Mariya Vilinska, who entered the literature under the pseudonym Marko Vovchok, lived in the Bohuslav region for almost 8 years (first in the city, and then in the house of Count Branytsky in neighboring Khokhitva). She came here with a man who was appointed forester. The story "Sly Khayimka" was written on Bohuslav motives.
The only museum in Ukraine, Marko Vovchok, was opened in half of the house where she lived. In the exposition - original things of the writer, embroidery, letters.
Marka Vovchka Street, 15 Bohuslav
Historic area , Archaeological site
The most famous and most visited tourist object of Vytachiv is Mohyla Mountain, better known recently as Knyazhyi Shpyl (Prince's Spire) or Horodyshche. It is located in the south-eastern part of the village. This is one of the highest Dnipro cliffs (190 meters above sea level), which has become the hallmark of the village of Vytachiv thanks to stunning panoramas, modern legends and developed tourist infrastructure.
Data from archeological researches indicate that a 12th century barrow gravedigger is located at this place. Some local historians believe that it was at this place that the historic Vytychiv snem (congress of ancient Rus princes) took place, at which peace was concluded between Svyatopolk Izyaslavych, Volodymyr Monomakh, David and Oleh Svyatoslavych.
Mohyla Mountain does not have a protected status, although in some sources this place is mistakenly called the National Scientific and Cultural Reserve "Novhorod Svyatopolchyi Settlement" or "Vytych Settlement".
In 1991, Ukrainian writer and philosopher Oles Berdnyk laid the cornerstone of the future Church of Ukraine-Mother at this place during the Second Congress of the Ukrainian Spiritual Republic. Before the third congress held in Vytachiv the following year, a wooden windmill and a chapel designed by Taras Shevchenko were erected. The Berdnyk chapel appears in the film "Bohdan Zynoviy Khmelnytskyi" (2004). On the lower terrace of the mountain, the remains of the scenery of Orysya's hut from the film "The Guide" (2014) have been preserved.
The "Vytach" wood-fired craft bakery offers sourdough bread near the windmill. There is a car parking lot, places for rest with tables and barbecues, a public toilet. A stylized private estate also attracts attention.
Naddnipryanska Street, 10 Vytachiv
Monument
The monument to Marusya Bohuslavka, the heroine of Ukrainian folklore, was erected in 1981 on the rocky shore of the Ros River in the central part of Bohuslav.
Marusya entered the national memory as a symbol of loyalty to the Motherland and her people in popular thoughts and songs. According to legend, Marusya, the daughter of the priest of the Intercession Church, was captured by the Tatars during the Tatar raid and was sold to the harem of the Turkish Pasha. As the Pasha's beloved wife, Marusya managed to organize the escape of seven hundred Ukrainian Cossacks from a Turkish prison.
The monument to Marusya Bohuslavka was erected on the place where, according to legend, the Holy Intercession Church stood.
Ostriv Street Bohuslav
A monument to the poet Taras Shevchenko in Vasylkiv was erected in 1993 on one of the city's central squares.
The monument is distinguished by its "humanity" - the Ukrainian genius is depicted not as a stern old man with a judgmental look, as usual, but as a young and inspired poet who sat down to rest with a book in his hands.
Soborna Street, 101 Vasylkiv
Archaeological site , Reserve
The Small Khodosivka (Round) Hillfort on Planerna Mountain in Khodosivka village is part of the Khodosivsky archaeological complex - a group of archaeological monuments in the southern suburbs of Kyiv, which includes about 30 objects of cultural heritage, including the famous "Serpent's Wall".
The first literary references to the Round Fort, fortified by a rampart and an escarpment, date back to the 19th century. During the 20th century, it was repeatedly explored by archaeologists. Many archaeological materials of the Scythian era, the Zarubinets culture, and the Kyivan Rus' era were found here.
In 2023, Planerna Mountain received the status of a landscape reserve of local importance. The reserve protects a valuable natural complex with an area of 31 hectares, which includes a hill with meadow-steppe vegetation, where the populations of the Stipa capillata and the Stipa pennata, listed in the Red Book of Ukraine, grow.
Planerna Mountain with a height of 157 meters is a favorite place for lovers of paragliding, hang-gliding and model aircraft sports. It is also one of the best observation decks, from where you can see panoramas of the hills of the Dnieper Upland with the urban landscapes of the capital's residential areas on the horizon.
Near the northern foot of Planerna Mountain is the outlet town "Manufactura".
Molodizhna Street Khodosivka
Historic area
The Great Khodosivka Hillfort (Kruhlyk Settlement) is located on the southern outskirts of Kyiv between the villages of Khotiv, Lisnyki, Khodosivka, and Ivankovychi. Inside the settlement are the villages of Kruhlyk and Kremenishche.
This is one of the three giant hillforts of the forest-steppe of Ukraine, an archeological monument of national importance, which is part of the Khodosivka archaeological complex and is part of the Serpent's Wall system.
The settlement belongs to the early Iron Age (VI–V centuries BC). It was a settlement of Scythian ploughmen, surrounded by a protective rampart with a total length of 10-12 kilometers. Now this rampart has a height of up to 8 meters, in some places a defensive ditch can still be seen along it. In the days of Kyivan Rus', the rampart of the hillfort was built into the system of the Serpent's Wall (Zmiyevi valy) as the last line of defense in front of Kyiv.
The remnants of the Ancient Rus' system of earthen fortifications, located on the southern outskirts of Kyiv and in other places on the territory of the Middle Dnieper region, are called snake ramparts. Their total length, according to various estimates, reaches from 900 to 1500 kilometers. Presumably, the ramparts served to protect the southern borders of the Kyiv state from nomads. The history of their construction and functions have not been sufficiently studied.
The legend tells about the legendary hero Mykyta Kozhemyaka, who harnessed the Zmiy Horynych (Slavic dragon, snake) to a plow and plowed giant furrows, from which the name of the wall came.
According to archaeologists, most of the Serpent's Wall were built in the X-XI centuries. Earth ramparts with wooden structures inside were up to 15 meters high, and were fortified with a wooden palisade along the crest. They formed a front in the direction of the steppe - to the south and southeast. At least 4,000 construction workers were to participate in the construction work, and the work could last about 4-5 years.
Fragments of the Serpent's Wall have been preserved along the tributaries of the Dnipro: Vita, Chervona, Stuhna, Trubizh, Sula, Ros and others. One of the best places to look is the section of the shaft on the road from Kruhlyk to Ivankovychi. There is a parking lot nearby. A wooden sign mistakenly indicates that these are Cossack ramparts of the 16th century.
Ozerna Street Kruhlyk
Museum / gallery
A creative workshop-museum was opened in Bohuslav by the famous Ukrainian carpet maker and member of the National Union of Folk Art Masters of Ukraine, Valentyna Tkach. Her carpets, which preserve ancient traditions, are in private collections all over the world - from China to the USA.
Valentyna Tkach calls carpet weaving her life's work. Her grandfather was also engaged in this, her father was the director of the Peremoha art products factory in Bohuslav, the craftswoman's mother worked at the factory as a weaver and developed her own carpet sketches. After the factory closed, Valentyna bought a dozen looms, rented premises and, together with her mother and other weavers of the factory, is reviving and developing weaving in Bohuslav.
Valentyna Tkach considers the weaving school, which she opened on the basis of her workshop, to be one of her most important projects. There, the craftswoman holds master classes for guests, during which anyone can try making their own product on a mini-machine.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 81 Bohuslav
A memorial to the victims of the Holodomor of 1932-1933 was erected on the outskirts of Obukhiv in 2008.
During the famine organized by the Soviet authorities in Ukraine, every fourth resident of Obukhiv died of starvation. In general, according to the estimates of local historians, the Holodomor took the lives of up to 3,000 residents of Obukhiv.
The author of the monument to the victims of the Holodomor is the Ukrainian artist-monumentalist Anatoliy Haydamaka.
Obukhiv Ring Road Obukhiv
Architecture
The Baker Synagogue in Vasylkiv was built at the beginning of the 20th century on the site of a wooden Jewish prayer house.
The two-story brick building of the synagogue has characteristic features of a Jewish religious building, richly decorated using elements of medieval architecture.
In 1927, the "Baker" synagogue was closed, the building was handed over to the South-Western Railway and rebuilt under the "Vasylkiv-2" railway station.
Currently, the building is in communal ownership, until recently several families lived in it.
Romantychna Street, 16 Vasylkiv
The ancient building in the Art Nouveau style at the corner of Soborna and Pokrovska in the center of Vasylkov was built at the end of the 19th century.
In various sources, it is called a new synagogue or a Jewish school. In old photos above the building you can see two domes with attics, which are now missing.
Since 1944, a high school has been located here - now Vasylkiv Lyceum No. 2.
Pokrovska Street, 2 Vasylkiv
Monument , Park / garden
The Park of Trypillya sculpture is considered a business card of the city of Rzhyshchiv, which disputes with the village of Trypillia for the informal title of the capital of Trypillya culture.
Trypillya Park was created in the square in front of the building of the Rzhyshchiv City Council and the new cultural center in 2003-2004 at the initiative of the local authorities. The central element of the park is a large sculpture in the form of a Trypillya binocular vessel by the sculptor Anatoliy Haydamaka. This ritual vessel also became the central element of the new coat of arms and the main symbol of Rzhyshchiv.
The park also features female statuettes and other enlarged Trypil figures by sculptors Mykola Bilyk, Mykola Sivak, Volodymyr Sholudko and others.
Soborna Street, 20 Rzhyshchiv
The monument to Decembrists was installed in the center of Vasylkiv, on the square in front of the city council.
In 1825, an uprising of the Chernihiv regiment began in Vasylkiv, led by the Decembrists Serhiy Muravyov-Apostol and Mykhaylo Bestuzhev-Ryumin. The uprising was organized by the Southern Society after the performance of the Decembrists on Senate Square in St. Petersburh. The Decembrist nobles, who opposed serfdom, tried to overthrow the autocracy by force. In Vasylkiv, the rebel troops seized weapons and the regimental treasury, after which they marched on the Bila Tserkva, on the approaches to which they were defeated by government troops. The instigators of the uprising were later executed.
The memorial sign in Vasylkiv depicts the profiles of five executed Decembrists: Pavlo Pestel, Kindrat Ryleev, Serhiy Muravyov-Apostol, Mykhaylo Bestuzhev-Ryumin, Petro Kakhovsky. Authors of the monument: sculptor Makar Vronskyi, architect Vasyl Hniezdilov.
Soborna Street, 56 Vasylkiv
Entertainment / leisure , Theater / show
Kyivan Rus Park is a center of culture and history, which reproduces the architectural image of Ancient Kyiv and the atmosphere of Ancient Rus of the V-XIII centuries on the basis of scientific data.
The central object of the park is the Kremlin baby of Ancient Kyiv, the spatial and architectural appearance of which will be reproduced in full. Buildings of the princely era will be built on the territory, none of which has survived to our time: fortifications, the palace of Prince Volodymyr, the palace of Princess Olha, Fedorivsky Monastery, Tithe Church, Yaroslav's Court, Rotunda, Hridnytsia and others. It is planned to recreate the atmosphere of a living city with streets, fairs and citizens as authentically and organically as possible.
Currently, you can see the defensive wall-pillar, the entrance gate with two three-story towers, the arena (the place of heroic entertainment and medieval tournaments), the prince's chamber (tribune for honored guests), the watchtower, the Viking camp and the state of nomads, log housing Kyivan XI-XII centuries.
In August, the festival of culture and history "Park Kyivan Rus" takes place here: theatrical battles, medieval games, tournaments and competitions of warriors, stunt equestrian theaters, demonstration of historical folk customs and rites, ancient Slavic feast, exhibitions of artists and a fair of craftsmen. teams.
Excursions are held on weekends.
Zastuhna Kopachiv
Rzhyshchiv Archaeological and Local Lore Museum is housed in an original brick building of the late XIX - early XX centuries downtown.
The exposition is based on archaeological materials found during excavations in Rzhyshchiv.
The first hall presents archeological finds of different cultures: Trypillya, Chornoliska, Zarubynetska, Chernyakhivska and Ancient Rus.
The local lore hall shows Rzhyshchiv of the XVI-XX centuries, significant historical events are noted: the creation of the Rzhyshchiv Cossack Hundred, the meeting of the Hetman's Council Bohdan Khmelnytskyi and others.
Ethnographic material gives an idea of the life and way of life of peasants and burghers of the XVIII-XX centuries, their beliefs, crafts, clothing, everyday life.
Separate exhibitions of the Rzhyshchiv Archaeological and Local Lore Museum are dedicated to the Holodomor of 1932-1933 and the events of World War II.
The exhibition hall exhibits from the museum and the works of folk artists and craftsmen from Rzhyshchiv and Kyiv region.
Admirala Petrenka Street, 4 Rzhyshchiv