Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Kyiv region
Found 610 attractions
Kyiv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Museum / gallery
The Byshiv exemplary museum of history and local lore was founded in 1983 by Valeriy Obukhivskyi, a history teacher at the Byshiv secondary school. It is located in the premises of the Byshiv Academic Lyceum.
The museum's collections include up to 1,500 exhibits, which are organized by sections: archaeological, medieval, ethnographic, the first half of the 20th century, the Second World War, socio-economic development of the village in 1950–1990, and the present.
Zakhysnykiv Ukrayiny Street, 6 Byshiv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The closed training ground for testing and demonstrating the promising urban monorail transport, proposed to the capital authorities by the company "Capway" in 2004, is located on the outskirts of Hostomel near Kyiv.
Initially, the cableway was a 300-meter overpass with a contact rail on steel supports, which moved a passenger car on rubber wheels manufactured by the Belarusian Belkomunmash plant. A car with 150 seats could develop a speed of up to 100 kilometers per hour. Due to a number of reasons, the project was never implemented in Kyiv.
Currently, the overpass has been dismantled, but the landing platform with the car has been preserved. The territory is protected, but tourists can have a short excursion.
Svyato-Pokrovska Street, 362 Hostomel
Historic area
Castle Hill in Lisnyky is one of the hills above the village on which a medieval castle was located in the 16th century.
It was built by Prince Yukhym Koretsky, who in 1596 bought Foresters from Adam Bohohval. The prosperity of the village is connected with the activities of the prince and his wife Anna. The further fate of the castle is unknown, but ruins were still visible on the mountain in the 19th century.
Until recently, Castle Hill was a wasteland. Currently, the plateau is being actively built up with private cottages. A memorial sign in the form of a cross is installed at the entrance.
Lisnyky
Architecture
Kyiv-Pasazhyrskyi is the main passenger railway station of Kyiv. It belongs to the Central Railway, which has been operating since the 1860s. It consists of the old Central, new Southern and Suburban railway stations. The "Vokzalna" metro station is located in the immediate vicinity of the Suburban Station.
The laying of the central building took place in 1927 on the site of the old station, built in the form of English Gothic in 1868-1870. The first line started working in 1932.
During the Second World War, the station was partially destroyed, and after the war - it was restored. In 1954-1955, pedestrian tunnels were laid from Station Square to the platforms, in 1967-1969 a canopy was built over the first platform, and the two original passages at the second floor level were replaced by a large waiting hall with exits to the platforms.
The station was designed for 72 pairs of trains and 40 thousand passengers per day. The main volume has an overall symmetrical composition, in the center of which is a departure lobby with an area of more than 1,200 square meters and a height of 32 meters.
In 2001, a general reconstruction of the station was carried out, during which the facade of the central building was renewed, and the lobby became much more spacious. Its walls were decorated with granite and marble of different colors, and panels with views of the historical monuments of the capital were placed under the vaults. A large escalator was installed near the central entrance, which takes passengers to the second floor. At the same time, the spacious seven-story building of the South Railway Station was built, which is considered one of the most beautiful railway terminals in Eastern Europe.
Vokzalna Square, 1 Kyiv
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Central State Archive-Museum of Literature and Art of Ukraine was created in 1966 with the assistance of the chairman of the board of the Writers' Union of Ukraine Oles Honchar.
It is located in the historical building of Sophia Monastery Bursa (1763-1767), on the territory of the National Reserve "Sofia of Kyiv".
The archive-museum holds documents from the literature, art and culture of Ukraine of the 18th-20th centuries, biographical and epistolary materials, manuscripts of works, graphic works and photographs of many Ukrainian writers, artists, composers, actors of theater and cinema. Some of these materials are presented in the exhibition halls of the museum.
Of particular interest are the recreated interiors of work offices with personal belongings of outstanding figures of Ukrainian culture. Among them are the memorial offices of film director Oleksandr Dovzhenko, writers Yuriy Yanovsky, Mykhaylo Stelmakh, Ivan Mykytenko, poet Andriy Malyshko, artist Mykola Hlushchenko.
The State Archive-Museum has a reading room where you can order archival documents for perusal.
The department of the Central State Archive-Museum of Literature and Art of Ukraine is the "Literary and Artistic Pliuty" Museum on the outskirts of Kyiv.
Volodymyrska Street, 22A Kyiv
The Cherniakhiv Museum of Local Lore was opened on the initiative of local educators in 2023 - almost half a century after its predecessor ceased to exist. It is located in the premises of the Cherniakhiv Village House of Culture.
The exposition tells about the ancient history of Cherniakhiv, the modern life of the village and its prominent residents. In particular, the archaeological section presents items of the Cherniakhiv culture from the stock of the Kaharlyk Museum of History and Local Lore.
The interior of a Ukrainian house of the 19th century has been recreated, where you can see ancient agricultural and household relics, embroidery, ceramics, vine and wood products. In the corner of household items of the mid-20th century, old radios, record players and typewriters are exhibited.
Lesi Ukrayinky Street, 1 Cherniakhiv
Temple , Architecture
The Choral (Central) Synagogue was built in the 19th century at the expense of the Jewish community of Bila Tserkva. The building is made in the eclectic style.
At the age of 16, the cantor Pinkhas Minkovsky began his career here, about whom Babel wrote in one of his stories about Benya Kryk: "Yosyp's funeral will be in the first order: six horses, like six lions, two chariots with wreaths, a choir from the Brody Synagogue, Minkovsky himself will come to mourn your late son."
During the Soviet era, the synagogue was closed, now the building belongs to the Technological and Economic College of the Bila Tserkva National Agrarian University.
Yaroslava Mudroho Street, 25/2 Bila Tserkva
The Klavdiievo Christmas Tree Decoration Factory is located in the village of Klavdiievo-Tarasove, Bucha district near Kyiv and is one of the most popular New Year and Christmas locations and the oldest enterprise of this profile in Ukraine (opened in 1946). Most of the technological processes here are still carried out manually: blowing, silvering, painting, coloring.
In 2013, the Klavdiievo Christmas Tree Decoration Factory opened the first museum of Christmas tree toys from around the world in Ukraine, where private collections of toys from the USSR era, as well as modern toys, are presented.
The Christmas tree decoration factory operates from early September to late December. Tours are held from early November to late December. The tour includes: a visit to the glassblowing workshop and art studio, the museum of the history of toys and exhibitions, the fairy-tale town of Lemax, meeting the factory's chief wizard, the Saint Nicholas post office, a master class on painting a Christmas tree toy, a visit to the company's Christmas tree decoration store.
It is better to arrange a tour in advance by phone. On weekends there is a very large flow of school groups.
Uspenska Street, 1 Klavdiievo-Tarasove
Museum / gallery , Entertainment / leisure
The Christmas Story Estate, an exhibition-shop of Christmas tree decorations and New Year's paraphernalia, opened in 2023 in the village of Petropavlivska-Borshchahivka on the western outskirts of Kyiv. During the winter holidays, the establishment invites guests to immerse themselves in Ukrainian Christmas traditions.
The estate has a large area with a Christmas tree and a whole floor of New Year's decor for the home: didukhs, candles, Christmas trees, spiders and various Christmas decorations handmade from glass, porcelain and textiles. All products can be purchased on site. The estate has a glassblowing workshop.
Visitors are offered an excursion "The Return of the Christmas Star", at the end of which a master class is held on painting a glass ball. You can also order master classes on making cotton toys, straw products, etc.
On the second floor there is a cafe offering homemade treats and hot drinks. And in the gazebo by the fireplace, Saint Nicholas is waiting for the children.
Vesnyana Street, 25 Petropavlivska Borshchahivka
The Parish Church of the Resurrection of Christ is located in Kyiv, next to the territory of the Kyiv Pechersk Lavra, in the Old Pechersk Fortress.
The Resurrection Church was built in 1698 at the expense of the Cossack Colonel Kostyantyn Mokievsky in the forms of Ukrainian Baroque. The bell tower was added in 1860-1862.
In Soviet times, the Resurrection Church was closed, used as an archive storage, and later as a room for restoration workshops. In 1978-1985, the church was restored with the restoration of authentic architectural forms, and the old paintings in the interior were preserved and restored.
Since November 1991, services have resumed in the Resurrection Church. Today, the church is known as "Afhanska", as it belongs to the community of the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate, which consists of families of fallen veterans of Afghanistan (a monument to Afghans has been erected in the square).
Lavrska Street, 17 Kyiv
Park / garden
The landscape reserve "Chubynsky Farm" was created on the site of the estate of the well-known folklorist, ethnographer and poet Pavlo Chubynskyi, the author of national fame of Ukraine.
In 1861, this land was bought by his father, Platon Chubynskyi. In 1862, a garden was planted and a house was built, which stood until the 1930s.
The reserve of national importance with an area of 10 hectares was created in 1994 to preserve the landscape, vegetation, and the picturesque area of the oak grove. Oaks 200-300 years old grow here - the remains of forests that once covered the Left Bank of the Dnieper.
In memory of Pavlo Chubynsky, a memorial sign was installed in the park, and the chapel of Saint Paul was opened.
Boryspilska Street Chubynske
The Church of the Tithes History Museum is located not far from Starokyivska Hill, on which a thousand years ago stood the Dytynets (cradle) of medieval Kyiv and the Tithes Church – the city's first stone Christian church, the oldest example of ancient Rus masonry architecture.
The museum exhibits materials from archaeological research into the foundations of the temple, built in 996 by Prince Volodymyr Svyatoslavych and destroyed in 1240 during the storming of Kyiv by Batu Khan.
A separate place is given to building materials and items of decoration of the temple of the 10th century (fragments of frescoes, floor and wall mosaics, glazed tiles, fragments of plaster stucco).
In the premises of the museum, video tours are held using archival video materials. Museum employees also conduct tours of Starokyivska Hill and Kyiv Dytynets.
Observatorna Street, 21A Kyiv
The Cinema Museum was created in 2015 on the basis of the Oleksandr Dovzhenko National Center - the state film archive of feature films of Ukraine, which also includes the state film copying laboratory.
The museum is located on the 5th floor of the Dovzhenko Center building.
Its purpose is to popularize Ukrainian and world cinema art, systematize information about its history, museify film archive funds, paper and material artifacts.
Availability information:- the Dovzhenko Center building is equipped with ramps- the width of the entrance to the passenger elevator is sufficient for the passage of a wheelchair (80 centimeters)- toilets equipped for visitors in wheelchairs and changing tables are located in Dovzhenko Hall on the 1st floor and in the Cinema Museum on the 5th floor- stay with baby carriages is possible
Vasylkivska Street, 1 Kyiv
The Kyiv Museum of City Electric Transport was founded in 1992 for the 100th anniversary of the Kyiv tram.
It is currently located on the territory of the Darnytsa tram depot. On the open-air site, examples of old tram cars that have survived, as well as trolleybuses and buses of various brands and years of manufacture, including a rare horse-drawn carriage, are displayed.
In the museum exposition - books and photos, models of trams, a collection of tickets for city transport from different times, a real control panel of the "Tatra" wagon. Dioramas depicting different periods of Kyiv tram history are especially interesting: "Beginning" (Oleksandrivsky Descent, 1892), "Years of War" (1941-1945) and "Kyiv Today" (now).
To visit, it is necessary to submit a preliminary application.
Pavla Usenka Street, 7/9 Kyiv
The complex of Present Places in Tarashcha was designed by the imperial architect, professor of the architectural class of the St. Petersburg Academy of Arts, Andreyan Zakharov.
It was built in 1803-1817 after Tarashcha became a county town.
Official county offices, a prison, a wing of the Zemstvo court, the treasury, and the city administration have been preserved. Under the complex is a network of underground tunnels, through which prisoners from the Zemstvo prison were taken to the construction of the cathedral (destroyed in the 1930s).
Now one of the buildings houses a labor exchange, the others are used as residential buildings
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 12 Tarashcha