Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Kyiv region
Found 610 attractions
Kyiv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Architecture
The Bessarabian covered market, which Kyivans call simply "Bessarabka", is the central and most expensive market in Kyiv.
It owes its name to merchants from Bessarabia (a region on the border of the present Odesa region and Moldova). According to another version, this area was called Bessarabka even before the appearance of the bazaar (allegedly, "Bessarab" was called street children in Kyiv).
The idea of tidying up the unattractive Bessarabian market by building the first covered market in Kyiv arose as early as 1873, but the construction began only in 1910 with the funds allocated by the will of the sugar factory, philanthropist and philanthropist Lev Brodsky. The project was developed by the architect Henryk Gai, who had experience designing an indoor market in Warsaw. The walls were built of brick, and the floor with a glazed roof rested on a metal vault frame. The facade of the market is decorated with sculptural compositions "Peasant with oxen", "Milkhouse", as well as heads of bulls, fish and fishing nets, flying geese. The first underground refrigeration unit in the city was installed in the basement.
The Bessarabian market embodied new European trends, which emphasized not the decorative decoration of buildings, but economy and functionality. It still serves its purpose properly.
Bessarabska square, 2 Kyiv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Museum / gallery
Bila Tserkva Museum of Local Lore presents a large collection of objects of material and spiritual culture of the Southern Kyiv region.
The museum was founded in 1924 by local historian Stepan Drozdov-Myshkivskyi on the basis of his own collection of antiquities. The museum is now housed in an original constructivist building erected in 1983 on Castle Hill opposite the Church of Saint John the Baptist, near the foundations of the ancient Church of Saint George in the time of Prince Yaroslav the Wise.
The exposition consists of nine chapters that tell about the nature of Southern Kyiv, the ancient history of the region, the events of the Polish-Lithuanian era and the Cossacks, the heyday of the city in the XVIII-XIX centuries, the development of industry and education, the Soviet era and modernity.
Among the most valuable exhibits of the museum: the Scythian sword akinak, a unique Chernyakhiv lamp with the image of a human face, ancient Rus women's jewelry. Valuable relics of the Cossack times are the flag of the Cossack Hundred of the Bila Tserkva Regiment, a mace, a bunchuk, timpani and weapons. The basis of the collection of numismatics are Roman coins, Kyiv hryvnias, money of the Cossack era. The art department presents icons, paintings and sculptures of the XVII-XX centuries from the Branytsky collection. Visitors are especially interested in the recreated interiors of housing of different segments of the population at that time.
A modern reconstruction of the Church of Saint George, which gave the city its current name, was built on the Castle Hill of ancient Saint George near the Bila Tserkva Museum of Local Lore. A monument to the city's founder, Prince Yaroslav the Wise, has been erected on the observation deck above the Ros River.
Soborna Square, 4 Bila Tserkva
The Bobrytsia Local Lore Museum was opened in 2010 on the initiative of local historian and collector of antiquities Mykola Kovalchuk. The museum is located in the center of the village of Bobrytsia next to the sculpture park of avant-garde art.
The museum's exposition has more than 5,000 exhibits, including photographs and documents, household items (dishes, spinning wheels, cradles), national costumes, embroidered shirts, towels, etc.
The pearl of the museum is a complete genealogical tree of all Bobrytsia families starting from 1750. Here the memory of the lineage of the first founders of Bobrytsшa is preserved - the Opryshki and Cossacks of the times of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi, the Potapenkos, Yaroshenkovs, Danchenkos, and Ihnatenkos.
The museum has 5 rooms, one of which is a living room, where the structure and life of Bobrytsia a century ago is recreated.
After the reconstruction, the museum building was painted by the famous graphic designer, artist, muralist, and public activist Bohdan Hdal.
Shkilna Street, 20B Bobrytsia
Historic area
Bohdan Khmelnytsky Square is the main one in Pereyaslav. The administration building and the central hotel are located here.
A monument to Ukrainian-Russian friendship was erected in the Central City Park adjacent to the square in honor of the 300th anniversary of the reunification of Ukraine with Russia (1954). In 2022, during Russia's large-scale military invasion of Ukraine, this monument was dismantled by the decision of the hromada and the local self-government body.
Khmelnytsky Square is closed to traffic.
Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Square Pereyaslav
The Boiarka Local Lore Museum was opened in 1974 as the Mykola Ostrovsky Literary Memorial Museum in honor of the 70th anniversary of the Soviet writer-propagandist. Its collection includes more than 15,000 objects that constitute the historical and cultural heritage of the region..
The museum is located in a separate building on the territory of the local school, in the building of which Ostrovsky lived in 1921 among the Komsomol brigade of boyar narrow gauge construction workers.
Although in 1992 the museum was repurposed as a museum of local history, the basis of its exposition is still made up of things related to Ostrovsky's work: documents, photographs, personal belongings, first editions of his book "How Steel Was Tempered", etc.
A significant place in the exposition is occupied by the works of artists Poliakova and Hryhoryev. The museum holds more than a thousand original works by these artists.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 49 Boiarka
Monument
The monument to defenders of the borders of the Motherland of all generations is one of the most original equestrian monuments in Kyiv.
It decorates the square in front of the building of the State Border Service of Ukraine and was installed in 2004 at the initiative of its management.
The bronze figure of a Cossack with a bare saber, who has risen on the stirrups of a horse and looks into the distance in search of enemies, is installed on a narrow pedestal.
The monument immediately earned the sharp criticism of art critics, and invariably causes smiles and laughter from passers-by. The highly simplified figure of the rider looks disproportionate due to the horse's short stature. A slender horse, standing in an unnatural position with an elongated neck, pointed ears and raised tail, looks more like a thin-legged dog. Since the sculptor did not depict the stirrups, one gets the impression that the Cossack is hanging above the horse in the air.
Zolotovoritska Street, 3 Kyiv
The Borodianka Local Lore Museum was opened in 2016 in two rooms on the second floor of the Borodianka Palace of Culture named after Taras Shevchenko. Social activist Tamara Uhnivenko and her daughter, artist Olha Uhnivenko, initiated the creation of the museum.
The exposition includes about 3,000 exhibits, including 12 sets and 8 items of ancient clothing, more than 20 ancient embroidered towels, more than 15 items made of homespun cloth, and about 40 household items. Visitors have the opportunity to trace the history of the development of crafts of the region, seeing ancient things, products, clothes. Some exhibits date back to the 12th-18th centuries.
The highlight of the exhibition is the "Wedding" diorama with 39 dolls by Olha Uhnivenko, which in 2020 will be included in the "Ukrainian book of records" as the largest collection of handmade dolls in a thematic diorama.
The museum was damaged by a Russian airstrike in March 2022, but most of the exhibits were saved.
Parkova Street, 1A Borodianka
The hospital building in Stavyshche was built in 1911 at the expense of the Branytsky magnates.
It still serves its purpose.
Today it is the most remarkable architectural monument of the village.
Serhiya Tsymbala Street, 15/4 Stavyshche
Palace / manor , Museum / gallery
The building that currently houses the Stavyshche Museum of Local Lore is a surviving fragment of the estate of the Polish magnates Branytsky, rebuilt beyond recognition.
The only original structure is a dilapidated tower next to the house.
The estate in Stavyshche was founded by the Branytsky at the beginning of the 19th century in the middle of the park founded in 1785 by academician Andzhiyevsky (12.2 hectares). Currently, Stavyshche Park is a monument of garden and park art of regional importance.
The park offers a picturesque view of the pond that gave the village its name.
Parkovy Lane, 2 Stavyshche
The People's Museum of Bread has been operating since 1981 in the premises of the National Ecological and Naturalist Center for School Youth on Priorka in Kyiv, next to the Shevchenko museum "House at Priorka".
The museum has collected more than 2,000 exhibits that tell about the history of bread, its importance for humans, the origin of the main grain crops (rye, wheat, corn, barley, and others). More than 100 samples of various agricultural crops are presented.
The decoration of the exposition is the section "Bread is the head of everything", where 150 breads from different parts of Ukraine and other countries are presented. Agricultural tools of different times are exhibited - from a wooden plow to a modern tractor, from a bucket for manual sowing to a combine harvester.
An honorable place in the museum is given to the works of the poet Taras Shevchenko, who wrote a lot in his works about bread and the hard work of farmers.
A separate exposition is dedicated to the terrible events of collectivization and the Holodomor-genocide organized in Ukraine by the Russian occupiers in 1932-1933.
Considerable attention is paid to the works of Ukrainian scientific breeders. You can even see "cosmic" white and brown bread, donated to the museum by cosmonaut Pavlo Popovych.
Vyshhorodska Street, 12 Kyiv
Winery / brewery
The Fastiv Brewery was founded in 1906 by the burgher Yulius Zibert and the Prussian subject Herman Saalman.
A picturesque place on the banks of the Unava River in Zarichchya, next to the Intercession Church, was chosen for the construction of the plant. Beer production was adjusted by German specialists. At the time of its launch, the Fastiv Brewery could produce about 50,000 dal of beer per year. The enterprise was not damaged during both world wars.
A large-scale reconstruction with a complete update of technology was carried out in 2008. Currently, the capacity of the enterprise, which is part of the "Obolon" association, is 12 million deciliters of beer per year.
Tours with tastings are held every Thursday at "Zibert Brewery" (pre-registration is preferred). A branded store is open.
Ivana Ohiyenka Street, 3 Fastiv
The entrance gate (propylae) of Brovary Airport "Kyiv" was preserved from the first Kyiv airport, which was opened in 1935 as the main airport of the capital of the Ukrainian SSR.
In September 1935, military aviation training was held here. In this connection, General Luazo, Yona Yakir, Heorhiy Zhukov, Semen Budonniy, Stanislav Kosior, Pavlo Postyshev visited Brovary.
In 1940, 50 planes took off from the airport every day and 50,000 passengers were served a year.
On June 25, 1941, the German-fascist aviation completely destroyed the airport. Only an arch with a colonnade, which was located at the entrance, remained from the architectural complex. There is a memorial plaque on it.
Currently, the shooting ranges of the "Sapsan" shooting complex and several residential buildings are located on the territory of the former airport.
Brovarskoyi sotni Street, 2 Brovary
The Brovary Museum of Local Lore is located in a modern building in the center of the city.
6 exhibition halls present collections that tell about the nature of the region, its history and ethnography.
The historical and archeological exposition tells in particular about the times of Kozachchyna and about the stay of the poet Taras Shevchenko in Brovarshchyna.
Among the events of the 20th century, the liberation struggle of Ukrainians from 1917 to the end of the Second World War is covered in detail.
Separate showcases are devoted to the period of collectivization, the Holodomor of 1932-1933, the work of the outstanding teacher Anton Makarenko in Brovary Children's Labor Colony No. 5 in 1936-1937.
The works of local artists, models of destroyed brewery temples are also exhibited.
Heroyiv Ukrayiny Street, 6 Brovary
Park / garden
The city park was created in Bucha in 2011. This is one of the youngest and most picturesque landscape parks of the Kyiv region.
Bucha city park in the English style is spread over an area of 42 hectares. At the entrance, visitors are greeted by an elegant rotunda and a huge oak tree. There are many sculptures and installations in the area with lakes and fountains, neat paths and luxurious flower beds.
Here you can visit a mini-zoo, a skate park, a rope park, a children's town, and a cafe-hut.
Instytutska Street, 54 Bucha
The Burty Village Local Lore Museum was opened in 1977 in the premises of the old school. The exposition in 5 rooms tells about the history of the village and the daily life of its inhabitants.
The ethnographic section presents household items, clothes, embroidered towels, work tools (loom, spinning wheel). The historical exhibition tells about the events of the Ukrainian revolution, collectivization and the Holodomor, the participation of the villagers in the Second World War, post-war reconstruction, the Revolution of Dignity and the Russian-Ukrainian war.
A separate exposition is devoted to the development of education in Burty.
Tsentralna Street, 2 Burty