Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Kyiv region

Attractions of Kyiv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Kyiv region

Found 610 attractions

Kyiv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Kyiv region

Музей мистецтв Славутича, Славутич
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Slavutych Art Museum

Museum / gallery

Slavutych's Innovative Museum of Contemporary Art opened in 2021 as part of the OFAR (Open Format Art Residence) project.

The museum is located in the exhibition hall on the 2nd floor of the Culture House "Enerhiya".

Works of contemporary artists in the genres of graphics and photography are exhibited here. With the help of virtual reality glasses you can see large-scale 3D sculptures that are integrated into the urban landscape without violating its physical space.

Map pin icon Druzhby Narodiv Avenue, 7, CH Enerhiya, 2nd floor Slavutych

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Сталінське метро, Київ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stalin Metro

Castle / fortress

The southern tunnel under the Dnipro is one of the objects of the so-called "Construction No. 1", as mentioned in the secret documents, a project of an underground transport system that duplicates the railway bridges across the Dnipro in the Kyiv region.

Two railway tunnels to the south and north of Kyiv (now within the city limits) were intended to ensure reliable, safe and secret transfer of troops and cargo between the right and left banks of the Dnipro. The decision to start "Construction No. 1" was made in 1938. Since the initiative belonged to Joseph Stalin, and the construction was carried out by metro builders, the object was later nicknamed "Stalin metro".

The total number of involved workers and employees was from 5 to 10 thousand people. Overground tunnels and railway embankments were built. Over 240 meters of the Southern Tunnel (pipe) with a diameter of 6 meters was passed by hikers near the Dnipro south of Kyiv, in the area of Zhukiv Island. Construction of the northern tunnel began later.

With the beginning of the Second World War, in 1941, all work was stopped, and machinery and equipment were flooded in the Dnipro. After the war, the object was considered unprofitable and construction was not resumed.

Currently, the South tube of the "Stalin Metro" on Zhukiv Island is one of the most accessible and spectacular structures of "Construction No. 1". It is a reinforced concrete tunnel with a descent towards the Dnipro. The western end rises above the ground almost completely, the eastern end – with its outer surface only a dozen centimeters above the lake level (it goes under the water). The total length is 600 meters. The tunnel is flooded, in winter it is possible to walk on ice from the western entrance to the intermediate entrance.

Also available are the remains of a tunnel and a headstone at Osokorki. The caisson of the Northern Tunnel (the so-called "Concrete Ship") has been preserved in Obolon.

Map pin icon Stolychne highway, Zhukiv island Kyiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Лук'янівський заповідник, Київ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

State Historical and Memorial Lukyanivskyi Reserve

Museum / gallery

The State Historical and Memorial Lukyanivskyi Reserve in Kyiv was created in 1994 on the basis of the complex of historical and cultural monuments of the Lukyanivske Civil Cemetery, founded in 1878.

On the territory of more than 20 hectares, tombstones made at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th centuries in the workshops of pre-revolutionary Kyiv have been preserved. The authors of some tombstones are famous sculptors and architects Ivan Kavaleridze, Vasyl Krychevsky and others. The ancestral tombs of many prominent families have been preserved: the Symyrenko, Polubotko, Leontovych, Samoilovych, Hrushevsky, Ohievsky, and others.

Many Kyiv artists, scientists and public figures are buried at the Lukyanivske cemetery. The burials of the victims of the repressions of 1918-1944 have also been preserved. In 2017, the remains of Ukrainian writer Oleksandr Oles and his wife Vira Kandyba were reburied at the Lukyanivskyi Cemetery.

Excursions are conducted around the territory, the museum room is open.

Map pin icon Dorohozhytska Street, 7 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Державний музей іграшки, Київ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

State Toy Museum

Museum / gallery

The State Museum of Toys in Kyiv is a division of the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine. The collection, with more than 15,000 exhibits, was assembled for about 70 years.

Toys from different years are presented: policeman dolls from the 30s, the first transformers from the 30s, celluloid figures from the 40s, retro teddy bears from the 50s, stuffed animals from the 60s, clockwork animals from the 60s.

In addition to industrial samples, you can see original and Ukrainian folk toys.

The only collection of printed board games in Ukraine is exhibited here.

Map pin icon Klovsky Descent, 8 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Паровоз Зозуля, Боярка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Steam Locomotive Cuckoo

Monument

The unique steam locomotive K-15776 Cuckoo ("Zozulya"), which is permanently parked at the "Boiarka" railway station, is considered a symbol of the city.

This is one of the monuments to the boyar narrow-gauge railway, thanks to which Kyiv was saved from freezing in the cold winter of 1921-1922. Such steam locomotives transported firewood harvested in nearby forests.

The "Cuckoo" steam locomotive in Boyarka is considered the only representative of this series that has survived in Ukraine.

Map pin icon Vokzalna Street, 12 Boiarka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Паровоз ІС (ФДп), Київ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Steam locomotive IS (FDp)

Monument

The world's only copy of the high-speed pre-war Soviet steam locomotive FDP 20-578 (IS).

Developed in 1932, the IS (Yosyp Stalin) mainline steam locomotive became the most powerful passenger steam locomotive in Europe at that time, for which it received the Grand Prix at the World Paris Exhibition (1937).

The first IC locomotives served long-distance passenger trains "Red arrow" on the route Moscow - Leningrad, then worked on such important routes as: Moskva - Kursk - Kharkiv - Synelnykove, Kharkiv - Mineralni Vody, Moskva - Smolensk - Minsk and others. During the Second World War, most of the IS locomotives were transferred to the eastern regions of the USSR.

In the early 1960s, during the struggle against Stalin's personality cult, the designation of the series changed to FDp. At the same time, with the transition to diesel and electric traction, the sunset of the era of steam locomotives began. Most of them were disposed of in the 1970s.

The sample, installed on a pedestal near the entrance to the locomotive depot, near the South Railway Station in Kyiv, was preserved at the initiative of the head of the South-Western Railway, Petro Kryvonos.

Map pin icon Petra Kryvonosa Square Kyiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Штамма, Буча
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sthamm Manor

Palace / manor , Architecture

The manor house of Shtamm, an adviser to the board and one of the creators of the Kyiv-Kovel railway, built in the 1900s, is located in a park area on the western edge of Bucha.

The two-story building in the neo-Romanesque style is decorated with complex brick decor. The main facade of the manor is flanked by two round towers with decorative loopholes and a tented finish. Under the loopholes there is a real arcature frieze. The windows of the second floor have semicircular finials and are decorated with platbands.

Service buildings and farm buildings have also been preserved near the main building. The mansion is surrounded by an abandoned park, through which a landscape alley leads to the facade of the estate.

Thanks to its exquisite and original architecture, the Stamm manor has a significant historical and cultural value, but it is not officially an architectural monument. Until 2004, the "Druzhniy" children's sanatorium was located here. After the fire in 2004, it stopped working. At the moment, the manor is in an abandoned state.

Map pin icon Yevhena Konovaltsya Street Bucha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Сулимівський парк, Сулимівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sulymivsky Park

Park / garden

Sulymivsky Park, a monument of horticultural art, with an area of 23.6 hectares, now looks more like a dormant forest.

It was founded in the 18th-19th century by representatives of the rich Sulyma family - descendants of Hetman Ivan Sulyma, who in 1615 received the Sulymivka estate as a gift from the Polish magnate Stanislav Zholkevskyi.

In 1886, Prince Petro Bagration, the nephew of the famous commander, was buried next to the Intercession Church, which stands nearby. The prince's sisters were the last owners of the estate.

During the Soviet rule, almost all manor buildings were destroyed (only one wooden one-story house next to the church remained), the park was opened.

The park's collection includes 30 species of local and exotic trees and shrubs. Some oaks are 200 years old or more. There are also three artificial lakes in Sulymivsky Park. One of them was cleared by the efforts of local enthusiasts.

Map pin icon Ivana Sulymy Street, 2 Sulymivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Центр "Світлиця", Бровари
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Svitlytsya Cultural and Educational Center

Museum / gallery , Entertainment / leisure

A new format of recreation and training is offered by the Cultural and Educational Center "Svitlytsya" in Brovary.

It was created in 2019 to acquaint visitors with interesting facts from the life and work of Taras Shevchenko, as well as with the history of Brovary city. This uses modern computer technology, including augmented and virtual reality.

There are also workshops for children, parties, literary and musical evenings, activities, competitions and quests.

Map pin icon Yaroslava Mudroho Street, 1 Brovary

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Городище Святополч, Витачів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Svyatopolch Hillfort

Museum / gallery

The historic town of Svyatopolch (Novhorod Svyatopolchyi) was founded in 1095 by the Kyiv prince Svyatopolk II Izyaslavych on the Vytachiv hill. Here the prince will resettle the inhabitants of the city of Yuryiv, destroyed by the Polovtsy.

Chronicles show that after the defeat of the army of the Rus princes in the battle of Kalka in 1223, the Mongols marched into Rus, but only reached Svyatopolch, from where they turned back. After that, Svyatopolch is no longer mentioned in the annals.

According to archaeological research, the remains of historical Svyatopolch are located in the Horodyshche tract between the villages of Vytachiv and Staiky. Hillfort occupied a triangular cape with an area of about 0.5 hectares. Fragments of earthen defensive ramparts with three towers have been preserved, and the remains of settlements have been investigated. Remains of a post with a pottery workshop can be traced on the ground side and on the slopes.

In 2009, the monument of archeology "The settlement of the historical city of Svyatopolch of the IX-XIII centuries" was entered into the State Register of Immovable Monuments of Ukraine under the number 100014-Н. A memorial sign has been installed.

Map pin icon Horodyshche tract Vytachiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Синявська страусина ферма, Синява
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Syniava Ostrich Farm

Zoo

The Syniava ostrich farm is located at the exit from Syniava in the direction of the village of Busheve, opposite God's Mountain.

Founded in 2002 by the family of local resident Vasyl Kovinko. A small flock of ostriches is kept in enclosures. Excursions are held. In summer, there is a cafe where you can taste ostrich meat and ostrich eggs. The complex also includes a mini zoo with an aviary.

Map pin icon Syniava

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Тараса Шевченка, Баришівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Literary Museum

Museum / gallery

The Taras Shevchenko Literary Museum in Baryshivka was created in 1987 on the initiative of Ukrainian historian, writer and statesman Vasyl Kostenko. It was his private collection of various editions of the works of the outstanding Ukrainian poet that formed the basis of the museum exposition.

The reason for founding the museum was the fact that Taras Shevchenko was in Baryshivka, which he mentions in the story "A walk with pleasure and not without morals". Here Shevchenko visited the family of Tymofiy Boryspolets, the father of Platon Boryspolets, his fellow student at the Academy of Arts. According to various sources, he could visit Baryshivka one or more times between 1843 and 1846. It was during this period that the poet visited the nearby Berezan, where he wrote the well-known poem "The Plundered Grave".

The main part of the collection consists of more than 500 editions of "Kobzar", including contemporary editions. Drawings and illustrations of the poet's works with gift inscriptions by artists, a collection of stamps, commemorative badges, ceramics with a portrait of Kobzar are presented. One of the four posthumous masks of Taras Shevchenko is kept in the museum.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 5 Baryshivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії Київського національного університету
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv History Museum

Museum / gallery

Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv History Museum is located in the Red Building of the educational institution, in the premises of the former Catholic Church.

The exposition on two levels consists of seven thematic sections reflecting the history of the development of Kyiv University from 1834 to the present day. You can see the interiors of prominent university professors' offices, the reconstruction of a 19th-century chemical laboratory, the working corner of a methodist from the beginning of the 20th century, old student desks, etc.

Among the unique exhibits: a student uniform and a badge of a graduate of the Imperial University of Saint Volodymyr, a 19th-century clock from the reception room of the first rector Mykhaylo Maksymovych, instruments from the astronomical observatory and physical laboratory of the 19th century, a globe of the starry sky at the beginning of the 20th century, personal belongings and scientific works of teachers, government awards and university honors, university anniversary gifts.

The Zoological Museum, the Archaeological Museum and the Linguistic Educational Museum of KNU are located in the same building. In addition, the museum complex of Taras Shevchenko Kyiv National University includes the Geological Museum, the Astronomical Museum and the Museum of the History of the Fomin Botanical Garden.

Map pin icon Volodymyrska Street, 60, room 334 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Парк Шевченка, Біла Церква
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Park

Park / garden

Bila Tserkva City Park of Culture and Recreation named after Taras Shevchenko is located in the center of the city.

It was founded in 1931 as a park named after Petrovsky on the site of a drained swamp between Torhova and Soborna squares. Since 2003, it has been named after the poet Taras Shevchenko, who repeatedly visited the Bila Tserkva, in particular in 1845.

Today, the dendrological structure of the park includes more than a hundred species and forms of trees and shrubs. In 1983, a monument to Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytsky (artist Hubriy) was erected in Shevchenko Park. Also in the park you can see the monument to the Heroes of Space and the sculpture of the fairy-tale heroes Carlson and Freken Bock. There is an amusement park for children.

Shevchenko Park in Bila Tserkva is a favorite recreation spot of the townspeople. Various city events are regularly held here.

Map pin icon Soborna square Bila Tserkva

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Таращанський історико-краєзнавчий музей
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tarashcha Historical and Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

Since 1965, the Tarashcha Historical and Local Lore Museum has been located in the priest's house at the Mary Magdalene Church, built in Tarashcha at the end of the 19th century. The priest's brick house was built in 1917.

The exposition of the museum introduces the archaeological finds in the territory of Tarashcha and its surroundings, the history of this region from the earliest times to the present, and the unique culture of the inhabitants of this district of Kyiv region.

In particular, collections of clay figurines, embroidered towels, and various wooden tools are presented. A separate exposition is dedicated to prominent residents of Tarashcha, among whom are many famous scientists and teachers.

Map pin icon Volodymyra Velykoho Street, 22 Tarashcha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable