Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Donetsk region

Attractions of Donetsk region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Donetsk region

Found 67 attractions

Donetsk region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Donetsk region

Парк Клебан-Бик, Олександро-Калинове
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Regional landscape park "Kleban-Byk"

Natural object , Reserve

Regional landscape park "Kleban-Byk" is a popular object of ecological tourism in Donbas.

It is a picturesque hilly area at the mouth of the river of the same name, on the banks of the Kleban-Byk reservoir. On the left slope of the reservoir there is a geological natural monument of national importance "Kleban-Byk outcrop" - outcrops of very old rocks that were formed many millions of years ago in the coastal areas of the Perm Sea.

There is no unequivocal version about the origin of the name (perhaps it is a combination of the Slavic word "Kleban" and the Turkic word "Byk").

Fragments of ancient petrified trees have been preserved.

In the 17th and 18th centuries, the Cossack outpost "Zalizna" stood here.

The landscape park was created in 2000. From the hill near the track, from which the most picturesque panorama of the park opens, an ecological trail has been laid, and modern sculptures are exhibited, including three huge dinosaurs.

Map pin icon Oleksandro-Kalynove

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

"Кам'яні могили", Назарівка
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Reserve "Stone Graves"

Reserve

The "Stone Graves" tract is a small mountainous country among the steppes of the Azov region.

Volcanic rocks about 2 billion years old formed a series of peaks here, which as a result of weathering turned into many expressive natural sculptures.

The rocky island was a cult place of ancient peoples and gave rise to many interesting legends. The ancient name of the area "Beshtash" is translated from the Turkic "five mountains". Today, these peaks are called Panorama, Vityaz, Hostra, Zhaba and Pivdenna. Their height is 200 and a little meters, in the past they rose up to 3 kilometers.

Picturesque landscapes, a combination of steppe and alpine vegetation, historical events of these places inspired many artists and poets.

The Karatysh River – the left tributary of Berda – washes the ridge of rocks on the eastern side. According to Academician Kudryashov's version, during the battle of Kalka, the fortified camp of Prince Mstyslav of Kyiv was located near the Stone Graves (a chapel and a large stone cross were built).

Map pin icon tract Stone graves Nazarivka

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Соляна шахта, Соледар
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Salt Mine

Natural object , Museum / gallery

The Museum of the Salt Industry "Salt Mine" has been opened in Soledar for tourists to visit in the complex of salt mines produced by the "Artemsil" enterprise.

This is the largest salt mining enterprise in Central and Eastern Europe. More than a million tons of table salt are mined here every year. Many types of packaged and bulk ground salt, salt briquettes and blocks, iodized salt and bath salt are delivered from here throughout Ukraine and to 15 other countries of the world.

The first salt mine in Soledar was put into operation in 1881. As a result of more than a hundred years of underground work, a system of workings with a length of more than 200 kilometers was formed in the earth's crust. Their sizes are impressive, the height sometimes reaches 30 meters.

The excursion to the salt mine begins with a rapid descent in the elevator cage to a depth of approximately 300 meters. The labyrinth of the underground city spreads out from the main shaft. Loose salt crackles just under your feet. Salt laces cover the illuminated walls of the tunnels. Everywhere there are bas-reliefs and sculptures carved by folk craftsmen in a layer of salt. In particular, you can see a salt analogue of the famous Donetsk Mertsalov palm tree.

During the excursion, tourists are told about the origin of the salt deposits of Donbas, the history of local salt extraction, about unique mine technologies and machines, about the working conditions of local miners, about the current assortment of the company's products and many other interesting facts, you can even visit the salt church.

The main attraction is the "Camera 41-bis" salt chamber. In 2003, a Guinness record was set here - the first underground hot air balloon flight, sometimes symphony concerts are held here. At a depth of 300 meters, the "Salt Symphony" speleosanatorium operates for 110 places, where respiratory diseases are treated. There is even an underground cafe and a football field for those who rest in the underground sanatorium.

A full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022

After Russia's full-scale invasion of Ukraine in 2022, Soledar became one of the hottest spots on the front. Heavy shelling of the city by the Russian army began in May. The Artemsil salt mining enterprise, whose administrative building was hit by a Russian missile in May, stopped working due to shelling. There were also hits in salt mines and material composition.

Map pin icon Soledarska Street, 11 Soledar

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Завод шампанських вин Артвайнері, Бахмут
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

"Artwinery" Champagne Wine Factory

Winery / brewery

The "Artwinery" Champagne Wine Factory is the largest enterprise in Eastern Europe for the production of sparkling wines by the classical bottling method.

The history of the plant dates back to the middle of the 18th century, when the development of gypsum deposits began in Bakhmut. In 1950, a wine cellar was created on the basis of plaster tunnels, and the construction of the factory of champagne wines with a capacity of 5 million bottles per year began. In 2005, production reached 300 million bottles.

The plant's products received 12 Grand Prix, 62 gold, 39 silver and 4 bronze medals. At the same time, 30 million bottles of wine are aged for at least three years in underground tunnels at a depth of more than 72 meters.

Excursions are conducted with visits to alabaster tunnels and tasting of 5-7 types of champagne.

Russian-Ukrainian war

Due to the large-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022, the Artwinery Champagne Factory was forced to relocate. Before the war, the factory employed 500 people. Almost everyone was evacuated. They also took out all the products. Now the plant works at the production facilities of partners in Odesa.

During the siege of Bakhmut, battles took place on the territory of the champagne wine factory. All the buildings of the factory were destroyed.

Map pin icon Lumumby Street, 87 Bakhmut

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Заповідник Крейдова флора, Крива Лука
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

"Cretaceous Flora" Reserve

Reserve

Steppe Nature Reserve "Cretaceous Flora" is the only place in Ukraine where the natural bier of a relict coniferous plant - the Cretaceous pine - has been preserved.

Other rare plants: Bush's bird's milkweed, blackened cross-leaves, double-breasted tulip, Don fight, Russian grouse. Moreover, plants that are usually found exclusively on chalk outcrops grow here together with plants of mountain, coniferous and broad-leaved forests.

The reserve "Cretaceous Flora" is a branch of the Ukrainian steppe nature reserve. It is located in the valley of the Siverskyi Donets River between the villages of Zakotne and Kryva Luka.

Map pin icon Kryva Luka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Художній музей Куїнджі, Маріуполь
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Arkhyp Kuindzhi Art Museum named after Arkhyp Kuyindzhi

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The Mariupol Art Museum named after Arkhyp Kuyindzhi opened in 2010 in the former mansion of the Heotsyntov family, built at the beginning of the 20th century in the Northern Art Nouveau style.

The exposition in 10 halls told about the life and work of the outstanding Ukrainian landscape artist, master of light Arkhyp Kuyindzhi, who was born in 1842 near Mariupol. In particular, three originals of Kuyindzhi's works and numerous copies were presented in the exhibition.

The collection also included works of painting, graphics and decorative and applied arts, among which were the works of Ivan Ayvazovsky, Tetyana Yablonska, Mykola Hlushchenko, Serhiy Shyshko, Ivan Marchuk, etc.

During the large-scale Russian invasion in March 2022, the Arkhyp Kuyindzhi Art Museum was destroyed by an airstrike. The occupiers stole the original paintings by Kuyindzhi and Ayvazovsky, two works by Mykola Dubovsky, a work by Hryhoriy Kalmykov – a posthumous portrait of Kuindzhi from 1910, a bust of Arkhyp Kuyindzhi by the sculptor Volodymyr Beklemyshev, three unique icons from the end of the 19th century, the Greek Gospel of 1811 and objects of decorative and applied art.

Map pin icon Heorhiyivska Street, 58 Mariupol

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей автоклубу Самохід, Краматорськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Autoclub Samokhid Museum

Museum / gallery

The museum of retro cars "Samokhid" named after Zhemov in Kramatorsk operates on the basis of the restoration factory of the "Samokhid" technical club.

The restoration factory-museum has a unique collection of old cars. It has about 200 exhibits of such well-known companies as Horch, DKW, BMW, Wanderer, Steyr, Mercedes-Benz, Opel, Packard, Buick, ZIS, GAZ. Some cars are not only works of engineering art, but also have historical value.

The collection also includes rare examples of motorcycles from the period 1900-1950 - more than 80 units in total.

Map pin icon Parkova Street, 74 Kramatorsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Азовський морський музей, Маріуполь
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Azov Maritime Museum

Museum / gallery

The Maritime Museum of Azov Maritime Institute named after Volodymyr Pavliy bears the name of its creator, the first assistant captain of the ships of the Azov Sea Shipping.

It is located in the premises of the Azov Maritime Institute.

The exposition of the first hall tells about the history of shipping in the Sea of Azov from the earliest times to 1890, the creation and operation of the regular fleet, the development of seaports.

The other three halls highlight the history of Azov shipping from the beginning of the 20th century to the present day. Models of ships, picturesque canvases, as well as artifacts raised from the bottom of the sea are presented.

Map pin icon Chornomorska Street, 19 Mariupol

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Бахмут
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Bakhmut Museum of Local Lore

Museum / gallery

The Bakhmut state museum of local lore originates from the district historical and local history museum, founded in 1924 by the doctor and naturalist Borys Valkh.

It is located in a building built in 1911 by Bakhmut industrialist Veniamin Frantsuzov.

In twelve halls there are expositions of the departments of nature, archeology, folk life, history of the 19th century, the Ukrainian revolution, 1920-1930 years, the Second World War, post-war five-year plans, literature of the native land. The most valuable exhibits: a late Paleolithic silicon ax, a collection of Bronze Age weapons, a unique collection of items from the workshops of ancient metallurgists, a Scythian statue of the 6th century BC.

The Bakhmut Museum of Local Lore was completely destroyed by Russian troops during the large-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Street, 26 Bakhmut

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Бантишів, Прелесне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Bantysh Manor

Palace / manor , Architecture

The estate of the landowner Bantysh in Prelesne is located on the territory of an ancient park with an artificial lake.

The Bantysh family comes from Moldavia and was related to the Moldavian king Cantemir, and Peter I in 1718 gave them land as a thank you for their participation in the Turkish campaign.

In the middle of the 19th century, the Bantysh built a two-story palace in the style of classicism in Prelesne, and in 1858 they laid out a park with an area of 66 hectares, where 120 species of trees and shrubs grew.

During Soviet times, a children's camp was placed on the territory of the manor, which still exists today. The palace is in a dilapidated state.

Map pin icon Prelesne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Бітлз, Донецьк
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Beatles Monument

Monument

A monument to the British rock group "The Beatles" in Donetsk has been installed at the entrance to the "Liverpool" entertainment complex, which is decorated in the "Beatles" style.

Figures of musicians are made of plastic and painted in bronze by Kharkiv sculptor Volodymyr Antipov.

The sculpture depicts the legendary foursome of Liverpool during the concert - in characteristic poses and with musical instruments in their hands. The band's clothing and hairstyles correspond to 1963-1964, except for John Lennon, who is shown wearing round glasses, which he began to wear later.

The wall with figures of the "Beatles" is covered with a mosaic in the form of the British flag.

Map pin icon Artema Street, 131A Donetsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Білосарайський маяк, Білосарайська Коса
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Bilosaraisky Lighthouse

Architecture

The white stone lighthouse in the middle of the Bilosaraiska Spit was built in 1835 to ensure the safety of navigation in the Tahanroh Bay. Before that, a wooden lighthouse on the territory of the current village of Melekine served to guide ships on the approach to Mariupol.

The octagonal tower of the Bilosaraisky lighthouse is about 23 meters high, and it was clearly visible from the sea. The lighthouse equipment was repeatedly updated. It remains valid until now. The lighthouse is serviced by four employees who live right on the territory.

At the foot of the tower is an anchor-cat, raised from a sunken Turkish galley, about 400 years old.

Map pin icon Bezukha Street Bilosaraiska Kosa

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Blue Lakes

Natural object , Entertainment / leisure , Rest on the water , Recreation area , Beach

The blue lakes near Lyman and the village of Shchurove arose on the site of the quarries of the former silicate brick factory.

The exhausted quarries were filled with spring water. The considerable depth, purity of the water and sandy bottom determine the penetrating turquoise color of the water. Underground springs constantly maintain the same level of water, which does not stagnate.

Blue lakes are located in a pine forest, where pike, turtles, and mink live. Until recently, it was a popular place for "wild" recreation of Donetsk residents with swimming and barbecues, but now the area between the lakes is being actively developed.

The "Kazka Ozera" amusement park has opened here. The sandy beach with warm blue water is equipped with sunbeds and deckchairs. At the service of vacationers: restaurant, bars, shooting range, paintball, tennis, billiards, fishing, horse riding, ATVs (teenagers and adults), boats and catamarans, children's disco, parties for adults.

Map pin icon Blue Lakes tract Shchurove

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палаюче каміння, Зуївка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Burning Stones

Natural object

Burning stones - a place where burning methane rises to the surface in the area of the Nyzhnya Krynka River. Natural degassing of the subsoil. Shale or coal gas glows.

According to eyewitnesses, this deposit is more than 20 years old. Environmentalists assume that methane is seeping through a crack in the coal seam. The gas concentration is 100 percent. It burns on the surface. The height of the flame sometimes reaches 2 meters.

While entrepreneurs, scientists and the authorities are thinking about using the well, fishermen have found a use for it. They can often be found here in winter. They warm themselves by a natural fire and cook soup on it.

Map pin icon Zuivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії міста, Краматорськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

City History Museum

Museum / gallery

The Kramatorsk City History Museum tells about the historical path of the industrial city, in particular about the establishment of the first enterprises in the XIX century, as well as the construction of Novokramatorsk Machine-Building Plant (NKMZ), thanks to which in 1932 Kramatorsk gained city status.

An interesting collection of Ukrainian folk costumes and towels.

A separate exhibition is dedicated to the Ukrainian actor Leonid Bykov, who spent his childhood in Kramatorsk.

The Kramatorsk Art Museum is located in the same building, where, in particular, works by famous Ukrainian artists Hlushchenko, Trokhimenko, Yablonska and others are presented.

Map pin icon Akademichna Street, 60 Kramatorsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable