Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Ternopil region

Attractions of Ternopil region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Ternopil region

Found 266 attractions

Ternopil region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Ternopil region

Будівля магістрату (Виставкова зала), Бережани
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Magistrate's Building (Exhibition Hall)

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The building of the city magistrate in Berezhany was erected in the middle of the XIX century. Its purely administrative functional role as a body of city self-government explains the finishing modesty of the facades.

In the 1920s and 1930s, the city museum was located on the ground floor of the building. The Magistrate's Assembly Hall was often used for various ceremonial events, in particular in 1898 the famous Ukrainian poet Bohdan Lepky delivered a speech here in honor of the 100th anniversary of the publication of "Aeneid" by Ivan Kotlyarevsky.

Nowadays, the premises of the building are occupied by the research department of the State Historical and Architectural Reserve in the city of Berezhany, the DIAZ exhibition hall, art school, district archive.

Map pin icon Bankova Street, 4A Berezhany

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Дівочі скелі, Кременець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Maiden Rocks

Natural object

The mountain "Maiden's Rocks" in Kremenets is a natural monument of state importance.

The picturesque rock spur with a height of 376 meters is located in the north-eastern part of the city, within the National Park "Kremenetsky Mountains".

The mountain is associated with a legend about girls captured by the Tatars - residents of Kremenets ravaged by the Krymchaks. Not wanting to be enslaved, the girls threw themselves into the abyss from the rock, which has since been called "Maiden's".

Broken blocks piled up in primordial chaos, steep cliffs and amazing stone compositions, black abysses of grottoes and caves encircle the mountain with a long ribbon 2.6 kilometers long. Shell-like, dense limestones that rise to the surface in steep cornices create a kind of uniqueness and beauty.

Map pin icon Divycha Street Kremenets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Головна синагога, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Main Synagogue

Architecture

The main synagogue in Chortkiv is an ancient building, built in the 17th century, during the reign of King Yan III Sobieski.

The opening of the synagogue was connected with the fact that several rich Jewish families appeared in Chortkiv.

Inside the temple was richly painted, the altar was decorated with gold.

Before the construction of the new synagogue, the old one served as the residence of Chief Rabbi Chortkiv.

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street, 2 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Марійський духовний центр, Зарваниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Marian Spiritual Center

Temple

The Marian spiritual center in Zarvanytsia is the main shrine of the Greek Catholics of Ukraine.

A folk tale tells about a Kyiv monk to whom the Virgin Mary appeared in a dream and ordered him to found a monastery. At this place, a healing spring flowed and an icon of the Mother of God appeared, which was named Zarvanytsia. At the same time, a cave monastery was founded.

It is believed that the first church in Zarvanytsia was built in the 13th century by Prince Vasylko Terebovlyansky after his miraculous healing.

The written mention of the monastery dates back to 1458. In the 17th century, the Tatars destroyed the monastery several times, but the miraculous icon was preserved.

In 1754, Count Myonchynskyi rebuilt the Holy Trinity Church, which has survived to this day (it now houses the icon of the Mother of God of Zarvanytska). In 1867, Pope Pius IX crowned the Zarvanytsia icon, after which the monastery became a major center of pilgrimage.

During the Soviet rule, the monastery was razed to the ground, but local residents managed to save the icon. Until 1988, religious services were conducted secretly. Only in 1991 did the revival of the shrine begin.

On the slope of the mountain near the Strypa River, the majestic Cathedral of the Mother of God of Zarvanytsia with a four-tiered bell tower 75 meters high was built. Nearby - the gate church, the chapel above the spring and the singing field.

Map pin icon Klimentiya Sheptytskoho Street, 92A Zarvanytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Маркіяна Шашкевича, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Markiyan Shashkevych's Room-Museum

Museum / gallery

The Father Markiyan Shashkevych Literary and Local Lore Museum has been operating since 1993 in the premises of the Chortkiv Gymnasium, which also bears the name of this outstanding Ukrainian writer and public figure. The initiators of its creation were teachers Stefaniya Hrynda and Anna Savka.

The main exposition of the room-museum is dedicated to the life, creativity and public activities of Markiyan Shashkevych. The central exhibit is a portrait of Shashkevych, painted by a local artist Stepan Shevchuk.

The basis of the museum's literary collections are documents, copies, newspapers and magazines, fiction, scientific and journalistic literature from the library of the gymnasium graduate Dmytro Shtogrin. There are rare, rare publications. Separate expositions contain materials about the graduates of the gymnasium: priests, OUN-UPA figures, fighters of the "Galicia" division.

Another interesting exposition of the museum is ethnographic materials: furniture, household items, clothing, shoes.

Map pin icon Lesi Ukrayinky Street, 5 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей "Молотківська трагедія", Молотків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Memorial Complex-Museum "Molotkiv Tragedy"

Museum / gallery , Monument

The Molotkiv Tragedy Museum Complex was opened in 1985 as the central part of the memorial complex in memory of the 617 civilians of the village who were killed, burned alive and murdered by the German fascists on April 29, 1943. The authors of the project are architect Ivan Osadchuk and sculptor Borys Rudy.

Between two large earthen ramparts symbolizing a mass grave, the road leads to the symbolic Death Street - the street of the burned village, which in turn leads to the Molotkiv Tragedy Museum. On both sides of it are burned houses, red floors the color of blood.

The museum's exposition includes a diorama "Burning of the Village" (artist Stepan Nechay), fragments of a burned house: burnt doors, charred cradle and icon, etc. (design by Bohdan Boshko and Stepan Mamchur), a Book of Memory containing the memories of Molotkiv residents about the tragedy. On the stands are photographs and lists of those executed in Molotkiv and neighboring villages. The exhibits collected here tell about the history of the village, the participation of its residents in World War II.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 44 Molotkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей митрополита Якова, Лосятин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Metropolitan Yakiv Panchuk Museum

Museum / gallery

A museum in honor of Metropolitan of Lutsk and Volyn Yakiv (Panchuk) was opened in 2013 in the village of Losiatyn, where the bishop was born. The museum is located in the courtyard of the church of Archpriest Michael.

The museum's exposition illustrates the life and activities of the Metropolitan Archpastor, the developer of the Ukrainian local church.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 33 Losiatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Чудо св. арх. Михаїла, Нивра
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Miracle of Saint Archangel Michael Church

Temple , Architecture

The Greek Catholic Church of the Miracle of Saint Archangel Michael is located near the road in the very center of the village of Nivra in the premises of the former Roman Catholic church, an architectural monument of local importance.

A small Roman Catholic church in Nivre was built in 1937. In Soviet times, it was closed and gradually fell into disrepair. In 2011, the Greek-Catholic community began the restoration of the church, and already in 2013, the consecration of the restored church took place.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street Nyvra

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Печера Млинки, Залісся
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mlynky Cave

Natural object

Gypsum Mlynky Cave is one of the largest karst caves of Ukraine.

It was discovered at the beginning of the 20th century by local residents who mined gypsum on the outskirts of the Zalissia village. It is named after its location - in the Mlynky farm, where a water mill once worked. The first report in the press appeared in 1960.

Mlynky Cave has a total length of about 40 kilometers. The temperature remains at the level of +11 degrees all year round. Inside the cave there is a small lake with fresh water, where a large colony of bats lives.

The cave is not illuminated and not equipped for visiting, but excursions are conducted accompanied by professional speleologists. To visit, you must have overalls and equipment. Excursions lasting about 3 hours are organized by the Ternopil Tour Club and must be arranged in advance.

Map pin icon Mlynky hamlet Zalissia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Урочище Монастирок, Бучач
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Monastyrok Tract

Historic area

The hard-to-reach Monastyrok tract is located in the valley of the Strypa River south of Buchach.

The ruins of an ancient monastery built in 1600-1606 at the expense of Stefan Potoski's wife, Mariya Mohylyanka (daughter of the Moldavian landlord Yeremiy Mohyla, cousin of Kyiv Metropolitan Petro Mohyla) have been preserved in the forest on Mount Fedir.

The tributary flowing into Strypa forms a picturesque waterfall cascade in this place.

Map pin icon Monastyrok tract Buchach

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятники сантехніку, невидимці та стільцю, Тернопіль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Monuments to plumber, invisibility and chair

Monument

A complex of three humorous monuments was opened in the center of Ternopil near the Atrium shopping center in 2010 on the Independence Day of Ukraine.

Two of them are devoted to literary works, and the third to employees of communal services. The monument to the 12th chair is inspired by the satirical book "12 Chairs" by Ilf and Petrov. The monument to the invisible man refers to the novel of the same name by Herbert Wells. The plumber's monument is dedicated to the employees of the Ternopil water supply company.

Conceptually, the monuments are united only by the humor of the author of the idea - a Ternopil philanthropist, owner of a shopping center. The author of the works is Ternopil sculptor Dmytro Mulyarchuk.

Map pin icon Kardynala Slipoho Street, 7 Ternopil

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Божої Матері, Шибалин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mother of God Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Mother of God of Tireless Help in Shybalyn was founded in 1925. The funds for the construction were allocated by local noblemen Yakub Potoski and Stanislav Vishnevskyi. The main altar was performed by Yan Voytovych.

The church was consecrated in 1928. However, already in 1945, after the establishment of Soviet power, the church was closed and turned into a warehouse. It still remains abandoned.

Map pin icon Berezhanska Street Shybalyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Матері Божої, Борщів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mother of God of Holy Scapular Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Mother of God of the Holy Scapular in Borshchiv was built in 1763 instead of the wooden church destroyed by the Tatars.

The three-tier bell tower was rebuilt from the defense tower of the 17th century castle. Faceted upper tiers have a baroque finish.

Restoration was carried out in 1928-1930. Today the Mother of God of Holy Scapular Church is active.

Map pin icon Oleksy Dovbusha Street, 1 Borshchiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Матері Божої, Сороцьке
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mother of God of Perpetual Help Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of Mother of God of Perpetual Help in Sorotske was built in 1937. A very interesting example of Neo-Gothic architecture of the early 20th century.

On the wall of the church, a double Polish family coat of arms has been preserved, combining the coats of arms "Prus" and "Swan" (probably the coat of arms of the founders of the church). Stained glass windows have been partially preserved.

Currently, the church is closed and abandoned.

Map pin icon Selyska Street Sorotske

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Скульптура Божої Матері, Бучач
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mother of God Sculpture

Monument

The roadside figure of the Mother of God was installed in Buchach in 1751 by order of the owner of the town, Mykola Potoski. It was one of the early works of the outstanding sculptor Ivan Heorhiy Pinzel and the architect Bernard Meretyn. The coat of arms of the Potocki family "Pilyava" is depicted on the pedestal.

During Soviet times, the figure of the Virgin Mary was destroyed, but part of the pedestal was preserved. It was restored in 2006 in its former place, the author of the copy is Roman Vilhushynskyi.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 2 Buchach

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable