Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Ternopil region
Found 266 attractions
Ternopil region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Order of Dominican Observants was built by Vinnytsia's headman, Colonel Lyudvik Kalynovsky, in the late Baroque style.
The project was developed by the famous architect Yan de Vitte, commandant of the Kamyanets fortress. The plan of the temple is made in the form of the family coat of arms of the Kalynovsky family - an arrow with two stars near the forked tail. The role of stars is performed by multifaceted towers, the tip of an arrow is guessed in the altar part. The facade is crowned by a sculpture of the Virgin Mary.
Nearby is the monastery building, which, after the abolition of the Dominican monastery by the Austrian authorities in 1784, was used as a priest's house.
During Soviet times, the church was closed and abandoned, now services are sometimes held. Restoration has begun.
Tserkovna Street Sydoriv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The old defense church of the Immaculate Conception of the Immaculate Virgin Mary rises in the center of the village of Trybukhivtsi on Castle Hill.
This church was built at the beginning of the 18th century in the Renaissance style and was part of the defense system of the castle. The temple was restored in 1728, as evidenced by the Latin inscription above the entrance portal of the temple.
There used to be a cemetery near the church, where many people famous for the village were buried, including the poet Tymon Zaborovskyi. But with the arrival of Soviet power, the cemetery was razed to the ground, and the church was closed. The building began to be used as a chemical warehouse.
Today, the church is in a state of disrepair: the walls are moldy, trees are growing inside the premises, the roof collapsed in 2008.
Yan Sheptytsky, Adjutant General of the Polish Army, a participant in the Napoleonic campaign to Moscow, is buried in the church.
Two monuments have also been preserved on Castle Hill. The first, "Shadows of Dead Souls", was erected in memory of the victims of the plague that raged in Trybukhivtsi in 1830, when more than 200 people died. Unfortunately, only the legs of the allegorical figure of Sorrows on the pedestal remain. The second monument is a high stone point on which a helmet is placed. Built in honor of Mykhaylo Zaborovsky (1812).
Livryka Street Trybukhivtsi
Architecture , Temple
The Roman Catholic Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Holy Virgin Mary was built in Zaliztsi in 1889 as a chapel of the monastery of the Sisters of Saint Vincent de Paul.
During the Soviet rule, the church building was used as a warehouse.
Today it is an active Roman Catholic church.
Yaroslavy Muzyky Street, 7 Zaliztsi
The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church in Chortkiv is located in the former church of the nunnery of the Sisters of Mercy. The monastery complex is an architectural monument of local importance.
The Monastery of the Sisters of Mercy was founded in Chortkiv in the late 17th - early 18th centuries, but its heyday fell on the middle of the 19th century, when the order received an inheritance from the last owner of Chortkiv, Jeronimas Sadovsky.
In front of the church, a sculptural composition with the figure of Jesus Christ in the center is installed, and around the building are carved stone figures of the Stations of the Cross.
After the arrival of Soviet power in Chortkiv, the basements of the monastery were used for some time as temporary detention cells of the NKVD. Now the "Calvary" exposition of the Museum of Bolshevik Terror, Political Prisoners and Repressions is open here, which is located in the neighboring building of the administration of the Buchach Diocese of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.
Monastyrska Street, 2 Chortkiv
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin was built in Buchach in 1764 in the late Baroque style according to the project of the architect Bernard Meretyn (according to other sources - Yohan Shiltser).
The Intercession temple has a defensive character. The impression of "femininity" of the interior is created by the rounded corners and harmonious lines of the portal. The Deacon Gate, the work of the outstanding sculptor Ivan Pinzel, has been preserved.
During the revival of the Intercession Church after the Soviet period, the burials of dozens of repressed residents of the city were discovered in the basements.
Halytska Street, 23 Buchach
The stone church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin was built in 1856.
It is located in the center of the village of Kryvche, across the street from the Kryvche Castle Kontsky.
Tsentralna Street Kryvche
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin was built in Zalishchyky in 1864-1875, consecrated in 1873 as the Trinity Church.
Inside was an iconostasis of the work of local master Ivan Nich.
In 1962, the Intercession Church was closed, and a local history museum was placed in the premises.
Since 1989, it has been an active Greek Catholic Church of the Intercession of Holy Virgin.
Mykhayla Hayvoronskoho Street, 4 Zalishchyky
The stone church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Hrymailiv was built in 1806 as a Catholic church.
The baroque temple with elements of the Renaissance, which had a high fence with a strong gate, was part of the city fortification system of Hrymailiv. A belfry tower with loophole windows was used for defense.
The monumental pediment of the temple is decorated with five sculptures of saints. Decorative stone vases are placed on the corners of the pediment of the vestibule.
Today, the church belongs to the parish of the Intercession of Holy Virgin Church of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.
Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 8 Hrymailiv
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin Mary was built in Zaliztsi (Zalozhtsi) in 1740 as a Catholic church. In the second half of the 19th century, the church was rebuilt as an Orthodox church.
A decorative dome is erected above the nave. The baroque belfry consists of four pylons connected by arches.
Today, the Intercession Church belongs to the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.
Adama Mitskevycha Street, 12 Zaliztsi
The Church of the Introduction to the Temple of the Most Holy Theotokos was built in Kalaharivka in 1930 on the site of an older wooden church that was built in 1727.
Introduction Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Satanivska Street Kalaharivka
Monument
A monument to the Ukrainian writer and public figure Ivan Franko was erected in Ternopil in 1995.
It is located in the square behind the Dominican Church, on the site of the former gymnasium No. 1, where in 1902 the writer met with Ternopil gymnasium students.
Franko visited Ternopil several times, in particular. as a correspondent of the newspaper "Lviv Courier" at the regional ethnographic exhibition. He read "Moses" in the premises of the Municipal Brotherhood (now the Philharmonic), often stopped at the "Podilskyi" hotel on the way to the village of Vikno.
The author of the monument to Ivan Franko in Ternopil is the sculptor Ivan Sonsiadlo.
Hetmana Sahaydachnoho Street Ternopil
A monument to Ivan Heorhiy (Yohan-Heorh) Pinzel was erected in 2014 near Buchach Town Hall on the initiative and at the expense of local businessman Vasyl Balabala.
Ivan Heorhiy Pinzel, a prominent sculptor of the mid-18th century, a representative of the late Baroque and Rococo, is the founder of the Lviv School of Sculptors. He lived and worked in Buchach at the invitation of the owner of the city, Mykola Potoski, creating many outstanding works here in collaboration with the architect Bernard Meretyn: the altars of the Church of the Assumption and the Church of the Intercession, the facades of the Buchach Town Hall, roadside figures, etc.
The monument to the sculptor was created by Roman Vilhushynsky in an expressive manner, characteristic of the Pinzel school. The brush is shown with a cutter in hand while working on a sculpture of the Virgin Mary. The height of the monument reaches 3 meters.
maidan Voli Buchach
Museum / gallery
Lanivtsicity communal institution "Ivan Marchuk Museum" was created in 2011. It includes the Museum-room of Ivan Marchuk in his native village of Moskalivka near Lanivtsi.
The Marchuk Museum is being created directly in Lanivtsi since 2020 in the former premises of the "Suputnyk" cinema in the center of the city. It should be a modern museum with an art gallery, a creative workshop and an area for installations.
Nezalezhnosti Street, 15 Lanivtsi
The Ivan Marchuk Museum was created in 2010 in the premises of the Moskalivka elementary school in the artist's homeland - in the village of Moskalivka village near Lanivtsi. The institution is a subdivision of the Lanivtsi city communal institution "Ivan Marchuk Museum".
People's Artist of Ukraine Ivan Marchuk was born in Moskalivka in 1936 in the family of a local weaver, graduated from a seven-year rural school. Subsequently, he studied at the Lviv School of Applied Arts named after Ivan Trush. Today, the master's creative output includes about 5,000 paintings, which are exhibited in museums on all continents of the world.
For a long time, the museum in Moskalivka was the only Ivan Marchuk museum in Ukraine. It was started by enthusiastic local teachers in one school room with the personal assistance of the artist. Later, the exhibition expanded.
Now the museum has two exhibition halls where some of Ivan Marchuk's personal belongings, documentary materials about the artist's life in Moskalivka, his creative path and world recognition are presented. For some time, the museum exhibited more than 40 original Marchuk paintings, but now only reproductions can be seen. Excursions are conducted by schoolchildren.
Ivana Marchuka Street, 3 Moskalivka
The memorial museum of Ivan Pulyuy was opened in 1990 in the village of Hrymailiv, where he was born in 1845.
Ukrainian physicist and electrical engineer Ivan Pulyuy became famous as the discoverer of the so-called X-rays (X-rays) and the inventor of the world's first X-ray machine.
A small exhibition dedicated to the life and work of the scientist is located in one of the rooms in the building of the Hrymailiv Secondary School.
Pylypa Orlyka Street, 20 Hrymailiv