Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Ternopil region

Attractions of Ternopil region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Ternopil region

Found 266 attractions

Ternopil region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Ternopil region

Церква Івана Богослова, Жуків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Apostle John the Theologian Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of the Holy Apostle John Theologian is the main attraction of Zhukiv.

The temple on one of the village hills was built in 1873 (according to other sources - in 1803). It was transported to Zhukiv from Naraiv, where it was originally built. The inscriptions "Zhukiv 1928" and "Shumlyany 1928" are embossed on the tin on the domes above the nativity scene and the altar. It is possible that it was in 1928 that the tin covering of the temple was installed and the inscriptions were made.

Next to the church of the Holy Apostle John the Theologian there is an old wooden bell tower, very impressive and small-bellied, which is typical for bell towers of those times and is not characteristic of modern churches.

Map pin icon Zhukiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Петропавлівський костел, Бережани
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Apostles Peter and Paul Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul in the late Gothic-Renaissance style has a pronounced fortification character, as it was part of the system of city fortifications of Berezhany.

It was built in the years 1600-1620 on the initiative of the then owner of Berezhany, Adam Yeronim Synyavsky, according to the project of the architect Pavlo Rymlyanin, as the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin. The bell tower was rebuilt from a defensive tower in 1741.

In Soviet times, a gym was placed here.

Now the church again belongs to the Catholic community of the city, consecrated in honor of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul.

Map pin icon Brativ Lepkykh Street, 1 Berezhany

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Успенська Почаївська лавра, Почаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Assumption Pochaiv Lavra

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Assumption Pochaiv Lavra is one of the largest shrines of the Orthodox world, the second most important on the territory of Ukraine after the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra.

Legend attributes the founding of the first skete to the Athos monk Methodius. Around 1240, Kyiv monks appear on Pochaiv Hill in the neighborhood, escaping from the Tatar invasion (the name is associated with the Pochayna River, where Prince Volodymyr baptized the people of Kyiv). According to legend, a sign from above was the appearance of the Mother of God in a pillar of fire. The imprint of the Virgin Mary's foot remained on a stone, from under which a healing spring flowed.

Today, the relics are inside the grand Assumption Cathedral (1783, architect Gottfried Hoffmann). In the main altar, there is a miraculous icon of the Mother of God, donated to the monastery in 1597 by its founder - landlady Anna Hoyska. The parishioners want to attach themselves to the relics of Saint Iov, who was the abbot of the monastery during the confrontation with the Union in the 17th century.

The current magnificence of the laurel is largely due to the donations of Kaniv's elder Mykola Potoski, it was supported by the Russian tsars.

Excursions are conducted, visitors should dress appropriately: men in pants, women in skirts and with their heads covered (scarves and skirts can be rented).

The monastery is leased by the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Lavrska Street, 8-9 Pochaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Holy Intercession in Chortkiv is one of the new churches of the city, which is distinguished by its rich decoration.

It was built in 1905 at the expense of parishioners on the site of a wooden church. The building of the Intercession Church in the classical style was built according to the project of the Lviv architectural company under the leadership of the architect Mykola Shashkevych and the Chortkiv builder Andriy Drazhnovsky.

According to legend, after the consecration of the Church of the Holy Intercession, a miraculous spring broke out in the yard, over which a chapel was built in honor of the Mother of God. In 1944, another miracle happened: a German shell hit the church, severely damaging it, but the icon of the Mother of God remained intact. And in 2004, there was an apparition of the Mother of God over the chapel of the Queen, built on the site of a new spring.

The 40-meter bell tower with a gilded dome was built in 1996.

There is a bathhouse on the territory of the temple.

Intercession Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Oleny Telihy Street, 16 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Духа, Полупанівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Spirit Church

Temple

The Church of the Holy Spirit was founded in Polupanivka in 1878 as a small chapel above a healing spring near the top of the Holy Mountain.

According to legends, there was an apparition of the Mother of God at this place, after which the source became a place of pilgrimage for Christians of various denominations.

Another legend tells of a local landowner who ordered a spring that flooded his fields to be filled with stones. After that, the landowner fell ill and went blind. When the spring was cleaned, the blind man washed his eyes with water and saw.

The current Church of the Holy Spirit was built over the chapel in 1989. The Catholic church and the Way of the Cross are located nearby.

Map pin icon Svyata hora tract Polupanivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Духівський монастир (Скит), Почаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Spirit Pochaiv Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Spirit Pochaiv monastery was revived in the place where the monk Methodius, who came from Athos, who is considered the founder of the Pochaiv Lavra, settled in the 13th century.

The Holy Spirit Pochaiv monastery complex includes three churches: the Holy Spirit, Saint Seraphim of Sarov and All Saints. There is a miraculous icon, the relics of Saint Methodius and other shrines.

Belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Lypova Street, 51 Pochaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Пресвятої Трійці, Бережани
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Church

Temple , Architecture

The Greek-Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity was built in Berezhany in the 18th century on the site of shopping rows.

Over the course of two centuries, it was rebuilt several times. Initially, it had Gothic-Renaissance forms, but in the course of numerous reconstructions, it gradually acquired a modern appearance.

The relics of Saint John the Baptist are stored here, which in 1673 were presented to the Berezhany Voivode Synyavsky and were in the chapel of the Berezhany Castle, from where they were transferred to the Church of the Holy Trinity in the 18th century (before that, the relics of the saint were in Antioch, where they were taken by the apostle Luke, and from there they got to Constantinople). After the Second World War, the relics disappeared, but in 2000 they were found and put on display again for commemoration. Another shrine of the Church of the Holy Trinity is the miraculous icon of Our Lady of Rome.

A monument to Taras Shevchenko was erected in front of the church.

Map pin icon Rynok Square, 9 Berezhany

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Пресвятої Трійці, Микулинці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Church

Temple , Architecture

The Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity in the late Baroque style is located opposite the Potocki Palace in Mykulyntsi and is connected to it by a maple avenue.

It was built in 1761-1779 according to the project of architect Avgust Moshynsky at the expense of Countess Lyudvika Potocka. The church of the Hofkirche royal palace in Dresden, Germany, where the architect studied, served as a model.

The decor of the temple and its elegant forms perfectly harmonize with the central facade of the palace and organically close the perspectives of the regular part of the park.

The original interior has not been preserved, because during the Soviet times the premises were used for economic purposes.

Today, the Trinity Church is active and belongs to the Mykulyntsi Catholic community. Next to the church is an old Polish cemetery with the graves of members of the Count family of Ray.

Map pin icon Halytska Street, 11 Mykulyntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Пресвятої Трійці, Підгайці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Church

Temple , Architecture

The ruins of the Church of the Holy Trinity are the main attraction of Pidhaitsi.

The church was built in 1634 by the Potocki magnates on the site of a previously destroyed church in 1463. The bell tower of the church (1643) was built in the Renaissance style and has a defensive tower. Belongs to the Roman Catholic Church.

Today, the state of the church is in a state of emergency, no restoration work is being carried out.

Map pin icon Hetmana Mazepy Street, 2A Pidhaitsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Пресвятої Трійці, Зарваниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Church

Temple , Architecture

The parish church of the Holy Trinity and the Holy Intercession was founded in Zarvanytsia in 1738 by the efforts and funds of the then owner of the village, Petro Myonchynskyi.

Initially, it was a wooden temple named after Saint John the Baptist. A miraculous icon of the Mother of God was installed here, and in 1740 another image - the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ, which Lviv Metropolitan Atanaziy Sheptytskyi officially recognized as miraculous.

A fire soon destroyed the temple, but the miraculous icons were saved. A stone cross was erected on the site of the burnt temple, which has survived to this day. In 1747-1753, the brick church of the Holy Trinity was built. Miraculous icons were transferred here. In 1784, the church was painted by the artist Andriy Soletskyi.

The miraculous icon of the Mother of God of Zarvanytsia is located in the left aisle (a stone annex to the main building), the icon of the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ is in the right aisle.

Map pin icon Klymentiya Sheptytskoho Street Zarvanytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Городиських, Колиндяни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Horodysky Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

The neglected palace in Kolyndiany with two castle-like towers is actually built on the basis of a medieval castle built by the Stamensky nobles in the 15th century (according to other sources, in the 17th century).

At the beginning of the 19th century, the half-ruined castle in Kolyndiany passed to the Albinovsky family, from whom it was inherited by the nobleman Kornel Horodyskyi. In 1840, the new owner reconstructed the castle towers, and between them he built a two-story palace in the style of late classicism. Its front facade is decorated with a large portico with four columns of the Ionic order, and on the park side is a risalite, which used to have a balcony overlooking the landscaped park. The entrance gate probably survived from the former castle.

During the First World War, the palace was badly damaged, but in the interwar period it was restored by the last owner, Lyudvik Horodyskyi.

In Soviet times, the building housed a technical school. Until recently, a tractor crew was stationed near the estate, but now the palace is abandoned.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street Kolyndiany

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Особняк Громницьких (Краєзнавчий музей), Підволочиськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Hromnytsky Mansion (Local Lore Museum)

Museum / gallery

The mansion of the famous Polish lawyers Hromnytsky in Pidvolochysk was built in the 19th century.

In 1919, Symon Petlyura met with the command of the Ukrainian Galician Army at the Hromnytsky villa.

Currently, the mansion is home to the Omelyan Kovch Museum of Local Lore.

Two halls of the museum are dedicated to the history of the OUN-UPA liberation movement. The exposition includes 281 exhibits - personal belongings of the rebels, weapons, photographs, documents, models, paintings, triptych "Ukraine is invincible".

Map pin icon Danyla Halytskoho Street, 37 Pidvolochysk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Гримайлівський ландшафтний парк
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Hrymailiv Landscape Park

Park / garden

Hrymailiv landscape park with an area of 13 hectares is located on the river bank in the center of Hrymailiv village.

It was founded in the 18th and 19th centuries around the palace built on the basis of the 17th-century Hrymailiv Castle by Count Leonard Pininsky. The last owner of the palace was the Volyansky landowners. The palace was completely dismantled at the end of the Second World War. Only fragments of foundations and ruins of basements with arched ceilings have survived.

17 species of trees and shrubs grow in the park. At the entrance to the park, there is a monument to the native of Hrymailiv Ivan Pulyuy (1996; sculptor Mykola Obezyuk), the pioneer of X-ray radiation, as well as a monument to the poet Taras Shevchenko (1956).

Map pin icon Sichovykh Striltsiv Street Hrymailiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Гусятин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Husiatyn Museum of Local Lore

Museum / gallery

Husiatyn Museum of Local Lore was founded in 1979. Until 2006, the exhibition was housed in an ancient synagogue building.

The museum has more than 16,000 exhibits: animal bones, stone and bronze tools, pottery, antique embroidery and more. In one of the halls there is an exposition of the settlement-sanctuary Bohit, which was part of the "Zbruch cult center" (village Horodnytsia). A copy of the famous Zbruchansky idol is presented.

Map pin icon Ternopilska Street, 5 Husiatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Замковий костел Непорочного Зачаття Пресвятої Діви Марії, Кривче
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Immaculate Conception of Blessed Virgin Mary Castle Church

Temple , Architecture

The small and very simple castle church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the village of Kryvche was built in the 17th century - at the same time as the Kryvche Castle.

According to other sources, the church was rebuilt from the castle powder tower in 1723. It served as a burial place for the Holiyovsky magnates.

The church is located in a spruce grove on the edge of the castle hill. Partially restored.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street Kryvche

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable