Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Kharkiv region
Attractions of Kharkiv district
Found 100 attractions
Kharkiv district
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Monument
A sculpture depicting a student programmer is located in the city of Kharkiv near the central entrance to the Kharkiv National University of Radio Electronics.
Established in 2010 in honor of the 80th anniversary of the Kharkiv National University of Radio Electronics. The author of the project is Roman Blazhko, the designer is Viktor Honcharenko.
The monument to the student programmer was made of bronze with charitable funds.
Nauky Avenue, 14 Kharkiv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Temple , Architecture
The first wooden Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Derhachi was built in 1685.
He stood on a sandy plain called Buryakivka. The builder of the church was Yakiv Turanskyi.
At the beginning of the 19th century, a new brick church was built, which was consecrated in 1838. The church has four thrones. The main throne in honor of the Nativity of the Most Holy Virgin.
On April 4, 2022, during the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine, the Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin was damaged by Russian artillery fire. Shelling by the Russian occupiers damaged the facade and windows of the church, destroyed the Sunday school and the church shop.
1-th Travnya square, 4 Derhachi
The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Cherkaski Tyshky was built in 1830 at the expense of the centurion Andriy Tykhotskyi and other parishioners.
However, the official annals of the church have been kept since 1772, when the wooden church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Tyshky is first mentioned.
The project of the new stone church was developed by the well-known at that time architect Yevhen Vasylyev, the author of the projects of many churches in Slobozhanshchyna. The iconostasis was created by the artist Illya Repin in the 1960s, while he was still a student at the Academy of Arts. In 1906, the church was significantly expanded at the expense of the descendants of the landowner Tykhotskyi.
During the Soviet era, the church was closed, the icons of Repin's work disappeared during the German occupation, but a few remained in the Kharkiv Art Museum. During the Second World War, the church was reopened, but until recently it remained in a dilapidated state.
Restoration is currently underway.
Titova Street, 33 Cherkaski Tyshky
Museum / gallery
The Nova Vodolaha Museum of Local Lore is located in the center of the village of Nova Vodolaha.
In the ethnographic exposition, many household items of Slobozhanshchyna, brought from ethnographic expeditions, are collected.
Hryhoriya Dontsya Street, 1 Nova Vodolaha
Historic area
The area arose in 1660-1662, when a fortification was built here, adjacent to the Kharkiv fortress.
After some time, the center of the fortification became a large shopping area called Narodna. At the corner of the square and Universitetska Street in the second half of the 18th century, there was a post office (now on this site is a post office building), next to which a stone verst pillar with inscriptions indicating the distances from Kharkiv to Moscow and neighboring provincial cities was installed. Decrees were read near the pillar and public punishments were carried out, so the square was also called Lobna.
In the middle of the 19th century, the square was called Pavlivska in honor of the merchant Pavlov, who opened the first store with fixed prices for goods. Later, the large building of the insurance company "Russia" (1910-1915, architect Mykola Verovkin) and the City Merchant Bank (1913, architects Mykola Vasylyev and Oleksandr Rzhepishevsky) were built, on the two upper floors of which the Astoria hotel was located.
During the Second World War, the building was destroyed, but then restored in its original form.
On the night of August 27, 2022, during the Russian-Ukrainian war, the Russians launched a missile attack on Pavlivska Square in Kharkiv. The historical building of 1912 was damaged, the windows and doors of the building were blown out by the blast wave.
Pavlivska Square Kharkiv
The Peresichne Village History and Local Lore Museum is one of the first village museums in the Kharkiv region. It is located in the premises of the village's House of Culture.
In addition to the traditional antiquities for the Slobozhanshchyna region and a large ethnographic collection, the museum's exposition includes personal belongings of actor Mykola Rybakov and composer Yakiv Stepoviy, the uniform of Marshal Ivan Konyev, and other interesting artifacts.
Nezalezhnosti Square, 4 Peresichne
The Church of Peter and Paul was founded in 1866 in the suburb of Kharkiv - on Zhuravlivka (now it is Taras Shevchenko Street with the surrounding area).
The stone building was laid in 1871, the construction was completed in 1875. The Church of Peter and Paul was built in the Rus-Byzantine style according to the project of architects Fedir Danilov and Vasyl Nebolsyn. The temple is single-domed, with three thrones. A women's church and parish school operated under him. Even during the times of persecution and Hitler's occupation, the church did not stop working.
By the 130th anniversary, the Peter and Paul Church was restored, and the Basil the Great Sunday School was opened, where parishioners are taught the basics of doctrine and the art of church singing.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 121 Kharkiv
The Museum of Photo Illusions opened in 2017 in the very center of Kharkiv.
There are 28 photo zones with different subjects for visitors. Carefully thought out locations allow you to take the most incredible photos due to the game of perception, scale and perspective.
The museum employs a photographer who can provide his services for an additional fee - shooting on professional equipment, retouching and processing the resulting images.
Klochkivska Street, 3 Kharkiv
Park / garden
Terraced Pokrovsky Square (architects Heorhiy Vehman, Ihor Zhylkin, Mykhaylo Lutsky, Hanna Mayak, 1951-1952), located on Sobornyi descent, adjacent to University Street.
Previously, the buildings of the Old Passage, which belonged to the merchant Pashchenko-Tryapkin, were located on this place, but were destroyed during the occupation of Kharkiv by German-fascist troops. In 1951, on the site of the ruins, a terraced square with stairs, a fountain and a cascade was built using the method of folk construction. From the upper terrace, you can admire a wonderful panorama of the Zalopanska part of the city, Serhiyiyivsky Maidan and the Annunciation Cathedral.
A monument to Hryhoriy Skovoroda (architect Yuriy Shkodovsky, sculptor Ivan Kavaleridze) was installed on the site of the square. The territory of the former Kharkiv fortress begins a few tens of meters from the monument.
In 2009, the square was reconstructed and handed over to the Holy Intercession Men's Monastery. An Orthodox cross is placed at the top of the fountain, the water in the fountain is consecrated.
Sobornyi descent Kharkiv
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Museum of Theater Puppets has been operating at the Viktor Afanasyev Kharkiv State Academic Puppet Theater since 1954. It is the oldest in Ukraine and one of the best puppet museums in the world in terms of the wealth of exhibition materials collected and preserved in its archives.
The museum occupies the entire third floor of the theater building, which is an architectural monument and was created according to the design of architect Oleksiy Beketov in 1907, and in 1968 was reconstructed specifically for the puppet theater.
The Museum's collection includes over 11 thousand different exhibits that tell the story of the development of the world puppet theater and Kharkiv puppeteers in particular, the history of the art of playing dolls and people associated with this art. In three spacious exhibition halls, dolls, posters, models, souvenirs, puppet sketches, theater programs and photographs from many countries of the world are presented for viewing. In particular, the museum stores unique dolls made at the beginning of the 20th century, gifts from famous puppeteers from different countries of the world.
Konstytutsiyi Square, 24 Kharkiv
The first Saint Nicholas Church in the village of Zhihor (now a suburb of Kharkiv) was built in 1747 at the expense of Colonel Andriy Shcherbinin.
The church was made of wood and soon burned down. The current stone church of Nicholas the Wonderworker with one throne was started to be built in 1890 at the expense of the parishioners. A church and parish school operated at the temple. After the revolution, the temple was closed and opened several times.
Today, the church has been completely restored. Inside, the walls are extremely beautifully painted. The church is functioning, and a church-parochial school has been opened again.
Hetmanska Street, 11 Kharkiv
The first wooden church of Nicholas the Wonderworker in Hryhorivka (a suburb of Kharkiv) was built in 1765.
In 1821, according to the project of the architect Yevhen Vasylyev, on the site of the former church, a single-domed Nicholas Church with a red brick bell tower in the shape of a cross was built at the expense of Colonel Oleksandr Norov.
In 1938, during the persecution of the church, Deacon Filipp (Ordynets) was arrested and shot. In our time, he is included among the holy new martyrs of the Slobidsky region.
From 1960 to 1989, the Saint Nicholas Church was closed. In 1989, the surviving remains of the church were handed over to the Orthodox community of the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.
Tsementna Street, 8 Kharkiv
The St. Nicholas Church in Lyubotyn is part of the palace and park complex of the "Hyivka" estate, the last owner of which was the Kharkiv Governor-General, Prince Dmytro Svyatopolk-Mirskyi.
The church in the style of classicism stands on a hill above a pond on the same axis as the Svyatopolk-Mirsky Palace.
In Soviet times, the building was used as a grain warehouse, which was damaged during the Second World War.
Currently, the restored Nicholas Church is once again accepting parishioners.
Sadova Street, 29 Liubotyn
The Church of Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker in Vilshany is one of the oldest churches in the Kharkiv region.
The wooden Saint Nicholas church with a bell tower was built in 1753 (according to other sources - in 1741), reconstructed in 1793. The three-domed church has a typical three-part composition for wooden churches of Central Ukraine. Stone borders were added in 1911-1914.
At the end of the 20th century, the temple was sheathed with metal sheets, and a brick bell tower was added to it.
Mykolayivska Street Vilshany
The Church in the name of the holy prince Oleksandr Nevsky in Kharkiv was built in 1830 at the Kharkiv Psychiatric Hospital, better known as Saburova dacha.
The small church could not accommodate all the parishioners, and in 1904, 20 thousand rubles were allocated from the state treasury for the construction of a new church. The project was executed by the architect Mykhaylo Lovtsov, who himself supervised the construction. In 1907. construction, decoration and painting of the temple were completed. The icons of the one-tier carved iconostasis were painted on zinc. The Oleksandr Nevsky Church was richly decorated with stucco, which is why it was considered one of the most elegant in the city.
In 1920, the church was closed and used for various services (club, hospital archive, agitation point, etc.). Reopened in 1990, now completely restored.
Akademika Pavlova Street, 46 Kharkiv