Attractions of Ternopil district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Ternopil district

Found 108 attractions

Ternopil district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Ternopil district

Костел Святого Йосифа, Полупанівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Joseph's Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saint Joseph was built in Polupanivka in 1894 on the top of the Holy Mountain next to the Orthodox chapel of the Holy Spirit, which stands above the healing spring.

According to legend, the Mother of God appeared here about 200 years ago. Since that time, the Holy Mountain has been a place of pilgrimage for Christians of various denominations.

During the Soviet era, the church was closed, but in 1991 the service was resumed. Today it is the Sanctuary of the Mother of God of the Holy Scapular. In 2010, the "Way of the Cross" with bronze sculptures at 14 stations was opened near the church.

Map pin icon Svyata hora tract Polupanivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква святого Миколая, Теребовля
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The defense church of Saint Nicholas is one of the oldest buildings in Terebovlia.

Saint Nicholas Church was built on the border of the 16th and 17th centuries. It was reconstructed in 1734, at the same time a bell tower was built.

The fact that the Saint Nicholas Church performed the functions of a defensive structure is reminiscent of a closed battle line with loopholes.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 14A Terebovlia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Косми і Даміана, Старий Скалат
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saints Cosmas and Damian Church

Temple , Architecture

The Greek-Catholic Church of Saints Cosmas and Damian, the great martyrs and penitents in Staryi Skalat, was built in 1643 on the hill above the center of the village.

Pylyp Kurbas, the grandfather of the outstanding Ukrainian director and theater theorist Les Kurbas, served in this church.

An ancient cemetery is located near the church of Saints Cosmas and Damian. Relatives of Lesya Kurbas are buried here: grandfather and grandmother, father, younger brother Nestor.

Map pin icon Zarichna Street Staryi Skalat

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Центр науки Тернополя, Тернопіль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Science Center Ternopil

Entertainment / leisure , Museum / gallery

"Science Center Ternopil" was established in 2017 as a public space of science, education and youth initiatives.

Its main goal is to interest schoolchildren and students in self-education and non-formal education through interactive classes and excursions. The center serves as a museum of science with interactive exhibits, a youth space with quality projects and an improvised laboratory.

30 exhibits clearly demonstrate various phenomena of physics, geography and biology. They allow students to observe natural phenomena, see in practice the physical properties of substances, experiment and explore the world.

There is a room for meetings, round tables, workshops, meetings, thematic projects.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Yevromaydanu Square, 4 Ternopil

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Скалатська синагога, Скалат
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Skalat Synagogue

Temple , Architecture

The old synagogue was built in Skalat in the 18th century. A special feature of the architecture is the T-shaped layout.

In Soviet times, the building was used as an electrical substation. The building is currently in a state of disrepair.

Map pin icon Pavla Chubynskoho Street, 1 Skalat

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Соломії Крушельницької, Біла
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Solomiya Krushelnytska Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The memorial museum-estate of Solomiya Krushelnytska was opened in 1963 in one of the houses of the Krushelnytsky estate in the village of Bila near Ternopil (now the territory of Biletska Secondary School).

The outstanding Ukrainian opera singer and teacher Solomiya Krushelnytska spent her childhood and adolescence here, and she visited her parents and sisters many times.

The museum exposition tells in chronological order about the life and work of the actress. The personal documents of the singer, posters, programs, invitations, letters, manuscripts of memoirs of contemporaries, stage decorations, clothes, household items and furniture are presented. In particular, you can see the original record of Columbia (USA) with a recording of Ukrainian folk songs performed by Solomiya Krushelnytska, as well as hear the voice of the singer on the first recording, made electrically using a microphone.

Map pin icon Krushelnytskykh Square, 7 Bila

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Сороцьке джерело, Сороцьке
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sorotsky Source

Temple , Natural object

Sorotsky Source on the western outskirts of the village of Sorotske is a hydrological monument of nature.

According to legend, the Mother of God appeared here in 1949. Back then, a small chapel was built near the spring. And in 2011, the consecration of the new chapel of the Mother of God took place.

Map pin icon Sorotske

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Старозбаразька фортеця, Старий Збараж
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Starozbarazka Fortress

Archaeological site

The remains of the oldest defensive structure of Zbarazh are located on the southwestern outskirts of the city, on the banks of the Hnizna River.

On the opposite bank, on Babina Hill, there was an ancient Rus settlement of the 9th-12th centuries. The stone fortification was built on the site of the wooden fortress by the Siversky prince Dmytro Korybut. The new owners became the princes of Nesvytsky, who were called Zbarazky after that. In 1477, the castle was destroyed by the Mongols, but was soon restored, and in the 16th century it withstood 4 Tatar sieges. Only the fifth siege in 1598 was fatal for the castle - the fortress was completely destroyed and was never rebuilt, and the princely residence was moved to a place in Zbarazh.

Fragments of the foundations of the Starozbarazka Fortress have been preserved, and a memorial sign has been installed.

Map pin icon Staryi Zbarazh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Ступківське джерело, Ступки
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stupkyvske Source

Natural object

Stupkyvske spring is a hydrological natural landmark of local importance.

The source of drinking water in the village of Stupky near Ternopil has been known since ancient times, as it was located on a busy trade route. And now the E-50 (M-12) highway "Ternopil - Khmelnytskyi" passes next to it.

The water in the spring is clean and cold, pleasant to the taste.

In 2009, the chapel of the Holy Mother of God was built over the spring, and the area around it was improved. Local residents willingly use the water of the Stupkyvske Source for drinking and cooking.

Map pin icon Ternopilska Street Stupky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Синагога, Струсів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Synagogue

Architecture

The synagogue in Strusiv was built in the 19th century. It is located near the castle.

The building of the Jewish prayer house has quite large dimensions, which indicates the size of the Jewish community at that time. It has two floors and arched windows. To the right of the main entrance to the synagogue, the remains of the annex for women's prayers, which was dismantled during Soviet times, have been preserved. The same external extension was on the left - for men.

The main entrance is decorated with a white stone portal. There is a plaque with an inscription in Hebrew. The north-western corner of the temple has a rounded shape, and the south and south-eastern corners are made in the form of columns decorated with white stone.

Now it is used as a utility room, but it is gradually falling into disrepair. An architectural monument of local importance.

Map pin icon Myru Street Strusiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Тарасові Шевченку, Тернопіль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Monument

Monument

A monument to Taras Shevchenko by sculptor Mykola Neveselyi was erected in Ternopil in 1982 near the regional drama theater named after the poet.

Located in the square to the right of the Ternopil Academic Regional Drama Theater named after Taras Shevchenko.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street Ternopil

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Теребовлянський музей-майстерня, Теребовля
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Terebovlia Museum-Workshop

Museum / gallery

Terebovlia Museum-Workshop is a former Terebovlia District Museum of History and Local Lore, founded in 1999.

Located in the former house of the Deputy Chief of the Terebovlia railway station.

The exposition presents archeological materials about the ancient history of the region, objects of the princely era and the Middle Ages, the antiquity of the Terebovlya region as part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.

The exposition also tells about the events of the Second World War, the development of the national liberation movement and some modern events.

Among the unique exhibits is the zither of the Ukrainian composer Yevhen Kupchynskyi.

A separate exposition is dedicated to the first patriarch of the UGCC, a native of the village of Zazdrist Yosyp Slipy.

The museum-workshop offers master classes on casting plaster figures, knitting dolls, making candles, soap making, painting porcelain, glass and eco-bags.

The Terebovlia Tourist Information Center and a souvenir shop operate at the museum. A variety of tours of the city and its surroundings are offered, including a night torchlight tour with a guide in the image of Prince Sanhushko.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenka Street, 26E Terebovlia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Художній музей, Тернопіль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ternopil Regional Art Museum

Museum / gallery

The Ternopil Regional Art Museum presents a modest gallery of works by little-known masters of the XVIII-XX centuries.

A collection of works of sacred art is presented separately: icons, crucifixes, sculptures and church bells. In particular, a unique icon of the beginning of the XX century by Antin Monastyrsky with the image of Jesus Christ in an embroidered shirt.

Also, the Ternopil Art Museum presents one of the works of the world-famous Ukrainian sculptor Ivan Heorhiy Pinzel - the Royal Gate from the Church of the Intercession in Buchach.

Map pin icon Solomiyi Krushelnytskoyi Street, 1 Ternopil

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Тернопільський обласний краєзнавчий музей, Тернопіль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ternopil Regional Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

Ternopil Regional Museum of Local Lore was founded in 1913 as the Podillya Museum with four departments: ethnographic, historical and numismatic, natural history and archeology.

Today, the museum of local lore is housed in an unusual building from Soviet times. The exposition has more than 150 thousand exhibits and reflects the history of Ternopil since the X century. In particular, a collection of ceramics found during archeological excavations in the region is presented.

The most valuable exhibits of the Ternopil Regional Museum of Local Lore are 4 allegorical sculptures from the side altar of the Buchach Holy Intercession Church by the world-famous sculptor Ivan Heorhiy Pinzel.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Yevromaydanu Square, 3 Ternopil

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Токівський замок, Токи
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Toky Castle

Castle / fortress

The ruins of the Toky (Ozhyhovetskyi) castle are located on a peninsula surrounded by the waters of a large pond.

The castle in Toky was built at the end of the 16th century by the Bratslav voivode, Yanush Zbarazky. Subsequently, the castle belonged to the Vyshnevetskyi, Charnetskyi, and Matkovskyi.

In 1648 it was captured by the Cossacks, and in 1675 it was destroyed by the Turks. In the 19th century, most of the towers and walls were dismantled for building materials.

The ruins of one pentagonal tower and a section of the wall have survived to this day. The upper part of the walls is destroyed, and the courtyard of the fortress is located level with the edge of the wall.

Map pin icon Toky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable