Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Chernivtsi region

Attractions of Chernivtsi region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Chernivtsi region

Found 122 attractions

Chernivtsi region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Chernivtsi region

Краєзнавчий музей, Старий Вовчинець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum of Local Lore named after Ivan Topalo

Ethnographic complex , Museum / gallery

The Local Lore museum complex named after Ivan Topalo in Staryi Vovchynets is the largest peoples local history museum in the region.

The village museum was founded in 1957 by Ivan Topalo, a resident of Staryi Vovchynets, a local school history teacher.

For more than half a century of existence, the museum has collected a rich collection - more than 8,000 exhibits reflecting the nature and history of the village. In particular, the reconstruction of a Bukovyna hut of the first half of the 20th century, peasant tools, earthenware, samples of Bukovyna embroidery are presented.

Of particular interest is the rich collection of Bukovyna Easter eggs - more than 3,000 copies.

Map pin icon Bazarna Street, 6 Staryi Vovchynets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей природи Вижницького НПП, Зеленів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum of Nature of Vyzhnytsky NNP

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Nature of the Vyzhnytsky National Nature Park in the village of Zeleniv has been housed since 1986 in an old building built in the early 20th century for a local priest.

The museum has nine departments that tell about the geography, climate, geology and nature of Zeleniv and other neighboring villages of the right bank of the Prypruttya. In particular, a geographical map of the relief is exhibited: the terrain is hilly, some parts of the territory are located at an altitude of up to 400 meters above sea level and are densely cut by a network of ravines, valleys and swamps.

Most of the natural exhibits are stuffed animals, fish and birds that are found in the region.

In the yard in front of the house grow both ordinary bushes and flowers, and exotic - ball-shaped thuja, juniper, Pissardii plum, evergreen myrtle, tulip tree, sycamore, etc.

Map pin icon Bukovynska Street, 24 Zeleniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музично-драматичний театр імені Кобилянської, Чернівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Music and Drama Theater named after Olha Kobylyanska

Architecture , Theater / show

The beautiful building of the Chernivtsi Academic Regional Ukrainian Music and Drama Theater named after Olha Kobylyanska was built in Chernivtsi according to the project of Viennese architects Ferdynand Felner and Herman Helmer.

The theater`s facade is decorated with sculptural compositions based on ancient Greek mythology, and marble busts of outstanding figures of world and Ukrainian culture are installed in the side niches. Above is a statue of Melpomene. The interiors are made in a neobaric style.

The grand opening of the theater took place on October 3, 1905 with a performance of Frants Shontan's play "Mariya Tereziya". Since then, operas, operettas, dramatic and comedic performances of Ukrainian and Western European classics have been demonstrated on the stage. Great masters of the European opera and drama scene performed here: Enriko Karuzo, Fedir Shalyapin, Solomiya Krushelnytska, Oleksandr Moissi and many others.

Map pin icon Teatralna Square, 1 Chernivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Національний парк "Хотинський", Хотин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

National Nature Park "Khotynskyi"

Reserve

National Nature Park "Khotynskyi" was created in 2011 with the aim of preserving natural and historical-cultural complexes and objects in the Dniester River basin on the territory of the Dnistrovskyi district of the Chernivtsi region.

The park covers an area of ​​9,432 hectares. Its relief is mainly formed by the Dniester canyon. There are 520 species of plants in the park. Among the rare animals and birds are the forest cat, the black stork.

Near the village of Hryniachka is the highest waterfall in Bukovyna (30 meters), which originates from a powerful karst spring.

Map pin icon Olimpiyska Street, 69 Khotyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Національний природний парк "Вижницький", Берегомет
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

National Nature Park "Vyzhnytsky"

Museum / gallery , Reserve

The Vyzhnytsky National Natural Park was created in 1995 to preserve, reproduce and rationally use the natural landscapes of the Bukovyna Carpathians with unique historical and cultural complexes.

The landscape diversity of its territory is impressive: there are steep slopes, picturesque rocks, waterfalls and gorges, and fir-beech forests occupy almost the entire territory of the park (in some places they reach a height of 40 meters and 70-90 centimeters in diameter). This is one of the two places in Ukraine where a rare orchid grows - the leafless chinstrap. There are a large number of springs of mineral water: "Chereshenka", "Vyzhnytsia", "Luzhayky".

The territory of the Vyzhnytsky National Park has routes for active hiking tourism, ecological educational trails. Green tourism is developing.

The most interesting natural objects of the national park are the group of rocks "Pierced Stones" and the open-air museum "Vartovi Nedeyi" on the top of Stizhok Mountain, 782 meters above sea level, which is the hallmark of Vyzhnytskyi National Park.

The park administration operates an ecological and educational center.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 27A Berehomet

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці "Гореча", Чернівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Blessed Virgin "Horecha" Church

Temple , Architecture

The Defense Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Chernivtsi is the oldest brick Orthodox church in the city. Recognized as an architectural monument.

It was built in the early 1760s on the site of an old wooden church on the territory of the Orthodox male monastery "Horecha" (1712). The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin was built in the Baroque style, was used as a fortress, along the second tier there is a battle gallery.

After the closure of the "Horecha" monastery in 1784, the church became a parish church. The church was seriously damaged during the First World War. In the post-war period, the temple was renovated. The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin remained active even in the Soviet period. In 1992, the temple was thoroughly renovated. In 1995, the "Horecha" monastery was restored and the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin became a monastery again.

The frescoes of the 17th century have been preserved.

Map pin icon Troyanivska Street, 1 Chernivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Галицівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Halytsivka is considered the oldest monument of wooden architecture in the Bukovyna Carpathians.

It was built by folk craftsmen in 1630 without a single nail. The church has a disproportionately oblong nave, a faceted altar part and an octagonal nave above which rises an octagonal pyramidal top. The pitched roof with a high overhang and the dome of the church are covered with aluminum sheet, the walls are horizontally lined with wood.

No less interesting is the bell tower, which was built in the 18th century. It clearly stands out among the majority of Bukovyna bell towers due to its octagonal shape and its unusual silhouette, which is more reminiscent of a watchtower or even a space rocket.

Map pin icon Luhova Street, 83 Halytsivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Природничий музей Чернівецького національного університету імені Юрія Федьковича, Чернівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Natural History Museum of ChNU

Museum / gallery

The Natural History Museum of the Yuriy Fedkovych National University of Chernivtsi was established in 2012 on the basis of the collections of zoological and geological-geographical museums of the university, which began to be collected in 1876.

The unique exhibits include 19,000 specimens of animals, most of which are of historical value. In particular, a collection of tropical butterflies collected during expeditions of the late XIX - early XX centuries. Also on display is a 27-meter blue whale skeleton, a New Zealand gutter, a helmet-bearing cassowary, an African ostrich skeleton, a bison, a gray lizard, a Bukovynian blind, an Aesculapian snake, a protopterus, and more.

Collections of minerals and petrographic specimens are collected from regions around the globe, and some of extraterrestrial origin, there are many unique specimens and nuggets.

Map pin icon Fridrikha Shillera Street, 5 Chernivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей-садиба Назарія Яремчука, Вижниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nazariy Yaremchuk Memorial Museum-Manor

Palace / manor , Museum / gallery

The manor-museum of the People's Artist of Ukraine Nazariy Yaremchuk is located in Vyzhnytsia in the village of Rivne.

The small "spruce house" in which the famous singer spent his childhood and youth was turned into a museum by his sister Kateryna.

In the museum, you can see family heirlooms of the Yaremchuk family, stage costumes, photos and personal letters of the maestro, magazine and newspaper articles collected by friends, fellow students, teachers and musicians, which tell about the life path of Nazariy Yaremchuk.

Map pin icon Nazariya Yaremchuka Street, 45 Vyzhnytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Нова Іллінська церква, Топорівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

New Saint Elijah Church

Temple , Architecture

An amazing Orthodox church in terms of architecture, outwardly reminiscent of romantic castles.

The residents of the village of Toporivtsi received permission to build a new Saint Elijah Church from Emperor Frants-Yosyf in 1911, when the old Saint Elijah Church ceased to accommodate all parishioners.

It was built in 1914 under the direction of German and Czech architects in traditional Romanian architectural forms. A clock is installed on one of the towers.

Currently, the New Saint Elijah Church belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Toporivska Street, 49 Toporivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історичний музей, Новодністровськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Novodnistrovsk Historical Museum

Museum / gallery

The Novodnistrovsk Historical Museum was founded in 2007. It is located on the second floor of the secondary school No. 1.

On a total area of ​​almost 300 square meters, there are several exhibition departments: "History of the city and the construction of the Dniester cascade of hydroelectric power plants and hydroelectric power plants", the ethnographic exhibition "Antiquities of the native land", the "Hall of Military Glory", the "Gallery of the History of the Development of Education in Novodnistrovsk" and the exhibition hall "Art and Folk Art".

Map pin icon "Dibrova" microdistrict, 5B Novodnistrovsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей старообрядництва, Біла Криниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Old Believer Museum

Museum / gallery

The museum complex of Old Believers in Bila Krynytsia was opened in 2011.

The exhibition, located on the second floor of the wooden cottage, includes household items of Bukovyna Old Believers, traditional clothes of different times, old photos with views of the village, books and magazines about Old Believers.

The complex also includes living rooms where the Metropolitan of the Orthodox Old Believer Church stays during his visits to the Bila Krynytsia, a refectory kitchen.

Map pin icon Bilokrynytska Street, 53 Bila Krynytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Меморіальний музей Ольги Кобилянської, Чернівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Olha Kobylyanska Literary Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The Olha Kobylyanska Literary Memorial Museum in Chernivtsi was opened in the house where the writer lived for more than 10 years.

The museum's exhibition is located in five halls. Three of them reveal Olha Kobylyanska's life and creative path, and two of them recreate the situation that existed during her life (study and bedroom).

Map pin icon Sofiyi Okunevskoyi-Morachevskoyi Street, 5 Chernivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Вулиця Ольги Кобилянської (Панська), Чернівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Olha Kobylyanska Street (Panska)

Historic area

The cozy historical street of Olha Kobylyanska in the center of Chernivtsi is the main city promenade – a walking area for citizens and tourists.

The street originated in the middle of the 18th century as a road from Chernivtsi to the village of Molodiya, but its main construction dates back to the 19th century, when it was named Panska. In those days, the street was considered one of the most prestigious in the city, which fully justified its name. State institutions, commercial banks, expensive restaurants and residences of wealthy citizens were located here.

In 1940, the Soviet authorities renamed the street in honor of the prominent Bukovyna writer Olha Kobylyanska.

By the 600th anniversary of the city, which Chernivtsi celebrated in 2008, many old buildings were restored, the street took on a modern European look. The houses here have mainly two to four floors. They are built in the styles of classicism, modernism and eclecticism. Shops, cafes and restaurants are located on the first floors.

The authentic cobbled paving has been preserved on the street. Globular maples are planted along it and benches are installed. Popular photo locations are the wrought-iron carriage, the sculpture "The Janitor with Roses" and the "Monument to the Unknown Corruptor".

Every Saturday with the first dusk, the theatrical event "The Light of Panska Street" is held, during which lanternists light the first lantern.

Map pin icon Olhy Kobylyanskoyi Street Chernivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей просто неба "Вартові Недеї", Берегомет
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Open-Air Museum "Guards of Nedeya"

Museum / gallery , Natural object

The open-air museum "Guards of Nedeya" (Vartovi Nedeyi) was created in 2024 on the top of Stizhok Mountain near Berehomet on the territory of the Vyzhnytskyi National Nature Park and presents an ancient sanctuary of the Neolithic era, associated with the cult of the Sun.

Among the wild forest, visitors are faced with megalithic creatures - outcrops of powerful sandstones with cracked and speleological formations. People have long seen various sacred images in them: fish, dragon lizards, bears, Goddess Mother Earth. Solar symbols, petroglyphs, as well as one of the first solar calendars are carved on the stones of the complex.

All megaliths face the northeast, as if sentries meeting the sun on the day of the summer solstice. The rock complex was named "Vartovi Nedeyi" ("Guards of the Nedeya") because the ancient Hutsul word "nedeya" means "wild mountain peak".

Mount Malyi Stizhok, 782 meters above sea level, is the calling card of the village of Berehomet and the pearl of the Vyzhnytskyi National Nature Park. It impresses with its unique relief, original colors of forest plantations (depending on the season), lush grass on hayfields, and sources of crystal clear water.

Among the stone formations on the top of Mount Stizhok, you can also find the "Dovbush Cave" over 10 meters long.

An ecological trail "To the Guards of Nedeya" has been laid to the megalithic complex, four kilometers long, which begins at the "Karpaty" cottage complex in Myhove. You can also climb to the top of Stizhok Mountain along a marked tourist route from the bridge over the Siret River in Berehomet.

Map pin icon Stizhok Tract Berehomet

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable