Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Cherkasy region

Attractions of Cherkasy region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Cherkasy region

Found 240 attractions

Cherkasy region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Cherkasy region

Музей Шевченка, Моринці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Manor-Museum

Museum / gallery

The Moryntsi museum complex is a reconstructed country manor in the village of Moryntsi, where the future Kobzar was born in 1814.

His parents, Hryhoriy Shevchenko and Kateryna Boyko, lived for several years in the empty hut of the exiled peasant Kopiy, next to the house of Yakym Boyko, the grandfather of the newborn Taras. Both houses were restored according to the drawings and detailed description of Shevchenko expert Oleksandr Konyskyi in 1989, with careful observance of technology and all the features of folk architecture characteristic of this area. An original wooden external storeroom was moved from the neighboring Kerelivka (Shevchenkove) to the manor.

The modest life of the Shevchenko family is recreated in the interiors of residential buildings. Behind the houses there is a wonderful view of a ravine planted with an orchard. A monument to Kateryna Boyko with little Taras in her arms was installed. A chapel was built.

Map pin icon Shkilny Lane, 4 Moryntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Тараса Шевченка, Мошни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Museum

Museum / gallery , Palace / manor

Taras Shevchenko Museum was opened in 2014 on the territory of the Nahanovsky inn in the village of Moshny, where Shevchenko lived for a few days after his release from arrest in 1859, during his third (and last) trip to Ukraine.

A residential building has been preserved from the inn, where the main exhibition of the museum was located. In 2013, before the opening of the museum, the building underwent major repairs, the roof was covered, and the concrete foundation was poured. But all the walls, thresholds, ceilings and the stove with a couch remained original. The layout of the house has also been preserved. In the rooms, original furniture of the 19th century, household utensils, embroidered towels, icons are displayed.

All buildings in the yard of the former inn are reproduced according to descriptions and drawings.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenka Street, 14 Moshny

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Тараса Шевченка, Канів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Museum

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The Literary Memorial Museum of Taras Shevchenko in Kaniv was opened in 1939. Before that, on Taras Hill, there was a folk museum of the poet "Tarasova Svitlytsia", opened at the end of the 19th century in the former house of the overseer of the Shevchenko grave, Ivan Yadlovskyi.

The new museum was built during 1935-1937 according to the project of the outstanding architect Vasyl Krychevsky, who is considered the founder of Ukrainian architectural modernism. According to the initial plan, the laconic, outwardly classicist building was to be decorated with Ukrainian ornaments in the majolica technique. This idea was never implemented, but the interior decoration was impressive with a folk color: a bright stained glass window in the depth of the lobby, caissons with colored rosettes on the ceiling, ornamental paintings on the walls.

After the reconstruction of 2003-2010, the building acquired a modern minimalist look with elements of constructivism.

Today, the museum collection includes more than 20,000 objects. The main exposition presents individual memorial items of Taras Shevchenko (carved casket, spindle, psalter), originals of some of his drawings and etchings, rare editions of the poet's works, works of art on Shevchenko themes, etc.

In a separate hall, Kobzar's posthumous plaster mask is displayed surrounded by texts from the "Testament" in various languages of the world. The interactive map "The last journey of Taras Shevchenko through Ukraine" shows the route by which the coffin with Kobzar's ashes was taken from St. Petersburg to Kaniv.

The exhibition is equipped with multimedia information kiosks, and various audiovisual programs are available to visitors.

Map pin icon Taras Shevchenko Street, 102 Kaniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Вагон-музей станції Шевченка, Сміла
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tarasa Shevchenko Station Wagon Museum

Museum / gallery

The Taras Shevchenko Station Wagon Museum was opened in Smila in 1976 on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the station's opening. The wooden passenger car, built in 1935, houses exhibits from the Shevchenko Railway Junction Museum.

Most of the exhibits tell about the formation of Smila as a junction station of the railway, which was originally built as a highway for transporting sugar during the time of Count Bobrynsky.

The car museum is attached to another rare locomotive - the SU 216-32 steam locomotive, built in 1940.

Map pin icon Pryvokzalna Square Smila

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей "Тарасова світлиця", Канів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tarasova Svitlytsia Museum

Museum / gallery

The first Taras Shevchenko National Museum on Chernecha Hill in Kaniv "Tarasova Svitlytsia" appeared long before the creation of the Shevchenko National Reserve.

As early as 1884, at the same time as the arrangement of Shevchenko's grave was completed, a house was built next to it. In one half of it lived the first caretaker of the grave Ivan Yadlovsky, opened the first national museum of the poet with a book of reviews.

The house was dismantled in the 1930s, during the construction of a memorial on Tarasova Hill, but was restored in 1991. The museum exposition presents a copy of a portrait of Shevchenko donated to the museum by artist Illya Repin, a copy of a towel embroidered for the museum by Lesya Ukrayinka, an icon depicting Shevchenko in the image of a saint.

In the second half, the room of the guard of Shevchenko's grave with the original samovar of Ivan Yadlovsky on the table was restored.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 102 Kaniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Три криниці, Суботів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Three Wells

Natural object

"Three Wells" in Subotiv are wells preserved from the time of Bohdan Khmelnytsky, which supplied water to the Cossack hospital. They are located at the bottom of a deep gully on the southwestern edge of the village.

According to legend, three Cossacks dug a spring at the site, the waters of which healed them after being wounded by a local elder.

It is believed that the taste of water from each well is slightly different from the others.

Map pin icon Zarichna Street Subotiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Преображенська церква, Білозір'я
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Transfiguration Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Transfiguration Church in Bilozirya was built in 1710. In 1867, the bell tower was rebuilt.

At the moment, the church yard is surrounded by a high concrete fence.

Map pin icon Oleksiya Stryzhachenko Street, 2 Bilozirya

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Мотронинський монастир, Мельники
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Trinity Motronynsky monastery

Temple , Architecture

The ancient Orthodox Trinity Motronynsky Monastery in Kholodny Yar is located on the site of an ancient Rus settlement and even more ancient Scythian settlements (Scythian ramparts have been preserved).

According to legend, during the time of Yaroslav the Wise, the fortress of Prince Voivode Myroslav stood here. Returning from a campaign against the Pechenegs in 1036, Myroslav decided to check the defense of the fortress, which he entrusted to his wife Motrona. Attacking the fortress under the guise of enemies, Myroslav was accidentally killed by Motrona herself. After learning about what happened, Motrona accepted monasticism and founded a monastery, which was named after her.

The year 1198 is considered to be the official foundation date of the Motronynsky Monastery, when the Simeoniv Chronicle mentions the Pereyaslav Bishop Pavlo, who founded the Church of John the Baptist in the Motronynsky Monastery. In 1568, the revival of the monastery began after the Mongol-Tatar destruction, it came under the patronage of the Cossacks.

In the 18th century, the Motronynsky monastery became one of the centers of the struggle against the Union, as well as a stronghold of the Haydamak movement. In 1768, 3,000 Haydamaks received a blessing here to fight against the Polish nobility, which was the beginning of Koliivshchyna. These events are described in the poem "Haydamaki" by Taras Shevchenko, who visited the monastery in 1845. During the Ukrainian Revolution in 1919-1922, the Motronynsky Monastery served as a stronghold of the rebel units of the Kholodnoyarska Republic

The Trinity Church, built in 1727 and reconstructed in 1805, has been preserved. The cell building was built in recent years. A memorial cross was installed on the grave of centurion Ivan Kompaniyets.

From the entrance to the Motronynsky monastery, the descent to the miraculous spring of Saint Onuphrius begins. Nearby is the Haydamatsky (Monastyrsky) pond, where the Haydamaks used to consecrate their weapons.

Map pin icon Kholodny Yar tract Melnyky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Тясминський каньйон, Кам’янка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tyasmyn Canyon

Natural object , Rest on the water

The Tyasmyn Canyon in Kamyanka is a landscape reserve of local importance.

Steep, almost straight rocks on the left bank of the Tyasmyn River rise upwards in places by 12-15 meters. The rocks are densely overgrown with young forest (Tatar and American maple, hawthorn, rare ferns and mosses).

The wonderful combination of river, stones, forest and steppe create the most beautiful landscapes.

Map pin icon Naberezhna Street Kamyanka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей української гармоніки, Жашків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ukrainian Harmonica Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Ukrainian Harmonica in Zhashkiv was founded in 2006 by the artistic director of the local harmonica ensemble Ivan Sukhyi.

In total, the museum has more than 200 musical instruments. The oldest harmonica is more than 120 years old, the smallest is the size of a palm. There are domestic, foreign, frontline, trophy harmonicas.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 50 Zhashkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Уманський краєзнавчий музей, Умань
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Uman Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The Uman Museum of Local Lore is located in the building of a former private hospital (1902).

The history of the foundation of the museum begins in 1906, when the Society of Antiquity Lovers was founded on the initiative of teacher and local historian Danylo Shcherbakivskyi. The official opening of the Historical Museum of the Uman Region took place in 1918.

The exhibits of three departments tell about the origin of life on Earth, geological structure, minerals, water system, soils, climate, flora and fauna. Samples of granites, kaolins, and lignite are presented to the attention of visitors; there are stuffed animals and birds listed in the "Red Book of Ukraine".

The historical department presents a model of the Uman fortress, samples of ancient weapons and armor.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Street, 31 Uman

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Університет садівництва, Умань
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Uman National Horticultural University

Architecture

In the 19th century, the Main School of Horticulture was transferred from Odesa to Uman, under whose control the Uman park "Sofiyivka" (Tsarytsyn Garden) ended up.

A two-story building in the style of classicism was built for him on the territory of the service part of the park. Since then, students have tended the park, using it to improve their knowledge of horticulture.

Currently, it is the Uman National University of Horticulture, which trains specialists from nine fields.

The university museum is open in building #7. In the exhibition, all historical periods of the development of the educational institution are presented step by step, starting from the time of its foundation in 1844 in Odesa.

Map pin icon Instytutska Street, 1 Uman

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Уманська Яма, Умань
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Uman Pit

Historic area , Monument

"Uman Pit" is the name given to the place where in 1941 the Nazis established the "Stalag-349" transit camp, one of the first concentration camps on the territory of Ukraine.

From 50 to 70 thousand prisoners of war and civilians of Uman were kept in inhumane conditions at the bottom of the clay pit of the brick factory. Thousands of them died from wounds, diseases and hunger, thousands were shot.

"Uman Pit" existed until 1943, until the occupation was lifted. A monument to the dead has been installed at the mass grave.

Map pin icon Teplychna Street Uman

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Долина Троянд, Черкаси
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Valley of Roses

Park / garden

"Valley of Roses" in Cherkasy is a small park on the banks of the Dnipro 500 meters from the city center. One of the most favorite recreation places of the townspeople.

In recent years, it has been used for city-wide celebrations.

In 2012, a 15-meter sundial was installed on the territory of the park.

Map pin icon Knyazya Olherda Street, 11 Cherkasy

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник варенику, Черкаси
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Varenyk Monument

Monument

The first Varenyk (dumpling) monument in Ukraine was erected in 2006 near the "Rosava" hotel in Cherkasy.

The sculpture represents Cossack Mamai, who eats Varenyks. A huge dumpling in the form of a crescent moon is placed behind his back.

The author of the monument to one of the classic dishes of Ukrainian cuisine is sculptor, Honored Artist of Ukraine Ivan Fizer. The height of the monument made of ceramics is 2.5 meters. Before its opening, a real Varenyk weighing about 70 kilograms was prepared.

Map pin icon Verkhnya Horova Street, 29 Cherkasy

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable