Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Sumy region
Attractions of Sumy district
Attractions of Sumy
Found 31 attractions
Sumy
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Museum / gallery
Museum of History of Sumy State Pedagogical University named Anton Makarenko was founded in 1962 and is a subdivision of the department of social and cultural work of the SumSPU.
The museum has collected more than 8,000 exhibits that tell about the founding of the school in 1924, the periods of World War II, postwar reconstruction and development of education in the region to this day.
A separate exposition is dedicated to the creative heritage of the outstanding teacher, one of the founders of the system of child and adolescent education Anton Makarenko, who was a native of Sumy region.
Romenska Street, 87, auditorium 221 Sumy
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Temple , Architecture
The brick one-bath church of the Nativity of John the Baptist with a bell tower is located on the northeastern outskirts of Sumy, which has the historical name of the settlement of Luka.
The church is the main architectural landmark of Luka, it is well visible from the railway, from the Lypen hillfort and from the banks of the Psel River. The territory of the church is surrounded by a wall with two forged ornamental gates of the end of the 19th century.
In 1687, the Sumy colonel Herasym Kondratyev founded the John the Baptist monastery for girls in Luka, in which a wooden temple of the same name was built in 1691. The monastery was closed in 1787.
In its place, in 1837, a stone three-part church with a bell tower was built at the expense of the family of local nobles Lyntvarov as a parish church for Luka and the neighboring village of Baranivka. In 1907, two side altars were added to the church - the Holy Trinity and Saint John.
Rodyny Lyntvarovykh Street, 87 Sumy
Architecture , Theater / show
The House of Civil Meetings for Nobles in Sumy was built at the end of the 19th century.
On the first floor there was a music salon, a theater hall, and a restaurant. On the second floor there are smoking rooms and rooms for gambling.
After the Soviet-Ukrainian war, the House of Nobles' Assembly was turned into a philharmonic hall. The Sumy Regional Philharmonic Hall is famous for its acoustics. In 2008, major repairs were carried out and an organ was installed.
Petropavlivska Street, 63 Sumy
Architecture
Oleksandrivska Male Gymnasium is the oldest educational institution in Sumy. An architectural monument of national importance.
Founded by philanthropist Pavlo Kharytonenko. The main building in the style of classicism was built in 1873. Later, a boarding house for 40 people was built for out-of-town students. Thanks to pointed towers, battlements, a pointed portal and the same windows, this building resembles a medieval castle. The hospital was built in the same style. Unusually beautiful stairs leading to the second floor of the main building and a two-light assembly hall.
Currently, it is the Sumy Classical Gymnasium, specializing in advanced study of the English language.
Troyitska Street, 5 Sumy
The Paleontological Museum in Sumy opened in 2025 at the Center for Ecological and Naturalistic Creativity of Student Youth of the Sumy City Council. Its exposition presents authentic objects of natural history of the Sumy region and other regions of Ukraine and the world.
In particular, the museum presents the largest collection of fossil invertebrates of the Late Cretaceous and Paleogene in the region. Also presented is a mammoth femur, found by one of the co-founders of the museum during diving training on the Seim River.
Today, the total number of exhibits of the Paleontological Museum exceeds 700 units.
Kharkivska Street, 13 Sumy
Park / garden , Entertainment / leisure
The Park of Culture and Recreation named after Ivan Kozhedub with an area of 58 hectares is located in the center of the city of Sumy.
There are many attractions in the park, exhibitions, festivals and other cultural events take place regularly.
The modern stadium "Yuvileyny" is located near the central entrance to the park. The city beach on the Psel River is located in the southeastern part of the park.
Yevhena Korostelova Street, 15 Sumy
The Peter and Paul Cemetery Church in the style of classicism is located in the oldest city cemetery in Sumy, where many famous Sumy residents are buried.
The temple was built in 1843-1851 at the expense of the merchant Fedior Sapozhnikov. The one-domed stone church. The bell tower is connected to the temple by a short passage. Original interior decorations and oil paintings have been preserved.
Nearby are the graves of members of the Kharytonenko family of sugar growers with marble tombstones by the Italian master Aristid Kruazi, as well as the graves of the Sukhanov merchants.
Sumskoyi artbryhady Street, 1 Sumy
The brick Prophet Elijah Church was founded in Zasumka (a district of the city, which was separated from the old part of Sumy by the Sumka River) in 1836 on the site of a burned-down wooden church. After another fire, construction was suspended for a long time and was completed in 1845. In 1851, the church was consecrated in honor of the holy prophet Elijah.
In terms of its architectural composition, it is a common type of single-tiered cross-domed churches of rectangular plan in Ukrainian architecture, built in a classical style with elements of eclecticism. A four-tiered bell tower with the main entrance to the church is attached to the Prophet Elijah Church, which ends with a dome with a high spire.
Illinska Street, 10 Sumy
Monument
The monument of refined sugar in Sumy was opened for the 355th anniversary of the city in memory of the former sugar glory of Sumy.
It is located on Pokrovska Square, opposite the monument to the sugar factory Ivan Kharytonenko, thanks to whom the city achieved prosperity in the 19th century. At that time, sugar began to be pressed into small cubes, and it was this form of the monument that was chosen by sculptors Viktor Dovholyuk and Oleksiy Shevchenko.
You can go down to the large refined cube on stone cubes to take a photo at the landmark, which symbolizes the wealth of the region. It is assumed that individual sugar cubes will be scattered throughout the city.
On the same day, on Voskresenska Street in Sumy, the sculpture "Baby Sweets" was opened.
Pokrovska Square Sumy
The majestic Savior Transfiguration Cathedral on a pedestrian street in the very center of Sumy combines Renaissance, Baroque and Classicism elements in its image.
The Transfiguration Cathedral in Sumy was built in 1776-1788 on the site of a wooden church of the 17th century. The 56-meter baroque bell tower with English chimes was added later. The cathedral acquired its modern appearance after a major reconstruction, carried out in 1882-1892 according to the project of the authoritative Kharkiv architect Mykhaylo Lovtsov. Cast-iron figures of the apostles Peter and Paul, as well as two identical figures of Saint Volodymyr the Great, and figures of the four evangelists: Luke, Mark, John and Matthew, are installed in the corners of the dome.
In the interior - an iconostasis made of white marble and Ural malachite, paintings on biblical themes by Volodymyr Makovsky. The main shrines are miraculous icons of the Tikhvin Mother of God and the Korsun Mother of God.
The cathedral belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate. Festive services are broadcast outside.
Soborna Street, 31 Sumy
Architecture , Palace / manor
The Sukhanov-Sumovsky estate is a beautiful two-story palace-type house in Sumy.
It was built in 1895 by Sumy businessman and philanthropist Mykola Sukhanov. Later, the manor became the property of the Sumovsky family. The manor house is located in the depth of the park behind a fence with a wrought-iron gate and figured bars.
A two-story residential building with rich architectural decorations was connected by an underground passage to an office building with an attic in the Neo-Renaissance style. On the border of the manor plot there is a long building of the farm building.
Currently, the Institute of Applied Physics, the services of the Academy of Banking, as well as one of the divisions of the Ministry of Internal Affairs are located in various premises of the Sukhanov manor.
In the premises of the library of the banking academy, the exhibition "The Sukhanovs in Sumy" was opened, which tells about the life and charity of the Sukhanov family.
Petropavlivska Street, 58 Sumy
A small gazebo made of carved wood, built according to the project of the architect Matviy Shchaveliyiv without a single nail, is considered a visiting card of the Sumy city.
According to legend, it was built by a burgher, Yosyp Lishchynsky, on the site of a well drilled during an unsuccessful search for oil.
The Sumy gazebo is the only wooden structure in the city that was not damaged at all during World War II.
Museum / gallery , Architecture
Sumy Regional Art Museum named after Nikanor Onatsky is located in Sumy in the building of the former State Bank, built in the early XX century by Sumy architect Hustav Sholts.
The museum was established in 1920 on the basis of nationalized private art collections and the collection of Oskar Hansen, which was then in Sumy. The first director was the artist Nikanor Onatsky, a student of Illya Repin, whose works, in particular, are presented in the museum.
The most interesting are the landscapes of Italian artists of the XVII-XIX centuries, Dutch and Flemish painters, including the works of Rubens' students, French landscape painters of the XIX century.
Also presented are the works of famous artists-travelers: Shyshkin, Kuyindzhi, Levitan, Savrasov. The masterpieces of painting of the late XIX - early XX century include the works of Vasnetsov, Serov, Kotarbinskyi, Ayvazovskyi.
The museum has a collection of works by the outstanding Ukrainian folk artist Mariya Prymachenko.
Pokrovska Square, 1 Sumy
The Sumy Regional Museum of Local Lore is located in Sumy in the former building of the county zemstvo administration with a notable tower-like projection on the facade, which rises above the main building and ends with a dome.
There are four caryatids on the pylons of the second floor, which support the balcony. Oleksandr Kuprin and Volodymyr Korolenko visited the office in different years. In 1905, the printing office and editorial offices of the first Sumy newspapers were located here.
The Regional Museum of Local Lore in Sumy was founded in 1920. The museum`s exposition presents objects from archaeological excavations of early Slavic and ancient Rus monuments, rare materials from the history and nature of Sumy Region.
Pokrovska Street, 2 Sumy
The sculpture "Sweet Teeth Babies" on Voskresenska Street was installed in Sumy for the 355th anniversary of the city. This is a tribute to the sugar industry of the Khayitonenko family, thanks to which the city achieved prosperity in the 19th century.
The monument was created by sculptors Oleh Prokopchuk and Volodymyr Bukov. A bronze boy is eating sugar from a bag on a chair, and a girl is standing next to him. Any passer-by can join them by sitting down on a free chair.
On the same day, a monument to refined sugar was opened on Pokrovska Square in Sumy.
Voskresenska Street, 11 Sumy