Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Chernihiv region
Found 220 attractions
Chernihiv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Monument
The monument to the Ukrainian hetman Ivan Mazepa and the Swedish king Charles XII was opened in Dihtiarivka in 2008 to mark the centenary of the first meeting of the two allies in the war against Tsar Peter I of Moscow.
It was on this hill near the village of Dihtiarivka in 1708 that Mazepa and Charles met for the first time in person to discuss the details of a military-political union.
The first memorial sign on the hill was installed by local historians in 1998. 10 years later, on the initiative of the leadership of the National Council for Television and Radio Broadcasting of Ukraine, a monument was erected in the form of a granite slab in the shape of a bell, crowned with the coats of arms of Ukraine and Sweden, on which portraits of the hetman and the king are placed.
There are 100-meter steps from the road to the top of the hill.
Pokrovska Street Dihtiarivka
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Museum / gallery
The Historical and Archaeological Museum Complex "Ancient Lyubech" was established in 2008 on the basis of seven architectural and archaeological monuments of the village from the days of Kyivan Rus to the XIX century.
Among them: Castle Hill with a monument in honor of the Lyubech Congress of Princes in 1097, the Near and Far Caves of the Reverend Anthoniy Pechersky, the tenement house of Hetman Pavlo Polubotko (XVIII century), the Transfiguration Cathedral (1811-1817) and others.
The administration and museum exposition of the complex are located in the former boarding school next to the Transfiguration Cathedral. Here is a model of Lyubech Castle, numerous exhibits on the history and culture of the city. In the interactive hall, visitors can take pictures with a musket or feel the relief of a Cossack cannon, and young visitors can learn more about archeology in the Archaeological Sandbox. The museum has a permanent exhibition "Lyubech the eyes of artists", some halls tell the story of crafts in the region - fishing, farming, trade.
In the park next to the museum there are sculptures of historical figures of Lyubech by the capital's master Єгора Зігури: Prince of the Drevlyans Malk of Lyubech, princesse Malusha Malkovna (Lyubechanka) with her young son Volodymyr, her brother Dobrynya, Rev. Anthoniy Pechersky.
Preobrazhenska Street, 26 Liubech
Temple , Architecture , Museum / gallery
The powerful defensive Savior Transfiguration monastery on the high bank of the Desna is one of the oldest in Ukraine.
Founded in 1033 by Prince Mstislav Tmutarakansky, the princes of the Novhorod-Siverskyi principality were blessed here. The monastery also served as the prince's residence (the foundation of the prince's chambers was excavated).
In the XII century on the territory surrounded by a fortress wall with towers, a stone Savior Cathedral was built. From him went on a campaign to Polovtsian lands, Prince Ihor Svyatoslavich - the protagonist of "The Tale of Ihor's Campaign."
The name of this historical work is the historical and cultural reserve created on the basis of the monastery complex, the museum exposition of which is located in a two-storey building of the Abbot's House.
Most of the buildings of the monastery revived after the Mongol destruction date back to the XVII-XVIII centuries. The monastery is surrounded by a strong wall with corner towers, a bridge over the defensive moat to the Holy Gate with a bell tower, reinforced by flank towers.
The territory is dominated by the majestic Transfiguration Cathedral (1786-1787), built in the style of classicism on the site of an ancient Rus church. Also preserved are the Peter and Paul (XVII century) and Saint Illya (1787) churches, the building of the bursa (1657-1667). The Savior Transfiguration Monastery is active, completely restored in 2003.
In addition to the "The Tale of Ihor's Campaign" museum and temples, towers, galleries and dungeons are also open to the public.
Slobidska Street, 1 Novhorod-Siverskyi
The Berezna Historical and Local Lore Museum named after Hryhoriy Verovka is the only museum in Ukraine named after this outstanding composer, conductor, and organizer of the Ukrainian Folk Choir.
Hryhoriy Verovka was born in 1895 in Berezna and received his primary education at a local three-year school. The memorial part of the exposition of the Berezna Museum is dedicated to his life and work. In particular, the composer's personal belongings are kept here: a violin from 1914, books from his personal library, stage costumes, household items, as well as an accordion donated by him to the high school during his last visit to the village in 1964.
Other expositions tell about the history of the region (archeology, numismatics, ethnography) and about the events of the Second World War (weapons, awards, documents, photographs).
In total, the museum funds have more than 5,000 exhibits of the main fund.
Every year before the birthday of Hryhoriy Verovka, the museum hosts ceremonial events and concerts.
Svyato-Pokrovska Street, 4 Berezna
Museum / gallery , Palace / manor
The historical and memorial museum-reserve of Panteleymon Kulish was founded in 1999 in the Motronivtsi hamlet, on the outskirts of the Olenivka village.
Ukrainian writer Panteleymon Kulish spent the last years of his life here, in the "Hannyna Pustyn" manor. He settled in Motronivtsi after the "Em decree" of 1876, according to which it was forbidden to publish any texts in the "Little Russian dialect", with the exception of artistic works and historical documents. Kulish's collection "Khutirska philosophy and poetry distant from the light" prepared here was banned by the censorship on the basis of this very decree.
On the territory of the farm, the manor of Kulish himself, as well as his wife and colleague Hanna Barvinok, was restored, monuments were erected, graves were arranged, a garden was planted and a pond was dug. The complex quite faithfully reflects village life.
Panteleymona Kulisha Street, 15 Olenivka
The Semenivka History and Local Lore Museum was founded in 1978 on the initiative of enthusiasts.
Two thousand exhibits, including a collection of household items of the 17th-19th centuries, tools and products of local craftsmen, personal belongings and documents of prominent countrymen, samples of industrial enterprises of the district, etc.
The first hall of the museum is devoted to the history of the creation of the city, the development of crafts and industries. The events of the Second World War are covered in the second hall. Materials on the development of the district's industry, culture, education, and medicine are presented in the "Modernity" hall, and the section "Compatriots - the pride of the region" is organized.
Heroyiv Ukrayiny Street, 7 Semenivka
The Museum of the History of Liskovytsya is located in the old premises of Chernihiv School No. 4 with more than a hundred years of history.
The museum is dedicated to the district of Liskovytsya, Chernihiv Podil, which has been known since ancient Rus times, where artisans and burghers lived. Various periods of its history are told by the exhibits in the sections "Liskovytsya in the period of Kyivan Rus", "Liskovytsya - one of the Christian centers of Chernihiv", "History of the school" and others.
One of the central exhibits is an ancient loom.
Tolstoho Street, 23 Chernihiv
Palace / manor , Architecture
The estate of the leader of the Chernihiv nobility Hryhoriy Hlibov appeared on the outskirts of Chernihiv - on Bobrovytsa - at the end of the 19th century.
Deputy of the State Duma, wealthy landowner Hryhoriy Hlibov had the reputation of an eccentric person. He built his romantic palace in the Neo-Gothic style, decorating it with a somewhat clumsy watchtower. A linden avenue led to the manor, along which lay large boulders. Even then, local residents nicknamed the Hlibov Palace "castle".
Currently, the Institute of Agricultural Microbiology of the Ukrainian Academy of Agrarian Sciences is located in the Hlibov estate.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 97 Chernihiv
Temple , Architecture
The Holy Annunciation Monastery in Nizhyn was founded in 1702 by Metropolitan Stefan Yavorskyi, whose brother served at that time as abbot of the Saint Nicholas Cathedral.
The Annunciation Cathedral was built in 1716 according to the project of the Moscow architect Hrigory Ustinov in the Baroque style. Had a second name - Nazareth the Virgin. Fragments of paintings of the XVIII-XIX centuries have been preserved inside.
The complex also includes the Peter and Paul Church with a bell tower (1803), the abbot's house with a refectory and cells (1808), as well as 12 monastery shops.
In 1999, the complex was handed over to the UOC community of the Moscow Patriarchate, the men's monastery is in operation, but the restoration of the buildings is being carried out very slowly. Church shops are used as shops, hairdressers, etc.
Mytropolyta Yavorskoho Street, 2 Nizhyn
The Holy Ascension Church in Koriukivka was founded in 1882.
The first temple was wooden. In 1904, a new red brick Holy Ascension Church was built in its place.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 116 Koriukivka
The Holy Ascension Church in Radkivka was built on the territory of the manor at the expense of Fedir Rakovych, a collegiate assessor.
According to some sources, the author of the project is a self-taught master Maystrenko. The temple in the style of classicism. The central four is crowned by a large dome with a hollow lantern. Interior decor is partially preserved. From the north, the temple is connected to the warm church of Oleksandr Nevsky, built in 1849, which is almost completely destroyed.
In 2009, the Holy Ascension Men's Monastery of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine was opened near the church, which is assisted by the Separate Pryluky Cossack Regiment named after Petro Sahaidachny.
The church is located on the eastern edge of the village in the middle of an ancient park.
The granite tombstone of the landowner Rakovych has been preserved.
Voznesenskyi Lane Radkivka
The wooden Church of the Assumption in the village of Stara Talalaivka is one of the most beautiful examples of wooden architecture in the Chernihiv region.
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in 1775 as the ancestral tomb of the Mazaraki family, which then owned the village. At the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century, the Church of the Assumption was reconstructed under the leadership of former military engineer Volodymyr Buzovsky.
The richly decorated eight-domed church is located on a small hill near the lake. On both sides there are two octagonal towers (in the southern part there is a belfry and stairs leading to the choir).
The iconostasis of the 18th-19th centuries and the wall paintings of the beginning of the 20th century have been preserved.
In Soviet times, the Church of the Assumption was the only active church in the entire district. Now the temple belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.
Tsentralna Street Stara Talalaivka
The Assumption Church in Fastivtsi was founded in 1743.
Initially, the temple was built using elements and techniques of Russian professional architecture.
In 1863, the stone Church of the Assumption was rebuilt in the style of romanticism using elements of Rus architecture. This especially affected the architecture of the bell tower, which was completed.
Tsentralna Street Fastivtsi
The Church of the Assumption in the center of Korop was founded in 1767 (according to other sources - in 1716).
At first, the temple was made of wood. The stone Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary in the style of classicism was built in 1894 at the expense of the Korop burghers Yevdokym and Makar Stovptsov according to the will of their father Antip Stovptsov. The abbot of the church was Ivan Kybalchych , the father of the revolutionary terrorist Mykola Kybalchych .
Now the temple is active. The relics of Saint Feofan of Rykhlivskyi (1881-1977), who became famous for prophecies and healings, are kept here. A bell tower has been erected nearby.
Uspenska Street, 1 Korop
The Holy Dormition Church in Vyshenky is an outstanding example of temple architecture of the second half of the 19th century.
It was built in 1782-1787 at the expense of Field Marshal Petro Rumyantsev-Zadunayskyi in the form of classicism with baroque elements.
A very expressive temple, which impresses with the simplicity of the plan, exquisite proportions, the elegance of the facades, and the elegant silhouette of the building. The architecture shows the influence of Catholic and Muslim temple architecture.
The Dormition Church is part of the palace and park complex of Rumyantsev-Zadunayskyi. Restoration is underway.
Tsentralna Street Vyshenky