Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Chernihiv region

Attractions of Chernihiv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Chernihiv region

Found 220 attractions

Chernihiv region

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Chernihiv region

Свято–Покровська церква, Батурин
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Intercession Church in Baturyn is one of the churches of the hetman's capital, the confessional of Hetman Ivan Mazepa.

The first wooden church, built on this site in the 17th century, burned down during the Baturyn tragedy, arranged by the Russians.

The five-domed stone temple was rebuilt in 1789 in the Ukrainian Baroque style. Nearby was the building of the church and parish school.

The Holy Intercession Church complex was completely destroyed by the Bolsheviks in 1936.

The revival of the church began in 2000 at the expense of the Ukrainian diaspora, and after 8 years the restored Intercession Church was consecrated.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 2 Baturyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Покровська церква, Сосниця
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Church of the Holy Intercession is the only preserved church in Sosnytsia.

It was originally built in 1724 on the site of an ancient temple. It was completely rebuilt in 1847.

Made in the traditional forms of the Cossack temple. It looks archaic due to the unusual slope of the walls. Oil paintings on biblical subjects have been preserved in the interiors.

During Soviet times, the church was closed, the building housed a driving school, then a warehouse. In 1989, the service was resumed.

Map pin icon Pokrovska Street Sosnytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Жукля
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Intercession Church was built in the village of Zhuklia at the expense of Major General Mykola Komstadius.

It is considered a very valuable architectural monument, since there are no more churches of this type in Ukraine.

The church was founded in 1911 on the site of a burned down wooden church. According to legend, the owner of the village promised the residents to build a temple that does not burn. For this, he ordered an architect and builders from St. Petersburg.

The Pokrovsky Church is made in neo-Rus style. It combines elements of the architecture of the northern regions of Ancient Rus with Ukrainian compositional techniques. The interior of the temple is decorated with original paintings. The iconostasis has not survived to this day.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 7 Zhuklia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Антонівка
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Holy Intercession in Antonivka was founded in 1889 on the site of an old wooden church. It was consecrated on the feast of the Intercession of the Holy Mother of God in 1914. The red brick temple is made in the Rus-Byzantine style.

In 1920, the church was closed by the Soviet authorities. During the Second World War, the service was resumed for a while. In 1991, the Holy Intercession Church was returned to the Orthodox community of the village. At the same time, the restoration began, which continues to this day.

The interiors of the Church of the Intercession impress with bright colors and the almost complete absence of paintings.

Map pin icon Brativ Hashkiv Street, 1 Antonivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Воскресенська церква, Остер
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Holy Resurrection Church

Temple , Architecture

The Resurrection Church is the only Orthodox church that was completely preserved during the Soviet rule in Oster.

The news about the laying of the wooden Resurrection Church dates back to 1790. After half a century, the temple was rebuilt in classical forms in stone.

The icon of Saint Barbara, created by the icon painter Vasyl Levchenko, is stored in Holy Resurrection Church.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 1 Oster

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Троїцький собор, Чернігів
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Trinity Cathedral in Chernihiv is part of the complex of the Trinity-Elijah Monastery, founded on the Boldyni Hills in the 11th century by Antoniy Pecherskyi.

After the Mongol-Tatar invasion, the monastery was revived in 1649 on the initiative of Colonel Stepan Podobaylo. The ensemble of the Trinity Cathedral with the bell tower, the Church of the Introduction and the Refectory was built in 1679-1695 at the expense of Hetman of Ukraine Ivan Mazepa. The wonderful architecture in the Ukrainian Baroque style is the work of the talented Vilnius architect Yohann-Batyst Zauer (Yohann Baptyst).

Since 1790, the Trinity-Elijah Monastery has served as the residence of the Archbishop of Chernihiv - the so-called "Archbishop's House" is located here.

The monastery itself is closed, but the cathedral is open to parishioners. The relics of Chernihiv saints rest in the Trinity Cathedral: Saint Theodosius of Chernihiv, Saint Lavrenty, Saint Filaret (Humylevskyi), parts of the relics of some Kyiv saints.

The biker poet Leonid Hlibov is buried near the southern wall of the cathedral.

The 58-meter-high monumental bell tower is open for visitors (195 steps), the best panorama of Chernihiv opens from above.

The Holy Trinity Cathedral is part of the National Architectural and Historical Reserve "Ancient Chernihiv".

Map pin icon Tolstoho Street, 92 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історико-краєзнавчий музей, Городня
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Horodnia Historical and Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The municipal institution "Horodnia Historical and Local Lore Museum" was founded in 1979.

Since 2007, it has been housed in a 19th-century local history monument, the building of former mayor and philanthropist Mykola Pysaryev.

The museum has almost 5,500 exhibits. 5 exhibition halls tell about the archeological monuments of the region, about the Horodnia Cossack Hundred, about folk crafts, handicrafts, ethnographic features of the region. The interiors of a peasant house and a burgher's room, as well as a shop with the exposition "Development of trade in the city" were recreated.

Numerous documents, photographs, various things tell about the events of the Second World War.

The exhibition about the second half of the XX century focuses on the figures of dissident and political prisoner, organizer of the Helsinki Union, chairman of the Ukrainian Republican Party, Hero of Ukraine and author of the Act of Independence of Ukraine Levko Lukyanenko, a native of Khrypivka. In addition to photos and documentaries, the interior of the cell for holding political prisoners has been recreated.

Map pin icon Troyitska Street, 14 Horodnia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок генерального судді Кочубея, Батурин
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

House-Museum of the Judge General Vasyl Kochubey

Museum / gallery

The house-museum of the General Judge of the Zaporizhzhian Army Vasyl Kochubey in Baturyn is a rare example of civil architecture of the Ukrainian Baroque era.

This is the only building that has survived since the Baturyn Fortress after the destruction of the Hetman's capital by Moscow troops in November 1708.

The one-storey brick building of the General Court was built in the second half of the 17th century during the time of Hetman Demyan Mnohohrishny. He performed both administrative and housing functions.

From 1700 it was inhabited by Judge General Vasyl Kochubey and her family. His 16-year-old daughter Motrona (Motrya) was in love with her godfather, 58-year-old Hetman Ivan Mazepa, but the father was adamantly against their marriage. Kochubey and his associate Ivan Iskra tried to settle accounts with Mazepa by informing Tsar Peter I of Moscow about the hetman's secret negotiations with King Charles XII of Sweden. The tsarist government extradited the informers to Mazepa, and they were sentenced to death. After the execution of her father, Motrya went to the monastery. The monument, the Alley of Love and 500-year-old oaks in the manor park (there are the remains of the ramparts of the Baturyn fortress) remind of this dramatic story.

The house of Judge Kochubey has housed the Museum of History and Local Lore since 1975, which in 2006 became part of the National Historical and Cultural Reserve "Hetman's Capital". The exposition acquaints with the history of the house and the Kochubey family, and also deeply reveals the theme of Motrya’s and Mazepa's love.

The interiors of the investigation and pre-trial detention rooms with an exposition of instruments of torture are recreated in the basements.

Part of the exhibition is dedicated to the beekeeper, inventor of the hive Petro Prokopovych, who lived in Baturyn.

Map pin icon Hetmanska Street, 74 Baturyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Густинський монастир, Густиня
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Hustynia Holy Trinity Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Hustynia Holy Trinity Convent was founded in 1600 by the Kyiv-Pechers monk Ioasaf on the lands of the Vyshnevetsky princes.

An island overgrown with dense forest, formed by the bend of the Uday River and a swamp, was chosen for the arrangement of the monastery. The location in a difficult terrain, as well as the system of defensive structures with a moat and walls gave the monastery an important strategic importance. It was used as a rebel base during popular uprisings against the nobility, as a result of which it was destroyed.

In 1639, Metropolitan Petro Mohyla of Kyiv took up the revival, and later his monastery came under the care of the Ukrainian hetmans.

On the territory there is a white stone five-headed Trinity Cathedral (1672-1676) in the Baroque style, founded by Hetman Ivan Samoylovych, a refectory of the Resurrection (former Assumption) Church (1695), built at the expense of Hetman Ivan Mazepa, as well as a soft pink Peter and Paul Church (1693-1708) with five sections.

Under Catherine II, the monastery was closed, but half a century later it was restored again at the expense of Prince Mykola Repnin (he is buried in the Resurrection Church).

The Hustin Chronicle (1600-1640) was created in the monastery - the first comprehensive work on the history of Ukraine, which combines the secular and hagiographic history of Rus. Taras Shevchenko visited here.

Excursions are conducted, the clothing of visitors must meet the requirements accepted in the temples of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Yarmarkova Street, 27 Hustynia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Ічня
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Ichnia Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The Ichnia Museum of Local Lore is located in a small one-story building near the city center.

Founded in 1961 by local historian Mykola Butko. 7,000 exhibits reflect the nature and history of the Ichnia region.

Of particular note is the original collection of samovars, pottery tiles and pottery products, icons and old prints, Ukrainian shirts, towels, weaving products and wood carvings. The museum presents works by local artists and masters of decorative and applied arts, in particular a unique selection of wood carvings by Anton Shtepa.

The Museum of the Artist Mykola Ge is a department of the Ichnia Local Lore Museum.

Map pin icon Voskresinska Street, 27 Ichnia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Ічнянський національний парк, Ічня
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Ichnia National Natural Park

Reserve

The Ichnia National Nature Park protects unique forest-steppe complexes in the upper reaches of the Uday River in the northwest of the Left Bank-Dnipro Forest-Steppe Province.

Maple, linden, hornbeam and oak can be found in the local forests, many medicinal plants grow, in particular. listed in the Red Book of Ukraine (forest lily, summer plantain).

On the territory of the Ichnia National Nature Park, the ecological and educational trail "In the Ichenka Valley" and the ecological and touristic route "Sadove" have been arranged. In the picturesque corners of the park there are places for short-term rest - benches, tables, shelters from the rain. For long-term rest, there are cabins, and tourist equipment is available for rent.

Map pin icon Ichnia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Ларинівка
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Church of the Intercession was built in Larynivka in 1902 on the site of an old church that had been known since 1732.

The temple is made in the diocesan style. Square in plan, the cubic volume is topped by a figure-of-eight bathhouse and four deaf lanterns in the corners. Wide use of carvings is characteristic for external decoration.

The Church of the Intercession was closed for a long time, so neither the old iconostasis nor the icons were preserved.

Adjacent to the western facade is a slender almost 20-meter three-tier bell tower with a tent top, which was characteristic of the temple architecture of the Sivershchyna at that time.

Map pin icon Larynivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Синявка
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The Cossack Church of the Intercession of the Holy Mother of God in Syniavka was founded in 1706.

The current wooden Intercession Church was built at the expense of Pavlo Yunytsky in the traditional forms of Ukrainian Baroque, characteristic of the Left Bank of Ukraine in the 17th and 18th centuries. Cut from pine logs. The central octagonal log house dominates the composition, the eastern log house is hexagonal. Their longitudinal axes in the west-east direction do not coincide, which indicates that the plans were developed at different times. The babinets is covered with a hinged top, the light lantern is covered with a flat ceiling. The forms of crowns are baroque. Window openings of various shapes play an important role in the composition.

The Church of the Intercession in Syniavka is one of the few monuments of folk architecture in Chernihiv region that has preserved its original forms.

Nearby is the grave of the Ukrainian kobzar Petro Tkachenko.

Map pin icon Zarichna Street Syniavka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Ніжин
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Intercession was built in Nizhyn in 1757-1765 and has not been rebuilt since then.

The stone temple is made in a strict baroque style with almost no decor. In the interior you can see paintings of the end of the 18th century.

In the 19th century, an elegant two-tier bell tower in the Empire style was added to the western facade of the Intercession Church. It is decorated with skillfully executed four-column porticos and triangular pediments with a clear rhythm of dentils.

Today, the Intercession Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Pokrovska Street, 23 Nizhyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Дігтярівка
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon
User icon
0

Intercession of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin, which stands on a hill in the center of the village of Dihtiarivka, was built in 1708-1710 at the expense of Hetman Ivan Mazepa. It was in the Church of the Intercession that the great Ukrainian Hetman prayed on the eve of the decision to side with King Charles XII against the Tsar of Moscow in the Northern War.

The five-domed stone temple was built in the Ukrainian Baroque style. The influence of the late Renaissance and early classicism can be felt in the exterior decoration.

During the Soviet era, the Intercession Church was looted and partially destroyed.

In 2009, restoration work was started, during which one of the aisles of the church was restored. However, due to a lack of funds, the work was suspended. In 2023, the Orthodox Church of Ukraine announced its intention to use Ivan Mazepa's charity fund, created in 2022, to rebuild the church.

Map pin icon Zelena Street Dihtiarivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border iconStar border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route