Attractions of Rivne district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Rivne district

Found 63 attractions

Rivne district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Rivne district

Руїни замку Вишневецьких, Тайкури
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ruins of Vyshnevetsky Castle

Castle / fortress

Separate fragments of defensive walls and towers can barely be seen on the site of the medieval castle in Taikury, built in the late 16th - early 17th centuries by Prince Yuriy Vyshnevetskyi.

The castle was made of stone and brick, regular in plan. It had corner towers connecting defensive walls, a drawbridge.

In 1825, the castle burned down. The then owner Oleksandr Illinskyi decided not to restore it and sold it for building materials.

The part of the southern tower, which reached a height of 30 meters and served as a watchtower, was best preserved.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street Taikury

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Св. Антонія (Органна зала), Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Anthony Church (Organ Hall)

Temple , Architecture , Theater / show

The former parish church of Saint Anthony in the neo-Gothic style with a beautiful clock on the facade was built in Rivne according to the project of Konstantiy Voytsekhovskyi at the expense of Roman Sanhushko on the site of an early church.

Consecrated in 1900. Originally, the house was crowned with two spiers, decorated with frescoes and stained glass windows.

Since Soviet times, the Church of Saint Anthony has been used as the House of Chamber and Organ Music of the Rivne Regional Philharmonic.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 137 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Святого Антонія, Великі Межирічі
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Anthony's Church

Temple , Architecture

In the second half of the 17th century, the Lubomyrsky magnates, to whom Velyki Mezhyrichi belonged at that time, founded a Roman Catholic collegium.

In 1702-1725, the majestic church of Saint Anthony was built in the baroque style according to the project of the architect Voytsekh Lenartovych.

The church is stone, hall-type, with choirs, where the organ used to be. The interiors were decorated with rich stucco. The church is decorated with three pediments of late baroque character. On the altar side of the building, a two-story annex of the collegium with a library and an examination hall has been preserved.

Today, the church of Saint Anthony is in a very neglected state, although it is an architectural monument of national importance.

Map pin icon Luhova Street Velyki Mezhyrichi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Св. Лаврентія, Тайкури
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Lawrence Church

Temple , Architecture

The one-nave church of Saint Lawrence in Taikury with an elongated faceted apse and two side chapels half the height of the nave is surrounded on all sides by a dilapidated but still strong stone wall.

A belfry in the form of a high pediment with three vertical slits for bells is attached to the western corner. Once the church had a crowning pinak tower above the ridge of the pitched roof. Despite the neglected state, the main elements of the architectural design are clearly visible in the interior: pilasters, horizontal belts, cornice with a complex set of profiles. The composition of the main part of the interior space is completed by a cylindrical vault with deep formwork in the places adjacent to the windows, elastic arches and bundles of false ribs. Other rooms are covered with ordinary cross vaults.

According to legend, the church of Saint Lawrence was built thanks to an accident: the dog of the nobleman Peplovsky, looking for game shot by his master, dug up a golden treasure from the ground. Thanks to fate, the nobleman built a church on that place.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street Taikury

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївська церква, Пересопниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Saint Nicholas Church is located in the western part of the ancient Rus settlement of Peresopnytsia.

It was probably built in the 18th century on the site of an older church that existed during the heyday of the Peresopnytsia Monastery of the Nativity of the Virgin, when the Peresopnytsia Gospel was created (16th century).

The Nicolas Church is a three-part, one-story building consisting of a rectangular nave and nave and a hexagonal altar block. Above the nave rises an octagonal pediment, crowned by an octagonal dome with a decorative lantern. In 1888, an additional entrance was cut into the southern wall of the nave, highlighted by a small porch on two wooden posts, and a vestibule was added to the nave from the west. A two-story wooden belfry was built nearby.

The Nicolas Church in Peresopnytsia has harmonious proportions and is one of the most distinctive wooden churches in this region of Volyn.

Next to the church there is a reconstruction of a fragment of the Peresopnytsia hillfort of the 12th-13th centuries - a wooden wall with three towers.

Map pin icon Peresopnytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївська церква, Корець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saint Nicholas in Korets was built in 1834 at the expense of Prince Yuzef Chartoryiskyi.

The composition of the church in the Empire style is based on a typical three-part structure for Volyn cult construction. From the ends, the church is decorated with majestic, albeit somewhat disproportionate, porticoes with Tuscan columns.

Mykolaiv Church in Korka belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 1А Korets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Джерело Святого Миколая, Гільча Перша
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Source

Historic area , Natural object

Known throughout Volhyn, the tract of Saint Nicholas with twin Sources in a stone grotto (cave) has been known since the time of the Ostrozky princes.

On the outskirts of the village of Hilcha Persha, clean Sources of living cold water emerge from the ground. It was believed that these keys are not simple, but "thunderous", struck by God's lightning and, therefore, healing. Therefore, for centuries, the source of Saint Nicholas has attracted many people.

The grotto and pool were built in the 18th century. The poet Olena Pchilka (mother of Lesya Ukrainka), who was in Hilcha with her children, described the "God's path" of the holy stream in the short poem "Hulcha".

Map pin icon Hilcha Persha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Параскеви П’ятниці, Новий Корець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Paraskeva Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of the Holy Martyr Paraskeva Pyatnitsa in Novyi Korets was built in 1911-1914.

The architectural forms of the temple resemble the structures of the Holy Trinity Monastery.

The best view of the Saint Paraskeva Church opens from the walls of the Korets Monastery.

Map pin icon Novyi Korets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Святокосмодаміанівська церква, Новий Корець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saints Cosmas and Damian Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saints Cosmas and Damian in Novyi Korets stands on a coastal rock above the Korchyk River directly opposite the Korets Castle.

The wooden Saints Cosmas and Damian Church was built in 1896-1897 on the site of the 18th century temple.

Map pin icon Novyi Korets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Соколині гори, Маринин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sokolyni Mountains

Natural object

The Sokolyni Mountains (Falcon Mountains) landscape reserve, which is part of the Nadsluchan regional landscape park, is nicknamed "Nadsluchan Switzerland" for its characteristic, beautiful relief.

The reserve covers the steep banks of the Sluch River from Hubkiv to Bilchaky, centered in the village of Marynyn. In this section, the river flows between steep, forested rocky banks up to 25 meters high, which are composed of granites and gneisses of the Paleoproterozoic age. On an area of 510 hectares, 77 species of rare plants grow here, including those from the Red List of Europe and the Red Book of Ukraine.

The Sokolyni Mountains reserve is the most popular place for camping.

Map pin icon Maidan hamlet Marynyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Стецьких, Великі Межирічі
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stetsky Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

The Stetsky Palace in Velyki Mezhyrichi was built on a hill on which the castle of the Koretskyi princes stood in the Middle Ages.

In 1789, Ovruch mayor Yan Kazimezh Stetsky won this estate in a lottery and soon built a palace in the classicist style on the site of the castle according to the project of the royal architect Dominic Merlini.

The building is rectangular in plan, with two symmetrical risalites on the main facade, two porticoes and a belvedere. The front facade is accented with porticos of the Ionic order, and the garden facade is accented with a six-column portico with a balcony on the second floor. The central building is symmetrically adjoined by arched galleries-transitions connecting it with the outbuildings. The palace was surrounded by a park, at the foot of which was a trout pond.

During Soviet times, the Stetsky manor housed the Velyki Mezhyrichi special boarding school. The building began to be restored little by little.

The path to the palace passes through an apple orchard. The palace overlooks the church of Saint Anthony.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 27 Velyki Mezhyrichi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Парк "Лебедине озеро", Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Swan Lake Park

Park / garden

"Swan Lake" park in the center of Rivne is all that remains of the estate of the Lubomyrsky princes.

Until the middle of the 20th century, in the place where the "Avanhard" stadium is now located, there stood the Empire-style Lubomyrsky Palace, built on the basis of the medieval castle of Princess Mariya of Rivne, the widow of Prince Semen Nesvytskyi.

In the 18th century, the Lyubomirskis laid a palace park with the participation of the architect Yan Yakub Burhinyon. At the beginning of the 19th century, it was redesigned in the English style by the famous park builder Dionysius Makler (Mickler). After the First World War, the manor fell into disrepair. The palace burned down, and the park was cut down.

After the Second World War, the park was partially restored and named Komsomolsky, but the name "Swan Lake" stuck in the people, because swans live on a small pond in the center of the park.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Парк імені Т. Шевченка, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Park of Culture and Recreation

Park / garden

Rivne Park of Culture and Recreation named after Taras Shevchenko is a monument of garden and park art of state importance.

It was founded at the end of the 18th century, and today the age of individual trees reaches 150-200 years. There are 160 species of trees and shrubs here, many of which are exotic - North American (Engelmann spruce, Weymouth pine, catalpa bignonia, ash maple, red oak), Far Eastern (Amur velvet), South European (forsythia European, edible chestnut) evergreen ), species from China and Japan, Central Asia (biota orientalis, magnolia Sulanza, tall ailant, Japanese quince).

In the early 1950s, the park significantly expanded its territory, in 1977-1984, the park was reconstructed, as a result, it was replenished with new species. A cascade of pools with fountains surrounded by willows was created. In total, there are about 5,540 trees and 14,200 bushes in the park. In the spring of 2000, 670 trees (spruce, pine, thuja, birch, linden, maple) and 50 bushes were planted.

At the moment, the park named after Taras Shevchenko covers 32 hectares and has 5 zones: quiet recreation, active recreation, spectacular structures, sports and children's sector.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 3 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Татарська вежа, Острог
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tatar Gate Tower

Castle / fortress

The Tatar Gate Tower is one of the two surviving fortress towers. They were part of the system of external city fortifications of ancient Ostroh.

It was located in the Muslim part of the city, where Tatar prisoners were kept, which is where the name comes from. It also served as an entrance gate.

Currently, in a bad state, restoration is not being carried out.

Map pin icon Tatarska Street, 73 Ostroh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Троїцький монастир, Дермань
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Trinity Derman Monastery

Temple , Architecture

Trinity Derman Monastery is an ancient Orthodox monastery with a pronounced defensive character.

The Derman Monastery was founded on the spurs of the Mizoch Range at the end of the 15th century by Prince Vasyl Ostrozky. It served as the country residence of the prince, in connection with which fortifications were erected - a stone castle surrounded by walls with loopholes and a moat with water. The entrance was guarded by a massive gate tower, later transformed into the bell tower of the monastery.

Later, the Trinity Church and monastery cells were built by Vasyl-Kostyantyn Ostrozky.

In 1575-1576, the Derman monastery was managed by the first printer Ivan Fedorov, in 1602 a printing house and a religious school were opened.

In 1627-1633, the abbot of the monastery, which became Greek-Catholic, was Meletiy Smotrytskyi, the author of "Slavic Grammar".

In the 19th century, the Russian government took the monastery from the Greek Catholics and handed it over to the Orthodox monks from Ostroh.

Currently, the Derman Monastery is active and belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate. The complex includes the Trinity Cathedral, the Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God, the Church of Fedir Ostrozky. A residential building with a church in honor of Saint Innocent of Irkutsk is under construction.

Map pin icon Ivana Fedorova Street Derman Druha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable