Attractions of Rivne district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Rivne district

Found 63 attractions

Rivne district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Rivne district

Садиба Валевських, Гоща
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Lenkevych-Valevsky Estate (Pohoryna Museum)

Museum / gallery , Palace / manor

The estate of the Lenkevychi-Valevsky landowners in Hoshcha is an outstanding monument of palatial modernism in the residential architecture of Volyn in the 19th century, the embodiment of modernist aesthetics in Volyn garden and park construction. The palace is an architectural monument of local importance.

At the end of the 18th century, Stanislav Kostka Lenkevych of the Lenkevych-Ipochorskyi family, to whom Hoshcha had belonged since the beginning of the 18th century, founded the Hoshcha estate with an English-style park and a one-story wooden house. In 1852 the estate became the property of Oktaviya Lenkevych, who married Count Mikhal Valevsky. Around this time, the current palace was built in the style of a Swiss chalet - an alpine house with half-timbered facades, an attic floor, a decorative tower and a balcony over a porch in Art Nouveau style. The last owners were the Russian landowners Isakov.

In Soviet times, the palace was greatly modified by adding a second floor, completing the second wing instead of a decorative tower and partially covering the facades with ceramic tiles, but the main facade remained close to the original. For a long time the building was used as a district library.

In 2017, the Lenkevych-Valevsky estate was transferred to the balance of the Hoscha village council, and restoration work began. Now the exposition of the Hoshcha Historical and Ethnographic Museum "Pohoryna" is unfolding here.

Hoshcha Park with an area of ​​7 hectares is a monument of landscape art of national importance. Among its greenery you can find a relict ginkgo tree, which is also called the "dinosaur tree". Also growing are marsh oak with a pyramidal crown, Schwedler's red-leaved maple, Weymouth pine with small silky needles and long narrow cones, Japanese sophora, which resembles white acacia but has no thorns.

Map pin icon Sadova Street, 5 Hoshcha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Майдан Бергшлосс, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Maidan Bergshloss

Historic area , Architecture

The historic quarter "Maidan Bergshloss" opened in 2020 as part of the renewed architectural complex of the Rivne Brewery at the initiative of the director of the enterprise Maryan Hoda.

A small cobbled square is surrounded by three-story buildings reminiscent of the buildings of an old European city. Colorful and stylish false facades have Polish, German and Scandinavian features.

Most of the premises are currently occupied by the Hotel Optima Collection Bergshloss Rivne of the "Reikarts" chain. There is an Italian restaurant.

The European courtyard "Bergshloss" is periodically used as a festival site and a cultural and exhibition space.

The opening of the Beer and Hop Growing Museum is planned.

Map pin icon Petra Mohyly Street, 14 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Малинських, Зірне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Malynsky Manor

Palace / manor , Architecture

The estate of the landowner Mykhaylo Malynskyi, the Dubene marshal (leader of the nobility) in the village of Zirne (a suburb of the city of Berezne) was founded at the end of the 19th century.

The landscape park with an area of 18 hectares was laid out on drained marshes in 1874-1897 (according to legend, the author of the project was the famous Irish landscape painter Dionisiy Mikler, which is unlikely). Among the 80 species of trees that grow here, there are Weymouth pine, Siberian spruce, European larch, silver maple, hornbeam, oak, ash and others. Several manor buildings in the Western European chalet style with elements of Art Nouveau have been preserved on the territory of the park.

Currently, an anti-tuberculosis sanatorium is located on the territory of the Malynsky manor. On the western edge of the park, you can see an unusual brick water tower about 25 meters high, which is stylized as the tower of a fairy-tale castle.

Map pin icon Myronenka Street, 27А Zirne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Марії Рівненській, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Monument to Mariya Rivnenska

Monument

Monument to Princess Mariya Rivnenska, wife of Prince Semen Nesvytskyi, who in the 15th century contributed to the transformation of Rivne from a small village to a large city.

After the death of Prince Nesvytskyi in 1479, Rivne passed into the hands of his wife, who became known as Mariya Rivnenska. She laid a castle on the island and other city buildings, with her the city received the right of Magdeburg and the privilege of an annual fair. In 1507, Mariya received from the king the right of eternal possession of the castle and the city.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 99-113 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей "Ковальські витребеньки", Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum "Blacksmith Delights" (Art gallery of blacksmithing)

Museum / gallery

The private museum "Blacksmith Delights" ("Kovalski Vytrebenky") in Rivne was founded in 2013 by the owners of the enterprise "Rivnebudpostach" (now "Rivnemetalkom"), which is the organizer of the International Blacksmith Art Festival "Metal Heart of Ukraine". The collection was launched by a metal shoe created at one of the festivals.

Currently, the exposition presents more than a hundred products of blacksmith art, both from Rivne blacksmiths and masters from other regions of Ukraine. Among the works are political cartoons and creative experiments with materials by Roman Veligursky, sculptures by Artem Volsky, sophisticated compositions by Viktor Mikhalyov, etc. Metal candelabras, knight's armor, filigree chests and several dozen different metal figures are presented. The largest exhibit is a two-meter long bear with a fishing rod and a bucket.

In 2016, the Art Gallery of Blacksmithing was opened at the museum.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Stelmakha Street, 18A (P.E. "Rivnemetalkom") Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Таємничі підземелля Рівного
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mysterious Rivne Dungeons

Museum / gallery , Archaeological site , Entertainment / leisure

The museum and entertainment complex "Mysterious Rivne Dungeons" opened in 2021 in the Rivne Park of Culture and Recreation named after Taras Shevchenko. In the 19th and 20th centuries, the estate of Prince Frederik Lubomyrsky "On the Hill" was located here.

The Lyubomirskyi Palace was destroyed during the Second World War, in the post-war years its remains were demolished during the arrangement of the park, but elements of the basement part of the building were preserved under the "Bogatyr" fountain. They became the basis for the interactive museum exposition "Mysterious Rivne Dungeons". Its project was developed by the outstanding Ukrainian monumentalist artist Anatoliy Haydamaka.

The exhibition complex consists of an upper observation deck and an underground part. From above, fragments of archaeological excavations on the territory of the manor are available for inspection through glass circles, with an illuminated display of samples of weapons found during research.

In the underground part, you can see cleared corridors and rooms with an exposition about the history of the city of Rivne, the palace complex "On the Hill" and the family of the Lubomyrsky princes.

Visitors are offered classic tours, virtual tours using multimedia technologies, as well as an interactive game in the quest room.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 3E (Tarasa Shevchenko Park) Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Христового, Клевань
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Christ Church

Temple , Architecture

The Orthodox Church of the Nativity of Christ is located in the center of Klevan next to the castle.

It was founded in 1777 as a Greek Catholic church. The stone church of the Nativity of Christ was built at the expense of Adam Chartoryysky. It has characteristic forms of classicism, decorated with a hollow pilaster portico of the Tuscan order with a triangular pediment, finished with a semicircular attic. Planning is typical of folk architecture: cross plan, single-headed finish.

In 1844, a stone bell tower was erected next to the Church of the Nativity.

It belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 16 Klevan

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Новомалинський замок, Новомалин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Novomalyn Castle

Castle / fortress

The Novomalyn Castle was built on a hill above the Zbytenka River by Prince Svydryhaylo at the end of the 14th century.

Initially, it was surrounded by a moat with water. It was regular in plan, had five corner pentagonal towers connected by walls with loopholes, a bridge and an entrance gate on the north-eastern side. It was rebuilt in the XV, XVII, XVIII centuries. A major reconstruction was carried out at the beginning of the 19th century by the Sosnovsky magnates.

The palace is located along the south-eastern side of the castle. Its outer wall was defensive, connected to the walls of the castle. The building has vaulted basements in several levels. Nearby was a kitchen decorated with a neo-Gothic arcade.

A neo-Gothic style chapel was built on the basis of one of the defensive towers. Each of its facades is pierced by one narrow arrowed window, and high round towers placed at the five outer corners, drawn with linear rust, resemble Gothic pinnacles. The interior of the chapel was decorated with marble carvings made by the master of the manor himself, sculptor Tomash Oskar Sosnovsky (beginning of the 19th century).

Currently, the western pentagonal two-story tower, the half-ruined southern tower, a small section of the defensive wall between them, the chapel (the northern tower of the castle) and the ruins of the former palace are preserved. The ceilings are destroyed, only three rooms of the first floor have preserved cross vaults.

Map pin icon Pamposhchuka Street Novomalyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей нумізматики, Острог
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Numismatics Museum

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The numismatic collection of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve of Ostroh is located in the former the Shteynberh residential building (19th century) in the city center.

A significant part of the collection consists of coins, paper money and awards of the Russian Empire, including gold coins of Peter I and Catherine II.

A special place in the exhibition is occupied by the history of the development of Ukrainian money of the twentieth century: paper notes of Odesa, Zhytomyr, Kremenets, Ostroh, national money and securities of the Liberation Struggle of 1917-1921.

The main place in the exposition is given to modern awards of Ukraine and awards of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Avenue, 45 Ostroh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Острозький замок, Острог
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ostroh Castle

Castle / fortress , Museum / gallery

The Ostroh Castle on the mountain above the Viliya River is the former residence of the powerful Ostrozky princes, who in the 14th and 17th centuries owned large lands in Volyn.

Prince Danylo - the first precisely known prince from the Ostrozky dynasty - began to build fortifications on the site of an ancient Rus settlement. His descendants expanded and strengthened their capital for two centuries, which flourished at the beginning of the 16th century under Prince Kostyantyn Ostrozky.

The story of the "black princess" Halshka Ostrozka, who after the death of Illya Ostrozky father, inherited all his fortune is connected with the castle. Real tycoon wars broke out over her hand, she was forced to marry twice, but her uncle Vasyl-Kostyantyn managed to preserve the possessions of the Ostrozky family. Subsequently, he became famous as an educator and defender of Orthodoxy.

The oldest building of Ostroh Castle is the Watch Tower or "Brick Tower" (XIV century), in which the exposition of the local history museum was opened as early as 1916. The main exhibit is the famous Ostroh Bible, published in 1681 by the first printer Ivan Fedorov. A collection of unique Volyn "smiling icons" is on display. A model of the medieval Ostroh is presented. Also preserved is the Round (New) tower (XVI century) with a Renaissance crown of dentils, from the foot of which you can see the domes of the monastery in Mezhirich.

The ancient Epiphany Cathedral (year 1453) is located on the territory of the castle, the silhouette of which was the coat of arms of the city. Under the Catholics, the church was partially destroyed, one wall with loopholes was included in the fortification system of the castle. At the end of the 19th century, the cathedral was reconstructed in the pseudo-Byzantine style according to the project of the architect Basilevsky, and the baths received a characteristic gilding. In 1905, the Nadbram bell tower was built. The temple is active, belongs to the UOC MP.

Since 1981, Ostroh Castle, together with the ensemble of other architectural monuments of the city and its surroundings, has been part of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve of Ostroh. In recent years, a number of accessibility programs have been implemented here. In particular, the reserve implemented the project "Inclusive Museum in Ostroh Castle". Now visually impaired visitors have access to tactile pointers and diagrams, 3D models of some exhibits (in particular, a tactile model of the castle of the Princes Ostrozky), an audio guide with tiflocommentary, a guide for the blind, as well as a guide with adapted text for people with hearing impairments. The site of the reserve is adapted for people with disabilities.

Map pin icon Akademichna Street, 5 Ostroh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник князям Острозьким, Острог
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Princes Ostrozki Monument

Monument

A monument to the princes Ostrozki - Reverend Fedir (in a scheme), Kostyantyn Ivanovych (with a sword) and Vasyl-Kostyantyn (with a Bible) - was erected in 2000 in the square in the central square of the city Ostroh.

In the 14th and 17th centuries, Ostroh was the main residence of the powerful Volyn family of the Ostrozki princes. The figures of the three most glorious representatives of the family are immortalized against the background of five arches crowned with a cross.

The author of the monument is Honored Artist of Ukraine Serhiy Chumakov.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Avenue Ostroh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Рівненський пивзавод, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rivne Brewery

Architecture , Winery / brewery

The complex of buildings of the Rivne Brewery was built in 1900 by the "Bergshloss Steam Brewery" Joint Stock Company.

The main shareholder was the Czech entrepreneur Bergshloss, who arrived in Volyn at the end of the 19th century with a wave of immigrants from the Czech Republic. He created his enterprise in Rivne on the basis of artisanal beer that had existed in the city since 1849. A company logo was developed, a specially shaped bottle with an embossed stamp was blown.

In addition to the factory buildings, a metal fence has been preserved, in the lace of which Rivne blacksmiths wove the name of the owner of the enterprise.

In 1939, the plant was nationalized, during Soviet times it produced beer brands "Zhigulovske", "Ukrainian", "Slovianske".

Since 2012, the company has been called LLC "Riven LTD". Recently, the assortment has been expanded: dark, wheat, strong and other varieties are produced, the "Bergshloss" brand has been restored. Rivne beer has a natural bright taste thanks to the fact that no pasteurization or preservatives are used in production.

In the basement of the plant's main building, there is a Kant beer restaurant, which offers craft beer from its own mini-brewery.

In 2020, Riven Brewery became part of the new architectural complex "Maidan Bergshloss" Historical Quarter, styled after ancient buildings in various European styles. Most of the premises of the complex are currently occupied by the Optima Collection Bergshloss Rivne hotel of the "Reikartz" chain, and there is an Italian restaurant. The opening of the Beer and Hop Growing Museum is planned.

Map pin icon Kopernyka Street, 9 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Дитяча залізниця, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rivne Children's Railway

Entertainment / leisure

Rivne Children's Railway is one of the 9 operating children's railways in Ukraine.

The design of the road began in 1948. Its construction was led by road workers PC-7 of the Kovel railway, who were helped on Sundays by the residents of the city. The ceremonial opening of the Small Rivne Railway took place in 1949.

The children's railway line with two dead-end double-track stations runs along the left bank of the Ustya River. The Partyzanska station is located in the very center of the city, near the bridge by which Rivne main street - Soborna - crosses the river. The second station – Ozerna – is on the shore of Lake Basiv Kut. The road management is located at Partyzanska station. There are several artificial structures on the route of the Rivne children's railway - a bridge, a culvert. Stepana Bandery Street crosses the road along the overpass.

P43 rails are laid in the track. The rolling stock of the road in the year of its opening included steam locomotive N.1572 (Kolomensk plant, type 86), two wooden passenger cars of the III class manufactured by the Kolomensk plant, and two cargo platforms. In 1973, the rolling stock of the road was renewed - a diesel locomotive TU3-034 and all-metal Pafawag passenger cars were received. The locomotive was scrapped, the wooden passenger cars were scrapped and disassembled. In 1982, the TU2-137 diesel locomotive was received from the Haivoron Locomotive Repair Plant, and the TU3-034, which had exhausted its resource, together with two Pafawag cars, was handed over to the "Expers" recreation camp for children of railway workers. Nowadays, these carriages are equipped with classrooms. Currently, the rolling stock of the road includes a diesel locomotive TU2-137, 2 Pafawag wagons ("Yuny zhlazhniynik" stock) and 2 cargo platforms.

The Rivne Children's Railway operates from the beginning of May to the end of August, trains run on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 147 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rivne Regional Museum of Local Lore

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The Rivne Regional Museum of Local Lore is located in the building of the former male gymnasium, built in the classicism style in 1839 on the initiative of Prince Frederik Lubomyrskyi.

Mykola Kostomarov, a Ukrainian historian, taught here, and Volodymyr Korolenko, a humanist writer, studied here. During the Second World War, the building served as the Reich Commissariat of Ukraine, next to it was the bunker of General Erik Kokh (preserved).

Since 1975, the premises have been occupied by the Museum of Local Lore, organized in Rivne in 1906. 140 thousand exhibits, including archeological finds, ethnographic exhibition, numismatic collection, objects of the Cossack era, icons. In the square there is an exposition of military equipment.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Drahomanova Street, 19 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Рівненський зоопарк, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rivne Zoo

Zoo

Charming in its provincialism, the Rivne Zoo is located on a relief park area of 4.7 hectares at the entrance to Rivne from the Kyiv side.

Almost 200 species, 700 specimens of animals. Lions and other big cats, bears, monkeys, even-toed animals, and birds are represented. Baghira, a rare black leopard from the Far East, is very popular among visitors. Exotarium works.

It is allowed to feed and hold domestic animals in the "Grandma's Yard" aviary. There is a riding school.

Map pin icon Kyivska Street, 110 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable