Attractions of Chortkiv district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Chortkiv district

Found 123 attractions

Chortkiv district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Chortkiv district

Костел Яна Непомука, Турильче
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Yan Nepomuk Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of Saint Yan Nepomuk in Turylche was built in 1871 at the expense of Count Yan Starzhensky, although the village at that time belonged to the landowners Ivanovsky.

The slender building of the church is made in the Neo-Gothic style. Statues of the apostles Peter and Paul are installed in niches on the facade on the sides of the main entrance, which is why the church is sometimes called Peter and Paul Church.

During the times of Soviet power, an agricultural warehouse was located in the premises of the church.

A carved altar with a crucifix and apostles on the sides has been preserved inside. Currently, the church does not function.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 1 Turylche

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел-усипальниця Сапігів, Більче-Золоте
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sapieha Burial Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic church in Bilche-Zolote was founded in 1839. In its current form, it was rebuilt in 1898 as a burial chapel of the Sapieha family, who owned these lands.

The small building was built in the Neo-Gothic style. The facade depicts the Lithuanian coat of arms of Gediminas' descendants "Pohonya" (rider with a sword) and the family coat of arms of Sapieha "Fox" (arrow with a double crossbar).

Today it is the church of Saint Paraskeva of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.

The church is located on the territory of Bilche-Zolote Park, a monument of garden architecture (1800, 11 hectares, 46 types of trees) on the site of the former manor house that belonged to the Sapiehas.

During the Soviet times, a cultural center was built on the foundations of the Sapieha Palace.

Map pin icon Makhnivka Street Bilche-Zolote

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Семенських-Левицьких, Хоростків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Semensky-Levytsky Manor

Palace / manor , Architecture , Park / garden

The Semensky-Levytsky estate in Khorostkiv consists of two palaces and service buildings located around the perimeter of a circular square.

The old one-story palace was built at the end of the 18th century by Count Yuzef Kalasantiy Levytsky. It is a rather modest building in the style of classicism with six-column porticoes on the front and park facades.

Nearby in the 19th century, Vilhelm Stanislav Semensky-Levytsky built a new two-story neo-baroque palace designed by an Italian architect. Botochchyni. There are service buildings and a horse arena opposite.

After 1939, the estate was nationalized, now the buildings house the Podillya Research Station of the Ternopil Institute of Agricultural Production of the Ukrainian Academy of Agrarian Sciences. For some time, the Old Palace housed the exposition of the Museum of Nature, but now it is privately owned.

In 1972, a large park on the territory of the manor became the basis of the Khorostkiv Arboretum (14 hectares), where plants from many continents are represented: philodendron (tulip tree), paulownia (Adam tree), peony, ginkgo two-bladed (dinosaur tree), dinosaur tree), various species of sycamores and magnolias, cedars, cypresses and other exotic plants.

Map pin icon Muzeyna Street, 8 Khorostkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Скала-Подільський замок
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Skala-Podilska Castle

Castle / fortress

The ruins of the medieval castle in Skala-Podilska are located on a high rock on the right bank of the Zbruch River.

The construction of the castle began in 1331 by princes Koriatovych (Koryatovych), who owned Podillya at that time, on the site of an old wooden fortification. In 1516, the Kamyanets chief Stanislav Lyantskoronsky restored the castle destroyed by the Tatars, supplementing it with powerful walls and bastions. In 1648, it was captured by Cossack troops, then it repeatedly changed hands during the Polish-Turkish wars.

In the first half of the 18th century, the headman of Skala, Adam Tarlo, rebuilt a palace in the baroque style with magnificent decor on the ruins, but only a few years later the building burned down due to a lightning strike. Since then, the castle has not been rebuilt. In Soviet times, the ruins were preserved.

Access is free.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street Skala-Podilska

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Синагога, Гримайлів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Synagogue

Temple , Architecture

The ruins of the synagogue in Hrymailiv are located in the center of the village, a little off the main road.

The defense temple with walls up to 1 meter thick, built in the 17th century, was part of the system of city fortifications of Hrymailiv.

An aron a-kodesh (an ark for scrolls) has been preserved inside, and in some of the windows there are bars with stars of David.

Map pin icon Petra Doroshenko Street, 6 Hrymailiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Тімельмана, Трибухівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Timelman Manor

Palace / manor , Architecture

The mini-palace in Trybukhivtsi was built at the beginning of the 20th century by the Polish landowner Timelman (or Kimelman). The manor was built in the style of romanticism with baroque elements.

In Soviet times, the manor house housed a hospital. Currently, the building is privately owned. The new owner is restoring the mini-palace. The roof is already covered with real red tiles, which were collected nearby and carefully washed.

The palace is surrounded by a large garden.

Map pin icon Lesi Ukrayinky Street Trybukhivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Товстенський краєзнавчий музей, Товсте
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tovste Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The People's Local Lore Museum of the History of the Tovste Village is located in the building of the People's House, built at the beginning of the 20th century by the "Prosvita" society.

The founder of the Ukrainian theater, Sadovskyi, as well as the founder of the Hutsul theater, Khotkevych, performed on the stage of its assembly hall.

In 1990, a local lore museum was opened here.

Map pin icon Ukrayinska Street, 84 Tovste

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Замок Творовських, Підзамочок
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tvorovsky Castle

Castle / fortress

The picturesque ruins of the Tvorovsky Castle adorn the high bank of the Strypa River in Pidzamochok near Buchach.

The inscription above the main entrance tower indicates that the castle was built in 1600 by Voivode Yan Buchachsky-Tvorovskyi. The Renaissance portal of the building is decorated with a coat of arms with crossed arrows, the origin of which is unknown, since it does not correspond to the coat of arms "Abdank" of the Buchachsky family, nor to the coat of arms of the "Pylyava" family of the Potocki family, who owned the castle later (perhaps this is the ancient coat of arms of the Buchachskys or the coat of arms of the illegitimate son of the owner of Buchach ).

The castle protected the approaches to Buchach from the northeast, and also served as a country residence for local feudal lords. It was repeatedly destroyed, in the 18th century it was abolished by the Austrian authorities. Currently in a neglected state.

A fascinating panorama of the Strypa valley opens from the ruins.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street Pidzamochok

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Вежа Володієвського, Новосілка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Volodiyevsky Tower

Castle / fortress

The castle in the village of Novosilka (old name Novosilka-Kostyukova) was built in the 16th century by representatives of the noble family of Kostyuk-Volodiyevsky (it is believed that someone from this family inspired Henryk Senkevych to create the image of Mr. Volodiyevsky).

The castle was quadrangular in plan, with four towers. It was located on top of a hill and was washed by the waters of the Khromava River on three sides. In 1672, the castle was destroyed during the Turkish invasion and has not been restored since then. It remained in ruins until the middle of the 19th century, after which it was dismantled for building materials for the construction of a church and a road.

Currently, only the ruins of one of the towers remain from the castle, which in some literary sources is called the Volodiyevsky Tower.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street Novosilka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Володимира Гнатюка, Велеснів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Volodymyr Hnatyuk Ethnographic Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The Volodymyr Hnatyuk Ethnographic Memorial Museum was founded in the village of Velesniv in 1969 on the initiative and with the participation of the outstanding Ukrainian local historian, ethnographer, literary critic and public figure Ostap Cheremshynsky.

The museum's exposition is located in eight rooms and a foyer, four of which tell about the life and scientific activities of Volodymyr Hnatyuk - a Ukrainian ethnographer, folklorist, linguist, literary critic, art critic, translator and public figure, academician. In particular, it contains photographs of Volodymyr Hnatyuk, maps of Austria-Hungary for 1895-1902, manuscripts, albums, books and separate collections with the scientist's autographs, books and collections of works of many writers and scientists of Ukraine and other European countries published by him, homespun towels, sackcloths created by the academician's father - Mykhaylo Hnatyuk.

The fifth room is dedicated to the memory of Volodymyr Hnatiuk, where unique publications with reports of his death and obituaries are collected.

The sixth room recreates the interior of the living room of Volodymyr Hnatyuk's family. The seventh room recreates his study - here are personal belongings of the scientist and his family members, manuscripts and letters of Hnatiuk, handwritten folklore collections of Osyp Bodyansky, Frantyshek Hlavachek, Serhiy Hrabovsky, Zoryan Dolenga-Khodakovsky, Ivan Franko from the archive of Volodymyr Hnatiuk, memoirs about him by Ivan Krypyakevych, editions of the scientist's works, books from his library, albums.

The eighth room is a fund and exhibition room.

In total, the museum's funds have collected over two thousand exhibits, over five hundred of which are presented in the exposition.

In 1971, a bronze bust of the academician was installed in front of the museum (sculptor Luka Bihanych, architect Volodymyr Blyusyuk).

Map pin icon Nahirenka Street, 16 Velesniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Володислава Федоровича, Вікно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Volodyslav Fedorovych Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Volodyslav Fedorovych was founded in 2007 as the Vikno Village History Museum. Located in the administrative building in the center of the village.

The updated exhibition opened in 2021. It is dedicated to the Ukrainian public and political figure and philanthropist Volodyslav Fedorovych, whose father Ivan Fedorovych was an heir from the village of Vikno in the 19th century. Having inherited the estate in Vikno, Volodyslav Fedorovych collected works of folk art in it, founded a school and carpet production.

In 1873-1874, the Ukrainian painter Kornylo Ustiyanovych lived and worked in the Vikon manor. Ivan Franko came to the estate at Fedorovych's invitation. You can learn more about this in the museum exposition, which is spread over five halls.

The central exhibits of the museum are a part of a carpet and a statuette of a parrot, which the villagers managed to save from a fire in the Fedorovych estate in 1917. Also presented are samples of the pottery school of the village of Tovste and copies of carpets woven in the village of Vikno. Ancient objects of peasant life are exhibited in the ethnographic hall.

The museum offers visitors both traditional tours and audio guides.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 136 Vikno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Водоспад "Дівочі сльози", Нирків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Waterfall "Maiden's Tears" (Hermit's Сave)

Natural object

The complex nature monument of local importance "Pustelnia Tract" with the waterfall "Maiden's Tears" and the grotto "Hermit's Cave" is located 1.5 kilometers south of Chervonohorod. This is one of the objects of the National Nature Park "Dniester Canyon".

A small grotto is carved out of the travertine rock above the Dzhuryn River. Before the Second World War (according to other sources, at the end of the 19th century), a hermit monk lived in the cave, who was engaged in stone carving. A statue of Saint Onuphrius, carved by a hermit, has been partially preserved.

Part of the cave was destroyed by a landslide.

Three statues of the Mother of God are installed above the spring at the approach to the hermit's cave. The waters of the spring flow down from the rock in thin streams of the "Maiden's Tears" waterfall, around which a special microclimate with unusual vegetation has formed. In 2024, the waterfall suffered from a travertine rock collapse.

The ascent to the "Pustelnia Tract" from Dzhurynskyi Waterfall takes about half an hour. Car access is possible from the side of Ustechko village.

Map pin icon Pustelnia tract Nyrkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Ягільницький замок, Ягільниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Yahilnytsia Castle

Castle / fortress

One of the most powerful castles in Podillya was built in Yahilnytsia in 1630 by Crown Hetman Stanislav Lyantskoronskyi.

In 1655, Yahilnytsia Castle withstood the siege of the Cossack troops of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi, and only later as a result of betrayal was captured by the Cossacks of Buturlin.

After the signing of the Buchach Peace Treaty, when Yahilnytsia, along with some other Podillya lands, went to Turkey, the castle housed the garrison of the Turkish Pasha for some time.

By the end of the 18th century, the Yahilnytsia castle lost its strategic importance. The Austrian authorities ordered to fill in the ditches and dismantle part of the fortifications, and the buildings were used as a tobacco and potash factory. The castle kept this purpose until now under the sign of the Yahilnytsia tobacco and fermentation plant. Currently, it belongs to a private company, the plant does not work, access to the territory is closed.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street, 1 Yahilnytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії села Ягільниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Yahilnytsia Village History Museum

Museum / gallery

The People's Museum of the History of the Yahilnytsia Village was created in 1979 on the basis of the materials of the school hall-museum and private collections of teachers. It received the status of "People's Museum" in 1990.

The museum's collections include over 3 thousand exhibits, which are presented in 6 halls. The museum's exposition contains information about the historical, ethnographic, and natural features of the village's development from ancient times to the present day.

Map pin icon Chortkivska Street, 2 Yahilnytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей ім. Якова Гніздовського, Пилипче
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Yakiv Hnizdovsky Ethnographic and Art Museum

Museum / gallery

The Yakiv Hnizdovsky Ethnographic and Art Museum was opened in 1992 in the village of Pylypche, in the homeland of the world-famous American artist of Ukrainian origin Yakiv Hnizdovsky, whose paintings ("Winter Landscape" and "Sunflower") decorated the office of US President John F. Kennedy in the White House.

Yakiv Hnizdovsky worked in various genres of painting and graphics - portrait, landscape, still life, iconography, everyday genre, bookplate, applied graphics. He painted with oil paints and tempera, various solid dyes, engraved on wooden and metal boards, and sometimes engaged in small-scale sculpture. His legacy includes hundreds of paintings, as well as more than 300 engravings (woodcuts, etchings and linocuts).

The museum is located in the premises of the Pylypche comprehensive school. At first, the museum had a small exhibition area, and later it was expanded and became a museum complex that includes: the ethnographic and art museum of Yakiv Hnizdovsky, where the originals of his works and archival materials from his biography are exhibited; the museum of village history; the museum of children's creativity. Currently, the total area of ​​​​the museum is 160 square meters.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 256 Pylypche

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable