Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Lviv region
Found 469 attractions
Lviv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The exhibition of rare models of transport "Retro Garage" has been on display since 2018 in the premises of the Museum of the History of Science and Technology, which is a department of the Lviv Historical Museum.
The exhibition of retro cars is set up in the oldest hangar from the complex of the first tram depot in Lviv, built in 1894 by the Lviv architect Alfred Kamenobrodsky. The rectangular brick structure has a gable roof supported on wooden trusses supported by side walls and wooden posts.
On an area of more than 500 square meters, Andriy Hladun's private collection of bicycles, mopeds, and motorcycles from the first half of the 20th century and a number of examples of the American automobile industry of the 1970s and 1980s from the collection of collector Taras Mayba are presented.
The Chevrolet Caprice Classic 1986 police car attracts the most attention of visitors. In addition, the museum presents the first city taxi of pre-war Lviv Citroen AC4 Berline Lux and a real fiakr (horse taxi). You can familiarize yourself with the samples of the products of the Lviv Motorcycle Plant from the years 1950–1970 from the funds of the Lviv Historical Museum.
Private collections of car models and American license plates are also exhibited at the exhibition.
Dmytra Vitovskoho Street,57A Lviv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The Museum of the History of Ukraine of the Lviv Historical Museum is housed in a four-story building on Rynok Square in Lviv, known as the "Massarivska Kamyanytsia" (Massari House). Built in the XV century in the Gothic style, later rebuilt in the style of the Renaissance.
For some time the house belonged to the family of the Venetian consul Antonio Massari. In the middle of the XIX century there was a delicacy shop Henneman. At the beginning of the XX century the facade was decorated with a triangular pediment, decorated with an allegorical relief by the sculptor Kurchynsky. Late Gothic vaults and windows on the first floor, elements of Renaissance interior decoration have been preserved.
Now in "Massarivska kamyanitsa" there is a historical exposition, which presents more than 2100 monuments of Ukrainian history from ancient times to the early twentieth century: Neolithic instruments and musical instruments, Trypillia ceramics, golden Scythian treasure, ancient Rus crosses, encolpions, medieval Lviv executioner swords, magnate women's and men's clothing, Cossack weapons, astronomical table clock of the XVIII century, collections of old prints and paintings. The portrait of young Roksolana, a girl Nastya Lisovska from Rohatyn, a Turkish prisoner who became the wife of Sultan Suleiman II, is still a secret.
Rynok Square, 24 Lviv
Temple , Architecture
The powerful defensive church of the holy apostles Peter and Paul in Peremyshliany was built in 1645 for the Dominican monastery at the expense of the Potocki magnates who owned the city.
In 1730, the Peter and Paul Church was reconstructed and soon became a parish church. After the Second World War, the temple was closed and resumed its work only in 1997. Restoration has been carried out.
The interior design, designed by Politynskyi, has been preserved.
Chupernosivska Street, 3 Peremyshliany
The Peter and Paul Church in Lviv was built in 1668 as a Catholic church of Saints Peter and Paul.
In 1750, the temple was handed over to the monastic order of the Paulines, who rebuilt the building in the Baroque style and placed their monastery in it. In 1784-1786, the Austrian authorities handed over the shrine to the Greek Catholics. In 1798, the architect Klemens Ksaveriy Fesenher built a vestibule with a tower in the style of classicism.
Since 1989, the Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul belonged to the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church. Since December 15, 2018, it has been under the jurisdiction of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Lychakivska Street, 82A Lviv
Temple
The Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul was built in Zhovkva in 1993 by a young, talented architect, Oles Yarema, who chose the light shade of the sun for the church, decorated it with white arches and large, full-floor windows.
The bell tower, completed in 2007, was the most important addition to the church.
Inside the Peter and Paul Church are the relics of the holy martyrs, which were presented to the city in honor of the opening of the church. Some of them can be seen in holy icons - the relics are placed next to the images, some of them are in a sealed form. Including the relics of Pope Clement, martyrs Parthenius, Stephen and others.
Lvivska Street, 25 Zhovkva
The Garrison Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul (the former Church of Peter and Paul of the Jesuit Order) is one of the largest religious buildings in the city, the first vivid example of mannerism (early baroque) in Lviv.
Construction of the temple began in 1610 by the Jesuit monk Sebastyan Lyankhius, who was the author of the original project. The Italian architect Dzhakomo Briano, взявши maintained the pure style of the Italian Baroque during the completion of the church in 1618-1621, taking as a model the facade of the Il Gesu church in Rome. In 1630, the construction was completed, the Peter and Paul temple was consecrated, but the finishing works continued for another 30 years.
Trinefny temple. The main facade dominates, decorated with pilasters, niches with statues and a strong cornice. Inside - lush baroque decoration. Paintings were made by artists Francysk and Sebastyan Ekshteyn from Brno. In one of the side altars there is a highly artistic wooden crucifix by Yan Pfister.
Next to the church is a three-story building of the former Jesuit college.
In 2011, the church was consecrated as the Garrison Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.
In the underground crypts of the Peter and Paul Church, there is a museum called "Dungeon of the Garrison Holy Apostles Peter and Paul Church", where you can order a tour of the church.
Teatralna Street, 11 Lviv
The Church of the Holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Prince Volodymyr the Great is a visiting card of the modern village of Zubra.
The large five-domed Orthodox church on the hill is clearly visible from the Lviv district road through the village.
The church in the name of the Holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Prince Volodymyr the Great was built by the community of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine in 1991. The interiors are decorated with colored stained-glass windows, mosaics, and wall paintings.
Ivana Franko Street Zubra
The wooden church of the Holy Great Martyr Paraskeva Pyatnytsya in the Drohobych suburb of Zavyzhne is located near two masterpieces of Drohobych wooden architecture - the churches of Saint George and the Exaltation of the Holy Cross.
It was built in 1815 on the site of the ancient Pyatnytsya Church, which existed in 1496. The temple is three-log, one-story. There is a defensive bell tower nearby.
During Soviet times, the church of Saint Paraskeva was closed, now it belongs to the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church.
The authenticity of the wooden architecture hides the modern tin covering.
Mykhayla Kotsyubynskoho Street, 24 Drohobych
The wooden church of the Holy Prophet Illya is located in Monastyr-Lishnianskyi, a village of Lishnia.
Since 1570, there was a monastery here. The current Saint Illya Church was built in 1698 and reconstructed two centuries later.
The Latin-type temple is distinguished by the simplicity of its forms. The iconostasis dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries. The last restoration was carried out in 1992.
A peculiarity of the church's architecture is that the western part, along the perimeter of which there is an emporium on the second floor, does not protrude from the foundation, but is supported by carved columns.
Sadova Street Monastyr-Lishnianskyi
The Church of the Holy Spirit in Hlyniany was built in 1791-1831 in the style of early classicism, but at the beginning of the 20th century it was rebuilt in the neo-baroque style.
Before that, several wooden churches were built in Hlyniany from the 14th century, which often burned during fires. The new stone temple was consecrated in 1840 - these numbers are indicated on the facade. The main shrine was the icon of the Mother of God of Lopatyn, which was taken to Poland at the end of the Second World War.
In Soviet times, the building was used as a warehouse, then as office premises.
In 2000, the restored Church of the Holy Spirit was re-consecrated. It belongs to the Roman Catholic community of the city.
Svyatoho Mykolaya Street, 34 Hlyniany
Temple , Architecture , UNESCO world heritage site
The unique Church of the Sending of the Holy Spirit in Potelych is one of the oldest wooden churches in Ukraine. Included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in the category "Wooden Churches of the Carpathian Region of Ukraine".
The Church of the Holy Spirit was built in Potelych in 1502 by local potters on the site of an even older church of Saints Borys and Hlib. The church is three-log, two-headed, with a canopy on the crowns and brackets. The central log house is covered with a tent top with one fold, the eastern one with an octagonal top with a lantern and a top, the babinets is covered with a pitched roof. The west and south doors are decorated with wrought iron hinges of artistic work. Wrought window bars were made during the renovation in 1736.
The interior features a monumental painting from the 1620s.
Potelych
Temple , Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Holy Trinity Cathedral in Drohobych was built in 1690-1709 in the Baroque style as a Catholic church of the Carmelite monastery.
In 1808, the church passed to the Basilians and was consecrated as the Greek Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity. In 1909, an iconostasis was installed (carving was performed by Lviv master Andriy Sabaray, icons were painted by Modest Sosenko). In the 1930s, the walls were painted by Ivan Bal.
In recent years, the Trinity Cathedral in Drohobych was completely restored. Currently, it is the main church of the Sambir-Drohobych eparchy of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.
On the anniversary of the execution of the participants of the Revolution of Dignity on the Maidan in Kyiv, a memorial sign was installed on the facade of the Holy Trinity Cathedral in honor of the Heroes of the Heavenly Hundred and fallen soldiers of the Russian-Ukrainian war.
The Parish Museum, created in 2014 on the first anniversary of Bishop Yuliyan's death, operates in the basement of the Holy Trinity Cathedral. The museum premises consist of three halls.
In the first hall, antimins consecrated by bishops in various historical periods of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church, as well as liturgical books and items of church use, are on display for inspection. In the second hall, personal belongings and paraphernalia related to the activities of Bishop Yuliyan (Voronovsky) are on display. In the third hall (crypts for burials), bishop vestments and liturgy items used by Bishop Yuliyan are on display.
Truskavetska Street, 2 Drohobych
The Defense Church of the Holy Trinity was built in Olesko in 1481 in the Renaissance style. In 1625-1627, the then owner of Olesko, Ivan Danylovych, added two side chapels to the church, which were later consecrated in honor of the Most Holy Mother of God and Saint John the Theologian.
The church was heavily damaged during a fire in 1806, was rebuilt in 1809, but burned again in 1841 and was rebuilt in 1847. As a result of these events, the interior lost its original Gothic character and received support pillars that divide it into naves. In 1927, the church was once again modified during another restoration.
The main dominant feature of the building is the round defensive bell tower. The epitaph to Ivan Danylovych (1618) has been preserved.
In 1945, the Soviet authorities closed the temple and used it as a warehouse. In 1993, the church was handed over to the community of the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church. Today, is the temple of the Holy Trinity of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 59 Olesko
The Church of the Holy Trinity in Shchyrets was founded in the 16th century. In the first half of the 19th century, it was rebuilt and acquired a modern appearance.
Composed of limestone, single-nave. The western facade is finished with a high pincer, decorated on the sides with decorative vases. Covered with a pitched roof, finished in the center with a signature. The undivided surfaces of the walls are enlivened by sparsely spaced semicircular window and door openings.
In Soviet times, the museum of atheism was located here.
The Trinity Church belongs to the few works of the Galician school of architecture of the 16th century.
The belfry is wooden, square in plan, three-tiered, frame construction, finished with a tent. It rests on a stone fence made of limestone from the south and east.
Petra Adermakha Street, 1 Shchyrets
The Church of the Holy Trinity was founded in Sokolivka (the former town of Senyavka) in 1594 at the expense of the owner of the town, Anna Senyavska. The construction was completed around 1600 by the Belgian castellan Stanislav Vlodek.
The temple had defensive significance. At the beginning of the 16th century, it was surrounded by stone fortifications with corner towers, which were rebuilt in the 17th century.
Until the 19th century, the Trinity Church had 3 altars, its interior was decorated with sculptures and paintings.
The altar part was destroyed during the Second World War, and the building itself began to collapse even today, after the roof collapsed.
Bryhadna Street Sokolivka