Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Lviv region
Found 469 attractions
Lviv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The wooden church of the Cathedral of Holy Virgin is located in Verkhnie Synovydne on the monastery site of the Golden Mountain, where in ancient times there was a monastery of the Most Holy Theotokos, which was visited by Prince Danylo Halytskyi.
After the monastery was destroyed in the 16th century, the monastery was empty for some time. In 1790, the church of Saint George (Yuriy) was founded in the northeastern part of the former monastery (perhaps on the site of the former monastery church).
The current church was built on the site of the fallen predecessor in 1939 according to the project of the architect Yevhen Nahirnyi.
Today it is the church of the Cathedral of the Most Holy Theotokos of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine (the Cathedral of the Mother of God).
Olhy Kobylyanskoyi Street, 7 Verkhnie Synovydne
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Temple , Architecture , UNESCO world heritage site
The wooden church of the Cathedral of the Holy Virgin in Matkiv is located on a low hill in the center of the village and occupies a dominant place in the panorama of the mountain village.
Included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in the category "Wooden Churches of the Carpathian Region of Ukraine".
The church was built by Boyko masters Ivan Melnykovych and Vasyl Ivanykovych, and is characterized by an unusual multi-tiered structure. In plan, the temple consists of three square log cabins: a larger central one and smaller side ones. All log cabins are covered with helmet-shaped partitions with intercepts on pyramidal figures of eight with folds (the central head has five folds, the lateral ones have four folds each).
Nearby is a wooden belfry built in 1924 with a balcony on the second floor.
Both buildings are considered masterpieces of the Boyko school of folk architecture.
Puketsy Street Matkiv
Monument
The chapel in honor of the victory near Khotyn is located at the entrance to the village of Novyi Myliatyn on the route Kyiv - Lviv.
The monument was erected by order of King Yan III Sobesky in honor of the joint victory of the Cossacks led by Petro Sahaydachny and the Polish army near Khotyn in 1621.
The chapel has the form of a three-tier tower-pillar with niches in the form of arches on each tier.
Tsentralna Street Novyi Myliatyn
Architecture
The main building of the Lviv State University of Life Safety was built in 1855-1863 by order of the Austrian Emperor Franz Joseph as a House for the Invalids to care for veterans of the Austrian army.
The three- to four-story building in the neo-Romanesque style with towers and a courtyard was designed by the architect Teofil Edvard Hansen.
In 1939-1941, the NKVD regiment was stationed here. During the Second World War, the building was not damaged, and a military unit was located in it again.
Since 1954, the former House for the Invalids has been home to a fire-technical school - now the University of Life Safety.
Kleparivska Street, 35 Lviv
Palace / manor , Architecture
In Pustomyty, they call the "House with lions" a palace in the style of classicism, located in a park - a monument of garden and park art of the 19th century.
There is no reliable information about the construction of the palace. Presumably, the manor was founded at the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century, when Pustomyty were owned by Yakub Dominskyi. The building is two-story, rectangular with an attic and a baroque roof. The main facade is decorated with a risalite with a pediment. The park facade has a faceted risalite, built on a terrace.
The palace building was rebuilt in the 1920s, after which it lost its light and elegant silhouette. It was then that lions were installed in front of the entrance. The interiors of two octagonal halls on the first and second floors have been preserved.
Currently, the "House with Lions" houses some departments of the Pustomyty administration.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 11 Pustomyty
Natural object
The picturesque and full-water Gurkalo waterfall is a hydrological monument of nature.
It is located on the territory of the National Nature Park "Skolivski Beskydy" at an altitude of 570 meters above sea level, on the slope of Mount Parashka at the mouth of the Velyka Richka River.
It was formed at the place of the breakthrough of Paleogene sandstones. The height is about 5 meters. The Hurkalo waterfall is surrounded by a forest, and there are several meadows nearby for relaxation.
You can get there from the village of Korchyn or from the village of Krushelnytsia, from which a marked path leads to the Hurkalo waterfall. Due to the bad condition of the road, it is very difficult to enter by car.
Korchyn
Natural object , Archaeological site
The Iliv settlement-sanctuary of the 8th–10th centuries is a part of the Historical and Cultural Reserve "Stilsko Settlement".
It is located 5 kilometers to the east of the Stilsko settlement, the ancient capital of the Slavic tribe of White Croats.
The settlement is located on a promontory of the plateau at a height of about 80 meters above the Ilovets River, which washes its foothills partly from the northern and western sides. Traces of two concentric defensive ramparts and ditches are still visible on the high, rocky, forest-covered Tokareva Mountain, which rises above the southern outskirts of the village of Iliv. There is also a rock with three small caves. One of them is a cave-room, hollowed out of the rock by human hands. The entrance to the cave is made in the form of a woman's womb. Perhaps the goddess Mokosha was once worshiped here.
Presumably, the Iliv settlement was the main sanctuary of the White Croats. Later, monks settled in the caves, and during the Second World War, local residents and UPA soldiers hid here.
A very steep path equipped with a wooden handrail leads to the cave complex.
Pechera tract Iliv
The Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Lopatyn was built in 1772 at the expense of Adam Kholonevsky based on one of the projects previously developed by the Lviv architect Bernard Meretyn.
Before that, there was a wooden church in Lopatyn. The new Catholic church - a replica of the Church of the Holy Cross in Berezdivtsi - was built in a magnificent baroque style and decorated with rich frescoes by Stanislav Stroyinskyi. The consecration took place in 1828.
After the Second World War, the shrine was closed, and the icon of the Mother of God of Lopatyn, which was kept in the church, was taken to Poland.
Today, the Church of the Virgin Mary has been returned to the faithful and restored at the expense of the Polish public.
Tsentralna Street, 11A Lopatyn
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin was built in Lviv in 1745 in the late Baroque style.
At one time, it served as the second temple of the Catholic Trinitarian monastery, then it was a parish and Jesuit church.
Today it is the Holy Intercession Cathedral of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 2А Lviv
Museum / gallery
The Ivan Franko Literary and Memorial Museum-Manor was created in the writer's homeland in the village of Nahuievychi.
He was born here in 1856 in the family of a blacksmith, spent his childhood, and then repeatedly returned to his native places. In his works, he vividly described his childhood memories, when he spent time in his father's forge as a child.
The first exhibition was opened in 1946 in the small house of the writer's nephew. Later, on the site of Franko's estate, his parents' house with cozy rooms was recreated according to his descriptions and photographs. In the colorful yard - a stable, a forge, a shed with tools and an apiary.
Opposite is the building of the Literary and Memorial Museum with an exhibition of the first editions of the writer's works, next to which is the sculptural group "Ivan Franko and World Literature".
At the entrance to the village of Nahuievychi, as well as in Franko's garden, carved wooden sculptures symbolizing ideals, literary heroes and close people of the writer have been installed.
Ivana Franka Street, 10 Nahuievychi
Ivan Franko State Pedagogical University of Drohobych was established in 1940.
Its main building was built in 1896 as a gymnasium, which before that was located in a smaller building at the opposite end of the University Park (now the Faculty of Philology of the University is located there).
In 1939, the world-famous writer and artist Bruno Shults, who died during the Second World War in the Drohobych ghetto, taught here. A writer's museum has been opened in Shults's teacher's office, where the first editions of his works are presented.
Ivana Franka Street, 24 Drohobych
Monument , Park / garden , Recreation area
The ecological and educational route "Ivan Franko Trail" on the outskirts of the village of Nahuievychi is an art-memorial complex created in 1981 in the park area at the entrance to the village from the Drohobych side.
Wooden sculptures of characters from the writer's works are placed along the picturesque forest alley. Along the two-kilometer route, you can visit the "Field of Fairy Tales" with wooden sculptures of the heroes of Franko's fairy tales, the Chapel of the Nativity of the Virgin, the Summer Theater, the bridge.
Oaks, firs, ash trees, maples, beeches and spruces are found in the forest. There are places for rest.
Ivana Franko Street Nahuievychi
The memorial homestead museum of the sculptor Ivan Samotos was opened in 2023 in his family home in the village of Ustia in the Lviv Region.
The outstanding Ukrainian sculptor, People's Artist of Ukraine Ivan Samotos was born in Ust in 1933. He graduated from the Lviv Institute of Applied and Decorative Arts - now the Lviv National Academy of Arts, where Samotos headed the Department of Monumental and Decorative Sculpture.
During his lifetime, Samotos created more than 120 monuments and memorial signs, the most famous of which is the monument to Vyacheslav Chornovol in Lviv.
During his lifetime, Samotos dreamed of creating a museum-workshop in his parents' house in Usta. The idea was implemented on the initiative of Ivan Samotos' wife Oksana and his daughter Natalia. The authentic interior has been preserved in the house. The exposition presents the personal belongings of the artist, family photos, as well as some author's works of the sculptor.
Polyana Street, 33 Ustia
Museum / gallery , Architecture
The Ivan Trush Art Memorial Museum in Lviv was opened in 1989, on the occasion of the 120th anniversary of the artist's birth.
It is a two-storey building built in 1910 by order of the artist designed by the famous Ukrainian architect Oleksandr Lushpynsky in the style of the late Art Nouveau. He lived here with his family until the end of his life.
The museum exposition presents the main pages of the painter's life and work, presents him as a prominent Ukrainian impressionist, landscape master, portraitist, author of genre compositions, as well as popularizer of Ukrainian culture, editor and publisher of Ukrainian magazines, active public figure of the early twentieth century.
Portraits of prominent Ukrainian figures, paintings with views of Lviv and Kyiv, landscapes of the Crimea and the Carpathians, Italian and Egyptian landscapes, as well as family photos and memorials are presented.
The Ivan Trush Museum is a branch of the Lviv National Museum named after Andrey Sheptytsky.
Ivana Trusha Street, 28 Lviv
The collegium at the Jesuit monastery was founded in Sambir in 1680.
Hetman Petro Sahaydachniy studied here.
The current Baroque building was built in 1756-1759 by the architect Karshnytskiy.
Later, the Jesuit college was transformed into a gymnasium. Now it is the Sambir College of Culture.
Adama Mitskevycha Street, 1 Sambir