Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Cherkasy region

Attractions of Cherkasy region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Cherkasy region

Found 249 attractions

Cherkasy region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Cherkasy region

Садиба Максимовича, Прохорівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mykhaylo Maksymovych Estate

Park / garden

Park of the Maksymovych Estate, founded in the 18th century on Mykhaylova Hill above the Dnipro.

Since 1845, after he retired, the outstanding Ukrainian scientist, folklorist, the first rector of Saint Volodymyr Kyiv University Mykhaylo Maksymovych lived here for 30 years.

Mykola Hohol visited Maksymovych on several occasions. According to legend, this is where the writer collected material for the story "Viy" (however, the story was written in 1834 - before Maksymovych settled in Prokhorivka). The Hohol pine grows in the park.

Shevchenko also visited Prokhorivka, painting portraits of the owners of the estate. In 1859, the poet was arrested on the way to Mykhaylova Hill, and since then he has not returned to Ukraine. The Shevchenko oak has been preserved, a memorial sign has been installed on the bank of the river, and the creation of a memorial complex is planned.

Now this is the territory of the "Zhovten" sanatorium and the "Prokhorivka" holiday home, the entrance is free.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Maksymovycha Street, 14 Prokhorivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Михайла Старицького, Кліщинці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mykhaylo Starytsky Literary Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The Literary Memorial Museum of Mykhaylo Starytsky was opened in 1980 in his native village of Klishchyntsi.

The prominent Ukrainian writer and theater actor Mykhaylo Starytsky was born here in 1840, and later became one of the founders of the professional Ukrainian theater.

The museum collection includes more than 1,500 exhibits, including photo documents, personal belongings of Mykhaylo Starytsky, furniture of the Starytsky family, etc.

Map pin icon Druzhby Street Klishchyntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Національний історико-культурний заповідник "Чигирин"
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

National Historical and Cultural Reserve "Chyhyryn"

Historic area , Museum / gallery

The National Historical and Cultural Reserve "Chyhyryn" was established in 1989 as the Chyhyryn State Historical and Cultural Reserve. It covers 13 separate areas with a total area of 1,161 hectares in the city of Chyhyryn, the villages of Subotiv, Stetsivka, Medvedivka, the Kholodnyi Yar tracts and the Atamanskyi Park. The most popular route for tourist trips is the one that runs from Chyhyryn through Subotiv to Kholodnyi Yar.

In Chyhyryn, tourists get acquainted with the history of the Ukrainian Cossack state and its capital in the Bohdan Khmelnytsky Museum, visit the recreated church of the Holy First Apostles Peter and Paul and its authentic remains of the Middle Ages, visit the recreated complex of buildings of the Hetman's residence and climb Castle Hill to the remains of the Chyhyryn Castle and the majestic monument to Bohdan Khmelnytsky.

When entering Subotiv from the Chyhyryn side, the majestic Church of St. Elijah appears, built in the 17th century by order and at the expense of Bohdan Khmelnytsky as a family tomb. Nearby, on the castle site, you can see the stone foundations of a defensive tower and authentic 19th-century village estates, and at the other end of the village, there are three wells also associated with the name of Khmelnytsky.

A tour of Kholodnyi Yar is worth starting with the local lore museum in the village of Medvedivka. Nearby is a 19th-century architectural monument - the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and a monument to Maksym Zalizniak. The further route through Kholodnyi Yar includes the Motronynsky Monastery, monuments of the Kholodnyi Yar Republic, the 1000-year-old oak of Maksym Zalizniak, etc.

The National Historical and Cultural Reserve "Chyhyryn" includes:
- Castle (Bohdanova) Hill;
- Residence of Bohdan Khmelnytsky;
- Bohdan Khmelnytsky Museum;
- Archaeological Museum;
- Subotiv Historical Museum;
- Saint Elijah Church;
- Three Wells;
- Stetsivka Ethnographic Museum;
- Branch "Kholodnyi Yar".

Map pin icon Hrushevskoho Street, 26 Chyhyryn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Заповідник "Батьківщина Тараса Шевченка", Шевченкове
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

National Reserve "Taras Shevchenko Homeland"

Museum / gallery

National Reserve "Taras Shevchenko Homeland" unites three ancient villages in which the childhood years of the future poet and artist were spent – ​​Moryntsi, where he was born, Shevchenkove, where he grew up and studied, and Budyshche, where he began his creative work. In total, there are 40 objects and monuments of the cultural heritage of Ukraine on the territory of the reserve.

The reserve was created in 1992 on the basis of the Taras Shevchenko Literary and Memorial Museum in Shevchenkove - the former Kerelivka. It was here that the estate of Taras's parents - Hryhoriy and Kateryna Shevchenko - was located, in which he spent his childhood, and which he repeatedly described in his works. The parental home was restored according to Shevchenko's drawings, the grave of his mother has been preserved in the garden, and a bronze sculpture of 13-year-old Taras has been installed. The original Deacon House, where little Taras learned to read and write, is of significant historical value.

In Moryntsy, the Taras Shevchenko Manor-Museum was created to mark the 175th anniversary of the poet's birth. The Moryntsy museum complex includes two reconstructed peasant huts: the hut of Yakym Boiko - Taras's maternal grandfather, and the neighboring hut Kopiya, in which the Shevchenko family lived for a year and a half. The estate has a monument to the poet's mother, Kateryna, with a little boy in her arms, and in the center of the village there is a sculpture of a kobzar with a bandura. Another landmark is the Chumak's House, which has been preserved since the 19th century and has been transformed into an ethnographic museum.

In the village of Budyshche, the summer house of the landowner Pavlo Enhelhardt, who owned the surrounding lands in the first half of the 19th century, has been preserved. Young Taras Shevchenko spent one summer in this estate as a kozachok (a boy on errands). Three old oak trees still stand in the park, in the hollow of one of which Taras hid his drawings. An old wooden windmill at the entrance to the village has also been preserved from Shevchenko's time. And at the crossroads between Moryntsy, Shevchenkov and Budyshche there is a sculpture "I was thirteen" - a young Taras with a lamb.

Map pin icon Bondarivska Street, 33 Shevchenkove

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Черкаси
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin Mary in Cherkasy was built in 1905. In the period from 1910 to 1924, the courtyard of the Zhabotyn Saint Onufriy Monastery was located at the place of her arrival.

In Soviet times, it was the only active church in the city. In 2002, the monastery was restored as the Cherkasy Men's Monastery of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Blahovisna Street, 374 Cherkasy

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Нечаївка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Nechaivka was built in the second half of the 18th century.

The ornate white temple with green carved borders looks like a new building from afar, as it was recently reconstructed at the expense of the village community.

Map pin icon Brativ Skubiv Street Nechaivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Ребедайлівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin Mary in Rebedaylivka is a Cossack-style church typical of the Dnipro region.

The church was built in 1796 on a steep hill in the center of the village. In 1813, a church and parish school was opened with it.

The characteristic wooden Cossack temple fits well into the surrounding rural landscape.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street Rebedailivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Журжинці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The large and magnificent three-seated Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Zhurzhyntsi was built in 1832 at the expense of the court adviser Vasyl Protopopov, who owned large land plots here, and his palace and park were located in the village itself.

During Soviet times, the palace was destroyed, and the temple was turned into a warehouse, which saved it.

In the 1990s, the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin was returned to the parishioners, and in the 2000s, its restoration was carried out.

The temple is made in the style of classicism, the bell tower is crowned with a high spire.

Map pin icon Myru Street Zhurzhyntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Куцівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Kutsivka was built in the style of late classicism by the architect Mezensky in 1846 at the expense of the then owner of Kutsivka, Major General Orlov.

The temple was built without cement, with forged nails and hewn clapboards.

Until the middle of the 20th century, the church was in operation, then it was closed and an attempt was made to destroy it, but even the cross on the bell tower did not give in - it could only be bent.

The future writer Todos Osmachka, who was born in Kutsivka in 1895, was baptized in the Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin.

Map pin icon Todosya Osmachky Street Kutsivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Виграїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple

The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin Mary in Vyhraiv was restored in 2008 on the site of the original church. The wooden church at this place was built back in 1723. In 1855, it was rebuilt according to a new plan and expanded.

Destroyed by the Bolsheviks. Restored according to the old plans.

The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Vyhraiv belongs to the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelʹnytskoho Street Vyhraiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Вербівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The crippled and half-dead, unpresentable in appearance, but at the same time beautiful wooden church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin is located in the center of Verbivka near Kamyanka.

Built in 1768, the church is famous for the fact that in 1860 Lev Davydov, the son of the Decembrist Vasyl Davydov, was married in it to Oleksandra Chaykovska, the sister of the composer Petro Chaykovskyi.

The church was rebuilt twice: in 1794 and 1857. The last time - at the expense of Colonel Olena Staal, who donated funds for the construction of the temple due to a personal tragedy - the death of her 17-year-old daughter. This circumstance led to an architectural feature - the presence of a second side altar, under which the girl was buried.

Since 1935, the church was closed by the Soviet authorities, in 1946 the bell tower was removed. Only in 1973, the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Verbivka was registered as an architectural monument.

Currently, the church is in a deplorable state and needs urgent restoration.

Map pin icon Verbivska Street Verbivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Халаїдове
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Virgin was built in the village of Khalaidove in 1913 on the site of an old wooden church founded in 1745.

The current majestic five-domed stone church is made in the eparchial style.

Map pin icon Travneva Street Khalaidove

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Одинцівський млин, Івківці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Odyntsivsky Windmill

Architecture

The windmill in Ivkivtsi was built in 1906 by a resident of the village, Oksentiy Odynets. The Odyntsivsky mill operated until the early 1970s.

The windmill was restored in 2008 by the efforts of the public.

Map pin icon Maksyma Zaliznyaka Street Ivkivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Старий німецький міст, Мельниківка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Old German Bridge

Architecture

The old bridge in the Nadezhdivka tract near Melnykivka and Rotmistrivka, according to some sources, was built by the Germans during the Second World War.

There is also an assumption that these are the remains of an old manor house.

Map pin icon Nadezhdivka tract Melnykivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Олександра Абази, Шпола
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Oleksandr Abaza Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

A two-story palace in the style of classicism was built in the middle of the 19th century on the outskirts of Shpola, which is called Verkhnya Dariivka, by the famous financier and statesman Oleksandr Abaza, who bought the Shpola estate from Count Orlov.

The main facade with white columns looks very simple and austere, but on the garden side there is an open terrace with a cast-iron colonnade with ornaments on plant motifs and monograms with the letter "A".

An outhouse from the beginning of the 20th century with wooden carvings has also been preserved.

In a small park with an artificial pond, local species of trees are presented, as well as several exotic ones: pyramidal oak, ironwood and others.

In the 19th century, the estate passed as a dowry to the daughter of Oleksandr Abaza Pelaheya, who married the diplomat Lev Urusov. In 1917, the Urusovs were forced to leave the estate and emigrate abroad, and a shelter for orphans and children of the repressed was placed in the palace. Now it is a specialized boarding school.

Map pin icon Dobrodiyna Street, 1 Shpola

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable