Attractions of Rivne district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Rivne district

Found 63 attractions

Rivne district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Rivne district

Острозька академія, Острог
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

History of Ostroh Academy Museum

Architecture , Museum / gallery

Ostroh Slavic-Greek-Latin Academy is the first higher educational institution in Ukraine and Eastern Europe.

It was founded in 1576 by Prince Vasyl-Kostyantyn Ostrozky and Princess Halshka Ostrozka (a memorial sign has been erected in Shevchenko Park next to the castle where the academy was originally located). The first printer Ivan Fedorov opened a printing house there in 1580, where the first "Bukvar" and the famous "Ostroh Bible" were published.

The first rector of the academy was Herasym Smotrytsky. Among the graduates are Hetman Petro Sahaydachny, the Nalyvayko brothers and others.

In 1624, after the founding of the Jesuit College in Ostroh, funding for the academy ceased, and in 1636 it was disbanded. Revived in 1994 as a state university. Today it occupies the premises of the former Capuchin monastery with the Trinity Church (1778, architects Paolo Fontana).

There is a museum of history of the National University "Ostroh Academy", excursions to the dungeon of the monastery, where crypts with burials of monks were found.

Map pin icon Seminarska Street, 2 Ostroh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Успенська церква, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Assumption Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Church of the Assumption is the oldest building in Rivne. The temple in the Tyutkivskyi suburb of the city was built in 1756 at the expense of the parishioners. The church is single-domed, the iconostasis was completed in 1784.

According to legend, Ivan Honta, the leader of the Haidamac movement, prayed in the Assumption Church before the battle with the Polish nobility.

The belfry and the "chain of moral foundations" to which ungodly parishioners were chained in the 18th century for public atonement have been preserved.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenka Street, 113 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Обарів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Holy Intercession Church in Obariv was built in 1781. A bell tower was built nearby at the same time.

The walls of the temple and the bell tower were originally lined with vertical boards. Currently, the temple is lined with clapboard, a brick extension was made to it, as a result of which the architectural monument has lost its authentic appearance.

It belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Druzhby Street, 3 Obariv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Воскресенський собор, Рівне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Resurrection Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The most notable architectural landmark of the city. The Holy Resurrection Cathedral was built in the 19th century on the donation of Emperor Oleksandr III on the site of the church that burned down in 1881.

During the Soviet rule, the museum of atheism was located here. With the beginning of democratic transformations, the religious building was returned to the Orthodox community of the city. Currently, the Holy Resurrection Cathedral belongs to the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 39 Rivne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Домініканський костел, Невірків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Dominican Church

Temple , Architecture

The Dominican monastery in Nevirkiv was founded in 1698. There was a wooden temple with it.

In 1807, Yan Kazimezh Stetskyi from nearby Velyki Mezhyrichi built a majestic stone church in the style of classicism (there is an inscription above the entrance to confirm this).

In 1832, after the dissolution of the Dominican monastery, the Church of the Holy Trinity became a parish church.

Now - in a pitiful state.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 22 Nevirkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Корецький Троїцький монастир, Корець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Monastery

Temple , Architecture

For centuries, the Holy Trinity Convent in Korets was considered a spiritual fortress of Orthodoxy in Volyn.

According to legend, it was founded in 1064 by Varlaam, the first abbot of the Kyiv-Pechersk monastery. Twice ruined by nomads. In 1571, the monastery was revived by Prince Bohdan Koretsky as Resurrection Church. In 1620, the construction of a large monastery complex began on a new site, but Prince Samuyil Koretsky, who converted to Catholicism, gave the new church and cell buildings to the Franciscan nuns. In the 19th century, the Catholics were expelled, and the church was rebuilt into the Trinity Cathedral in the Byzantine style. At the beginning of the 20th century, the warm John the Forerunner church and the belfry over the gate appeared.

During the Soviet rule, the monastery remained the only active nunnery in Ukraine.

The main shrine is the miraculous Korets icon of the Mother of God "Handcuffs of Sinners". On the territory is the grave of Anna Andro de Langeron, born Olenina, to whom Pushkin offered his hand and heart, dedicating to her the poem "I loved you..." after her refusal.

In the garden - an original beehive in the form of a monastery.

A special permit is required for photography on the territory.

Canonically, it reports directly to the Moscow Patriarch Kirill and is not part of the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate - the owner of the monastery is the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church.

Map pin icon Kyivska Street, 56 Korets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Троїцький монастир, Межиріч
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Monastery-Fortress

Temple , Architecture

The outstanding architectural ensemble of the defensive Holy Trinity Monastery in Mezhyrich has been decorating the cape formed by the confluence of the Viliya and Svitenka rivers for six centuries.

This monument of the Volyn school of architecture combines the traditions of ancient Rus constructive techniques with elements of Gothic-Renaissance architecture of the XV-XVII centuries.

According to legend, the Orthodox monastery at this place was founded by Kyiv-Pechersk monks during the Mongol-Tatar invasion. In the 15th century, Prince Kostyantyn Ostrozky began the construction of a wooden castle with the Trinity Church in the center of the courtyard, which became the basis of a fortified monastery. His descendants soon built a stone temple in ancient Rus forms.

At the beginning of the 17th century, the monastery came under the control of the Catholic order of Franciscans, who added Gothic and Renaissance decor to the temple, added two two-story cell buildings with paired round towers at the corners, and also surrounded the complex with stone fortress walls with crenellated defensive towers in the Renaissance style. All this gave the monastery the appearance of an elegant medieval castle.

In the middle of the 19th century, the complex was destroyed by fire, it remained abandoned for a long time.

Now the monastery has been handed over to the Orthodox Church of the Moscow Patriarchate. The Mezhyrich icon of the Mother of God "Zhyttiepodavnytsia" (XVI century) crowned by Catholics is kept here - the ancestral icon of the princes of Ostroh, as well as the miraculous icon of Anthony the Great.

Map pin icon Naberezhna Street Mezhyrich

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Городоцький Миколаївський монастир, Городок
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Horodok Saint Nicholas Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Saint Nicholas Horodok Convent was founded in the 16th century, when Princess Anastasiya Vilshanska donated her Horodok estate with a castle on an island in the middle of the Ustya River to the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra.

During the time of Ruina, when Ukraine was divided between Poland and Russia, the monastery passed to the Greek Catholics and became the residence of bishops. In 1740, the bishop of Kamyanets, Atanasiy Sheptytskyi, built a stone church of Saint Nicholas of Myrlikiya on the island. The stone body of the cells, which adjoins the church from the south, is dated to the same period.

After the annexation of Volhynia to the Russian Empire, the new owner of the estate, Count Esterhazi, rebuilt the cell block into a manor palace in the style of classicism and planted a park on the island. At the end of the 19th century, Baron Feodor fon Shteynhel built three new buildings to the northeast of the church and placed the first local history museum in Volyn in one of them.

During World War II, the palace housed a military hospital, then a regional tuberculosis sanatorium. In 1991, the complex of cells was transferred to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate, which revived the Saint Nicholas Horodok Women's Monastery. At the same time, the Church of Saint Nicholas belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Monastyrska Street, 1 Horodok

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Гощанський Покровський монастир, Гоща
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Hoshchansky Intercession Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Hoshchansky Orthodox Monastery was founded in 1639 at the Saint Michael's Church, which, according to the protective plaque, was built in Hoshcha in 1632.

The founder of the monastery was Rehina Solomyretska-Hoyska, who inherited Hoshcha from her brother Roman Hoysky. Soon, a relative of Metropolitan Petro Mohyla of Solomyretska transferred here from Vinnytsia a branch of the Kyiv-Mohylyanska Orthodox School, whose rector was Innokenty Hisel. The monastery and the school were helped in every possible way by the champion of Orthodoxy, the Ukrainian nobleman Adam Kysil, who owned the Hoshcha house since 1642. Soon, the Michael Church and the monastery passed to the Greek Catholics, but in 1833 they were finally returned to the Orthodox.

Each time the temple was rebuilt, but did not lose its distinctive features. In particular, the window openings have preserved their original slightly arrowed contours - echoes of Gothic architecture. The building acquired its modern appearance as a result of reconstruction in 1888. The warm Saint Nicholas Church was built next to it with a cell building attached to it.

During the Soviet rule, the premises were used for economic purposes. At present, the restored churches are part of the complex of the Saint-Intercession Hoshchansky women's monastery.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 3 Hoshcha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Губківський замок, Губків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Hubkiv Castle

Castle / fortress

The romantic ruins of the Hubkiv Castle adorn the picturesque rocky shore of the Sluch River.

The castle was built in the 15th century. It was first mentioned in 1505, when it was destroyed by the Tatars. In the 16th century, the Semashko princes restored the castle, turning it into one of the most powerful fortifications in Volyn. The fortification system consisted of four corner towers, united by walls with loopholes, an entrance gate and a drawbridge. Residential and commercial buildings were located in the castle yard.

In 1596, during Severyn Nalyvayko's rebellion, the Hubkiv Castle was captured by the Cossacks under the command of Hryhoriy Loboda (a memorial sign was erected), but was soon restored by the Poles.

Two episodes of the Northern War, when the fortifications were destroyed first by Russian (1704) and then by Swedish troops (1708), were fatal for the stronghold. Since that time, Hubkiv Castle has not been restored.

Small sections of dilapidated walls of one tower and the former palace, the castle well, have been preserved. Access is free.

Map pin icon Zamkova hora tract Hubkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Хотинські печери, Хотин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Khotyn Caves

Natural object

Khotyn Caves near Rivne are a natural monument of local importance (since 1979).

They are located on the slope of the second floodplain terrace of the Horyn River near the village of Khotyn.

The caves interested researchers as early as the 19th century, when drawings were discovered on the walls, possibly dating back to pre-Christian times. Probably, the Khotyn Caves were a refuge for local residents during enemy attacks.

According to legend, an underground passage leads to Rivne.

Map pin icon Khotyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Клеванський замок, Клевань
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Klevan Castle

Castle / fortress

The well-preserved, well-fortified Klevan Castle was founded in 1475 by Prince Mykhaylo Chartoriysky on the site of an ancient Rus settlement above the Stubla River.

The castle is surrounded by powerful walls (thickness of 3.8 meters) and a defensive moat, over which a four-arch bridge is thrown. The construction was supervised by the Lviv fortification engineer Ivan Lys, the architect of the Lviv City Arsenal. Two corner towers were also preserved from the original building. In the 17th and 18th centuries, a college of Jesuits was located here. After the reconstruction carried out in 1817 by Kostyantyn Chartoryysky, a Polish gymnasium was opened in the new buildings, then a theological school.

During the Soviet rule, the Klevan Castle housed a boarding school, a mechanization school, and a NKVD post at various times, then it was converted into a treatment and labor ward for alcoholics.

Currently, the buildings are derelict, and projects for reconstruction and development of tourist infrastructure are being discussed. Klevan Castle is cared for by volunteers from the sports and patriotic organization "Shyt".

Map pin icon Zamkova Street Klevan

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Корецький замок, Корець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Korets Castle

Castle / fortress

The ruins of Korets Castle with a distinctive tower over the gate of red brick are the hallmark of the city.

The first wooden fortification was built in the 15th century above the Korchyk river by Prince Ostrozky. Later, the castle passed into the possession of Volyn Voivode Bohdan Koretskyi, who strengthened it with stone walls with towers and bastions, surrounded by an earthen rampart and a moat filled with water from the river.

In the 18th century, the fortress buildings became the basis for the construction of the palace complex of the Chartoryskyi princes. In 1832, the palace burned down and has not been rebuilt since then.

The three-level gate tower, the adjacent ruins of the outer walls of the palace buildings, and the three-pylon four-arch bridge (reconstructed in recent years) have been preserved.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street Korets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історичний музей, Корець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Korets Historical Museum

Museum / gallery

The Korets Historical Museum was opened in the former Horchynski Palace (18th century) to mark the 850th anniversary of the first chronicle of the city.

The exposition is located in five halls: the history of the city of Korets, World War II, ethnography and two exhibitions. More than 6,000 exhibits reflect the history, culture and life of the region.

In front of the entrance to the Korets Historical Museum there is a monument to Taras Shevchenko, according to the legend, remade from the monument to Lenin.

Map pin icon Kyivska Street, 43A Korets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Костопіль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kostopil Museum of Local Lore

Museum / gallery

Kostopil Museum of Local Lore is located in a small one-story house in the center of Kostopil.

There are 10 exhibitions about the nature, history and ethnography of the region. In the exposition "Nature of the native land" the most interesting dioramas are "River and meadow" and "Forest".

In the ethnographic corner the interior of the Polissya house was reconstructed, the full process of fabric making was presented.

The archeological collection includes tools of prehistoric times, fragments of pottery, bronze products.

The history of the region is told by the exhibition "Kostopil region from the IX century to 1921".

Stands "Kostopilshchyna Today" is actually an advertising exhibition of products of local enterprises.

A large collection of military equipment from the Second World War, open to the 40th anniversary of the victory, is on display on the site in front of the museum. Among the 17 exhibits are an IS-3 tank, a BM-13 Katyusha jet mortar, ISU-122 and ISU-152 self-propelled artillery units, a 203-mm B-4 howitzer, an automatic anti-aircraft gun, and more.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 16 Kostopil

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable