Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Poltava region
Attractions of Poltava district
Found 71 attractions
Poltava district
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Monument
The monument to the writer Mykola Hohol in Poltava was erected in 1934, although it was created before the revolution.
In 1913, the city public of Poltava began to collect funds for a monument to their outstanding compatriot, and 2 years later, the sculptor Leonid Posen handed over the sculpture made by him to the city. The sculptor depicted Hohol sitting in thought with a book in his hand.
The monument was planned to be erected on the square in front of the drama theater, but the First World War stood in the way of these plans. Under the Bolsheviks, they initially did not want to erect a monument for ideological reasons, since Hohol came from a noble family. Only in 1934, the monument took its current place on the boulevard part of Mykoly Hoholya Street.
Mykoly Hoholya Street Poltava
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Museum / gallery
The Nadiya Bokoch Towel Museum in the village of Stepne bears the name of its founder. Local collector Nadiya Bokoch began collecting antique towels in the early 2000s. Her private collection became the basis of the museum, which opened in 2009 on the second floor of the local cultural center.
Currently, the exhibition features over 600 exhibits, most of which are embroidered towels collected from all districts of Poltava region, as well as from Kharkiv, Sumy, Chernihiv, Vinnytsia, Transcarpathia and other regions of Ukraine. All of them are hand-embroidered in different techniques and have patterns characteristic of their regions. Embroidered paintings, rural clothing and household items are also presented.
One of the exhibits is the "Peoples Friendship Towel", which Nadiya Bokoch embroidered herself, collecting in it samples of embroidery techniques from different parts of Ukraine at the same time.
Tsentralna Street, 17 Stepne
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Novi Sanzhary Local Lore Museum was founded in 1967 on the initiative of a local school teacher, Ivan Pylypenko. In 2016, an updated exhibition opened in the premises of the old Novi Sanzhary school, which was built in 1905.
Historical materials from the life of the village and the district were presented in the exhibitions "Nature", "Ethnography", "History", "World War II", "Art", "Culture".
Currently, the museum is closed.
Tsentralna Street, 54 Novi Sanzhary
The memorial museum-house of the world-famous potter Oleksandra Selyuchenko in Opishnia tells about the life and creative path of the honored master of folk art of Ukraine, one of the most outstanding masters of traditional clay zoo- and anthropomorphic sculpture of small forms.
She was born in 1921 in a family of simple potters and lived all her life in Opishnia, only once leaving her native village for a while. Oleksandra Selyuchenko is considered an unsurpassed master of traditional Ukrainian clay toys.
In the museum, you can familiarize yourself with her works and the technology of making clay products at home.
An old potter's kiln used by a ceramist has been preserved in the courtyard of the manor.
Oleksandra Hubarya Street, 29 Opishnia
The Oles Honchar Literary and Memorial Museum-Estate in the village of Sukhe is located in a small peasant hut built in 1892 by the writer's grandfather, Havrylo Honchar. Here, little Oles lived and was raised from the age of three, after the death of his mother.
The exhibition in two rooms of the village house tells about the life and work of Oles Honchar. The central place is occupied by a desk that recreates the writer's work corner in his Kyiv apartment. The writer's personal belongings, his handwritten notebooks, letters and books preserved by his relatives are presented. Different stages of Honchar's life are illustrated by photos from the family album.
During the tour, visitors have the opportunity to hear the voice of Oles Honchar thanks to recordings from his family's audio library.
Olesya Honchara Street, 7 Sukhe
Architecture
The Opishnia hydroelectric power station on the Vorskla River was built in 1958 in the village of Miski Mlyny, Opishnia settlement.
Operating hydroelectric power plant with a capacity of 225 kilowatts.
A good place for fishing and recreation.
Levadna Street Miski Mlyny
Palace / manor
The Poltava Literary and Memorial Museum of Panas Myrny is located on the outskirts of Poltava, at the end of the former Tretya Kobyshchanska Street.
It was here in 1903 that the writer bought a small one-story house, where he lived for the last 17 years of his life. He was visited by Lesya Ukrayinka and Olena Pchilka, Mykhaylo Kotsyubynsky and Vasyl Stefanyk, Mariya Zankovetska and Mykola Lysenko.
In 1940, a museum was opened in the estate. More than 150 manuscripts of Panas Myrny and his brother Ivan Bilyk, about 1,000 personal belongings of the writer's family, books, documents and photographs are collected in seven rooms. The writer's son Mykhaylo Rudchenko managed the museum for over 20 years.
In 1951, a monument to Panas Myrny was erected in the yard of the manor - a bronze bust of the writer on a labradorite pedestal.
In 1989, a literary exposition was opened in the new premises.
Panasa Myrnoho Street, 56 Poltava
The Peoples Museum "Musical Poltava Region" at the Poltava Professional College of Arts is named after its founder - Ukrainian conductor, teacher, composer and folklorist Mykhaylo Fisun, who began forming the collection of the future museum in the early 1970s.
Currently, the exhibition is presented in three thematic halls: "History of the Poltava Music College named after Mykola Lysenko", "The Founder of Ukrainian Classical Music Mykola Lysenko and His Followers", "Musical Poltava Region".
Among the exhibits: photographs, documents, letters, printed and handwritten works of composers, souvenirs, ceramics, sculpture, minting, records. In particular, a collection of ritual songs with the personal seal of Mykola Lysenko, a collection of folk songs with the autograph of the Ukrainian writer Marko Vovchok, the score of the cantata "In Eternal Memory of Ivan Kotlyarevsky" with the autograph of Mykola Lysenko, etc.
Also in the museum you can learn about the life and fate of the most famous kobzars and lyrists of the Poltava region.
Sobornosti Street, 11 Poltava
The Poltava Art Museum is located in the new building of the Art Gallery (built in 1999; architect Yuriy Oliynyk).
The first art gallery in Poltava was started in 1919 by the Ukrainian archaeologist-scientist Mykhaylo Rudynskyi based on the collection of the itinerant artist Mykola Yaroshenko, which was presented to him. Among the 100 paintings were the works of Ivan Shishkin, Vasyl Polenov, Volodymyr Makovsky, Illya Repin, Vasyl Maksimov and others. The collection included artistic values from the nationalized estates of the Kochubeys (Dykanka), the Galagans (Sokyryntsi), the Kapnists (Obuhivka), and the Repnins (Yahotyn).
The collection of Western European paintings includes unique works by Giovanni Tiepolo, Peter Paul Rubens, Melchior de Hondecuter, Adrian van Ostade, Elizabeth Viget-Lebrun, Carl Peters and others.
For a long time, the Poltava Art Museum was located in the former mansion of the landowner Bolyubash (1912), but due to the state of emergency of the premises in 2000, it was forced to move to the current location.
Yevropeyska Street, 5 Poltava
Museum / gallery , Architecture
Poltava Museum of Local Lore after Vasyl Krychevsky is located in the former building of the present places of the provincial zemstvo.
The building of the provincial zemstvo was built by the architect Vasyl Krychevsky in the Art Nouveau style with elements of the Ukrainian folk style (this fact caused dissatisfaction of Emperor Mykola II). The interior painting was made by prominent artists Serhiy Vasylkivsky and Mykola Samokysh. The facade is decorated with coats of arms of county towns of the province.
The foundation of the exposition of the local history museum in Poltava was laid in 1891 by the scientist Viktor Dokuchayev. Today there are more than 300,000 exhibits in 40 museum halls and vaults. Among the rarities - the ancient Egyptian collection, works of ancient and oriental art, Cossack relics.
The Poltava Local Lore Museum after Vasyl Krychevsky is temporarily closed for restoration.
Konstytutsiyi Street, 2 Poltava
Memorial Manor Museum of potter's family Poshyvaylo is dedicated to representatives of one of the oldest pottery dynasties of Opishnia.
A collection of pottery by masters of the Poshyvaylo dynasty and works of other types of folk art are presented.
During the tour, guests are introduced to the history of the creation of the manor museum, the interiors of the house, and family photos.
Yavdokhy ta Havryla Poshyvayliv Street, 63 Opishnia
The Reshetylivka City Council Local Lore Museum is located in the premises of the Culture and Leisure Center of the urban-type settlement of Reshetylivka. It was opened in 1965 at the initiative of the local community.
The exposition is spread over three rooms and has over 3,500 exhibits. The historical sections of the museum tell about the founding and development of Reshetylivka in ancient times, about the period of social upheavals of the early 20th century, about Soviet rule and the events of World War II, etc.
The pride of the museum is the department of weaving and carpet weaving, where you can get acquainted with the origins and development of folk art of Reshetylivka region in the conditions of subsistence farming, the activities of the Poltava provincial zemstvo regarding the revival of handicrafts at the beginning of the 20th century, the work of local art and industrial artels, a factory of art crafts and a school of craftsmen.
The best examples of Reshetylivka carpets, embroidery, embroidered towels made by local craftsmen are presented. Among the unique exhibits: carpets "Centauri and birds", "Peacocks" (Leonid Tovstukha), carpets "Tree of Life", "Autumn", "Red Viburnum", towels "Berehynia", "Tree of Life" (Nadia Babenko), shirts made by Olena Vasylenko and much more.
Pokrovska Street, 19 Reshetylivka
Temple , Architecture
Since 1962, the modest Saint Macarius Church has been the cathedral of the Poltava Diocese.
The small parish Macarius church was built on the outskirts of the city at the beginning of the 20th century. According to the prophecy of the foolish Kuzma Ivashyn from Horbanivka, who lived in the 20s of the last century, this church was supposed to withstand the calamity and later become a cathedral, since almost all other churches of the city would be destroyed. And so it happened - a wave of temple destruction in Soviet times bypassed the Macarius Church. And after the Transfiguration Cathedral was demolished in 1962, it really acquired the status of a cathedral.
Several restorations did not change its original appearance. Paintings from the beginning of the 20th century have been preserved in the interior, in the northern part of the church there is the largest shrine of the cathedral - the Horbaniv miracle-working icon of the Holy Mother of God (1786), in the Illinsky aisle - the revered Kapluniv miracle-working icon.
Lyali Ubiyvovk Street, 2 Poltava
The Saint Nicholas Church in Dykanka is the ancestral temple-tomb of the Kochubey family.
The church was built in 1794 by count Viktor Kochubey on the territory of the count's estate, on the site of the old wooden church of the 17th century. According to legend, there was a stump on this place, on which the icon of Nicholas the Wonderworker appeared. Before this image, the mother of Mykola Hohol prayed for the health of her future son, named the child in his honor.
When constructing the Nicholas Church, the architect Mykola Lviv used the style of Moravian rotunda churches. The internal volume is covered by a complex double dome system with petals of glass frames that open in the summer. When singers in choirs sing, it seems that the sound comes from heaven. Also a unique system of air heating and ventilation of premises.
The stained oak iconostasis and fragments of the original painting have been preserved. The belfry above the gate is made in the style characteristic of Catholic churches.
In the basement there is a crypt with original sarcophagi, in which several generations of Kochubeys rest.
In Soviet times, a museum of atheism was opened in the premises. Currently, the Nicholas Church is active and is used by the UOC community of the Moscow Patriarchate.
Nearby, there are 800-year-old Kochubey oaks, planted at the entrance to the former princely estate from the Poltava side.
Poltavsky Shlyach Street Dykanka
The Church of Nicholas the Wonderworker was founded during the construction of the Poltava Fortress, and was located on one of its bastions on Institute Hill.
At first it was wooden. In 1774, a new stone Saint Nicholas Church was built. By the middle of the 19th century, the small church could no longer accommodate all the parishioners, and in 1855, a two-story stone annex was built at the expense of the merchant Mykola Vakulenko, on the second floor of which the warm church of George the Victorious was located.
The main temple was destroyed during the Second World War (fragments of brick walls remained), and the annex was preserved - in Soviet times it was used as a production facility.
Currently, the Saint Nicholas Church is functioning. Belongs to the community of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Pershotravnevy lane, 3 Poltava