Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Poltava region
Found 166 attractions
Poltava region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple
The church of the holy great martyr and healer Panteleymon is located in the park named after Ivan Kotlyarevskyi, on the territory of which the city cemetery used to be located.
The All Saints Cemetery Church was located near the cemetery, in which at the end of the 19th century, the famous pope Hapon, the leader of the Christian trade union of St. Petersburg, the organizer of the mass march of workers on the day of "Bloody Sunday", served as a priest. During Soviet times, the All Saints Church was destroyed.
In 1999, by the decision of the city authorities of Poltava, the construction of the church of Saint Panteleymon was started nearby. On September 19, 2000, the church was consecrated, and on September 23 - the first divine liturgy.
Evropeyska Street, 64 Poltava
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Temple , Architecture
The Church of Reverend Sampson on the Swedish grave in Poltava was founded in 1852 in honor of the victory of the Russian army over the Swedes in 1709.
Peter I himself wanted to build a temple on the Poltava battlefield, but the Holy Synod delayed the decision, and after the death of the emperor, the idea was forgotten. Privy councilor Yosyp Sudienko later decided to carry out Peter's will, allocating 100,000 rubles from his own funds, but he did not live to see the start of construction, and the city government began to spend his money not for its intended purpose. Only after the personal intervention of Tsar Nicholas I, the construction of the church began according to the project of the architect Joseph Charlemagne, and in 1856 the Sampson's Church was solemnly consecrated.
In 1893-1895, reconstruction was carried out, a second throne in honor of Saint Constantine was added to the church. The iconostasis was made in the workshop of the Moscow merchant Astafiev, the icons were painted by the artist Malyshev. In 1909, the belfry over the gate was completed.
Shvedska Mohyla Street, 32 Poltava
The Savior and Transfiguration Church in Velyki Sorochyntsi is the temple-tomb of Hetman Danylo Apostol.
It was built in 1732 in the Ukrainian Baroque style popular on the Left Bank of Dnipro. According to one of the versions, the project of the temple was developed by the outstanding Ukrainian architect of the 18th century, Stepan Kovnir, the author of several buildings of the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra and the Klovsky Palace in Kyiv. It was built by local masons. Initially, the Sorochynskyi temple had nine baths, but after one of the fires, four baths had to be removed.
The Church of the Transfiguration of the Savior is distinguished by the richness of the decoration of its facades. Its interior is decorated with a unique seven-tiered filigree carved linden iconostasis with dimensions of 17 by 20 meters and more than a hundred icons, crowned with a double-headed eagle.
In 1809, the future writer Mykola Hohol was baptized in the Transfiguration Church in Velyki Sorochyntsi.
Hetman Danylo Apostol, who died in 1734, is buried in the crypt under the church, as well as his wife Ulyana, his daughters and son, Myrhorod colonel Pavlo Apostol.
A monument to Danylo Apostol is located next to the Savior and Transfiguration Church.
Leheydy Street, 1 Velyki Sorochyntsi
The Savior Church (Spaska Church) is one of the oldest churches in Poltava, an example of traditional Ukrainian architecture.
The exact date of foundation is unknown. The first mentions of the Savior chapel of the Transfiguration Church are found in the 17th century. The official date of construction is considered to be 1705, when Savior chapel was rebuilt at the expense of Colonel Ivan Iskra as an independent wooden temple on the site of the burned-down Transfiguration Church.
According to legend, after the victory over the Swedes on the field of the Battle of Poltava, Peter I, who was resting in the house of Colonel Kelin next to the temple, offered a prayer of thanks for saving the city here.
In 1845, a stone tent was built over the church, and two years later a small stone belfry was erected. In 1849, a monument to the resting place of Peter I was erected nearby.
Sobornosti Street, 10 Poltava
The Savior-Transfiguration Monastery in Mhar is one of the most revered Orthodox shrines in Ukraine.
It was founded in 1619 by Metropolitan Isaya (Kopynsky) at the expense of Princess Rayina Mohylyanka Vyshnevetska, who owned Lubny in the 17th century. According to legend, angels indicated the place for the construction of the monastery to the princess.
In 1684-1692, on the site of the first wooden church, at the expense of hetmans Ivan Samoylovych and Ivan Mazepa, the stone Savior-Transfiguration Cathedral was built (architect Johann-Baptist Sauer).
The exterior of the temple combines the ancient Ukrainian style of the 11th-12th centuries with the Baroque-Renaissance architecture of Western Europe, with a lot of non-canonical decor.
The complex also includes a bell tower in the baroque style (1837-1844), the Annunciation warm church (now Saint Athanasius) in the pseudo-Byzantine style (XIX century), the abbot's and brotherhoods (18th century), the two-level church of Saint Athanasius (now Annunciation, 1891 year).
Patriarch Athanasius of Constantinople, who died during a visit to his beloved monastery, and other church figures are buried here. The monastery enjoyed the support of Ukrainian hetmans and Russian tsars, it was visited by Ivan Mazepa, Peter I, Taras Shevchenko, Oleksandr Pushkin and others.
In Soviet times, a disciplinary battalion was stationed here, warehouses were located, then a pioneer camp. Most of the frescoes were damaged (in memory of these events, the shot icon of Saint Oleksandra was preserved).
The Annunciation in Mhar was returned to the church in 1993, and restoration was carried out. Monks conduct tours.
In 1990, the "Holodomor-33" Memorial of People's Grief was built nearby on Hill Zazhura in the form of a large bell on a mound, which offers the best view of the monastery.
Mhar
Museum / gallery
The Museum of Science in Poltava was opened in 2023 at the National University "Poltava Polytechnic named after Yuriy Kondratyuk" to the 205th anniversary of the establishment of the educational institution.
This is an interactive space where scientific discoveries made by mankind, inventions of Poltava Polytechnic scientists and the evolution of scientific progress are presented in an accessible and interesting form.
The basis of the exposition is made up of exhibits from the history of the Poltava Polytechnic - one of the most famous and oldest higher educational institutions of the Poltava region. It is located in the historical building of the Institute of Noble Girls - an architectural monument of the first half of the 19th century. The modern university was founded in 1930 as the Poltava Institute of Agricultural Construction.
The museum presents a model of the university building, models of mining machinery and oil production equipment.
15 exhibits from the mobile exposition of the Kyiv "Science Museum" are adapted both for children of primary school age and for adult visitors. By interacting with the exhibits and using the tips of the interpreters, visitors have the opportunity to learn about various laws and phenomena of physics, chemistry, mathematics, biology, etc.
Vitaliya Hrytsayenka Avenue, 24 Poltava
The Semenivka Local Lore Museum is located in a large two-story building in the center of the urban-type settlement of Semenivka in the Poltava region. It opened in 1962 and introduces visitors to the history and life of the region.
The main exposition of the museum has seven sections: "Svitlytsia", "Ethnography", "Culture, Science, Art", "Nature", "Russian-Ukrainian War", "World War II", "Historical".
The museum's art gallery hosts exhibitions of folk craftsmen and local artists, including Vasyl Artikulny, Ivan Peretiatko and others.
Nezalezhnosti Street, 63 Semenivka
Palace / manor , Architecture
The palace in the romantic style was built in Khoroshky in 1848 by Prince Shcherbatov.
In Soviet times, the building housed a secondary school. In 1966, some episodes of the film comedy "Wedding in Malynivka" were filmed on the territory of the former Shcherbatov estate. In particular, wedding scenes were filmed in the interiors of the palace.
After the school got a new building, Shcherbatov's palace was abandoned for a long time and fell into disrepair. In 2006, it became private property - the palace was bought by a family from Poltava region. The territory around the palace was cleared of debris and a small repair of the right wing was carried out. The new owners gave the object a new name - "Ramaydan Manor", on its basis the implementation of the environmental project "TurboVulyk" is planned. Excursions are conducted.
Tsentralna Street Khoroshky
The Shyshaky Museum of Local Lore was opened in 1967.
There are about 2,000 exhibits in 6 rooms: archival documents, archaeological finds, relics from the Second World War, etc. Permanent expositions tell about the nature of the region and the history of Shyshaky.
Among the most interesting exhibits: a copper cauldron from the Scythian period, a battle mace and ax of the 13th century, a saber of the 14th century, a Cossack pistol, a grain grinder, the first Shyshaky telephone, a radio receiver from the period of the Second World War.
Marusi Churay Street, 22 Shyshaky
Historic area
The fair in the village of Velyki Sorochyntsi has been held regularly since the 19th century. The Sorochyntsi Fair (Sorochynsky Yarmarok) became famous thanks to the works of Mykola Hohol.
At the turn of the XIX-XX centuries, the village fair was held five times a year. It was closed in the 20s of the 20th century, but revived in 1966. Currently, representatives of various manufacturing enterprises from all corners of Ukraine gather annually at the National Sorochyntsi Fair, offering their products to visitors. In recent years, a folklore and ethnographic section has been equipped, where souvenirs and handicrafts of the best masters of Ukraine are sold.
The fair takes place in the penultimate week of August every year. In the rest of the time, you can explore the field of the Sorochyntsi Fair with models of houses, windmills and other traditional wooden structures.
Myrhorodska Street Velyki Sorochyntsi
Architecture
The ancient Storozhenko tower in Velyka Krucha is the only original building of the Storozhenko family manor, which lived in the village in the 19th century, that has survived.
During the Soviet era, the rest of the manor buildings were destroyed.
Now there is a camping site with a hotel and a restaurant on the territory of the manor. Storozhenka Tower is used as a banquet hall.
Tsentralna Street Velyka Krucha
The Kotelva People's Museum of Sydir Kovpak was opened in 2007 for the 120th anniversary of the birth of the hero of the partisan movement in his homeland in Kotelva.
Sydir Kovpak became famous as the commander of the legendary partisan unit, which went through the entire Second World War from Putivl in Sumy Region to the Carpathians in western Ukraine.
The Kovpak Museum is located in the school where he once studied (now Kotelva Gymnasium No. 1 named after Sydir Kovpak). The first section of the museum "Kotelva region - homeland of Sydir Kovpak" tells about the history of the region. The second section presents the hero's personal belongings, including clothes and weapons.
Samples of weapons from the Second World War are kept here.
Poltavsky shlyakh Street, 1 Kotelva
Monument
A monument to Taras Bulba, the hero of Mykola Hohol's work of the same name, was erected in Keleberda to mark the 200th anniversary of the writer's birth.
The bronze sculpture depicts the Zaporizhzhian chieftain Bulba sitting on a stone with a pipe in his mouth on a high rocky promontory and looking thoughtfully at the wide expanse of the Dnipro. A horse grazes next to him, and a Cossack cannon stands nearby.
The authors of the sculptural composition are artist Volodymyr Chepelyk and his son, sculptor Oleksiy Chepelyk.
Nearby is the Transfiguration Church (2005) and a monument to the soldiers who died during the crossing of the Dnipro in 1943.
Perfylyeva Street Keleberda
The three-story building of the teachers' seminary in Velyki Sorochyntsi was erected in 1905.
It was the first educational institution that trained teachers in Poltava Region. The church functioned during the seminary. In 1922, the seminary was renamed Velyki Sorochyntsi Pedagogical Courses, then Pedagogical College, Pedagogical School.
Today it is Velyki Sorochyntsi sanatorium-boarding school. There is a museum of spirituality at the school.
Myrhorodska Street, 40 Velyki Sorochyntsi
The Trinity church was built in Vyshniaky at the expense of representatives of the Obolonsky Cossack family in 1794-1799.
The single-domed, cruciform church is made in the style of classicism.
According to legend, the Trinity Church used to be connected to the nearby Kotlyarevsky manor by an underground passage, which is now covered up.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street Vyshniaky