Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Poltava region

Attractions of Poltava region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Poltava region

Found 166 attractions

Poltava region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Poltava region

Мототрек, Вишняки
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Motoball Track

Entertainment / leisure , Active rest

The Motoball Track near Vyshniaky is the home arena of the Niva Motoball club.

Matches of the Ukrainian motorball championship are played here. In 1995, 2007, 2009 matches of the European Championship were held.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street Vyshniaky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Муравйових-Апостолів, Хомутець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Muravyov-Apostol Estate

Palace / manor , Architecture

The Khomutets Palace is the ancestral estate of the Cossack family of the Apostols, where the Decembrist meetings were held in the 1820s.

The wooden palace was built in Khomutets by the future Hetman of Ukraine Danylo Apostol in the 18th century. Later, the estate was inherited by the writer, historian and public figure Ivan Muravyov-Apostol. After settling in Khomutets, he replanned the park and added stone wings to the palace, connecting them to the main building with semicircular passages.

Ivan Muravyov-Apostol's sons Matviy, Serhiy and Ipolit, who were active participants in the Decembrist movement, held secret Decembrist meetings here with the participation of Pavlo Pestel, Mykhaylo Bestuzhev-Ryumin and others.

In Soviet times, the palace housed a veterinary and zootechnical school, and a room-museum of the Decembrists was opened.

Recently, the building is in an extremely neglected state and is collapsing. The stucco with the coats of arms of the former owners has been preserved.

In a regular landscape park with an area of 15 hectares, there is a trinity oak, planted by Ivan Muravyov-Apostol in honor of his three sons.

Map pin icon Dekabrystiv Street, 23 Khomutets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей звареного борщу, Опішня
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum of Boiled Borscht

Museum / gallery , Ethnographic complex

The Museum of Boiled Borscht and the Museum of Living Bread were opened in Opishnia on the basis of the green tourism estate "Lyalyna svitlytsya" during the ethno-festival "Living Bread" in 2020.

The owner of the estate, Olena Shcherban, prepares daily borscht for guests according to a new recipe, of which she knows at least 365. Among them are wedding, funeral, winter, summer, white, brown and many others.

In one of the houses of the ethnic estate there is a collection of pots from different regions, stags, as well as a traditional oven in which dishes are prepared. Ingredients added to borscht in different regions of Ukraine are also presented.

Map pin icon Partizanska Street, 19 Opishnia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Великі Сорочинці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum of Local Lore

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Local History in Velyki Sorochyntsi was created in 2008 on the basis of the people's Museum.

Located in a two-story building of the former children's library, to which a carved wooden veranda is attached.

The museum covers the history of the entire Myrhorod region from ancient times to the present day. In particular, tools of the 18th-19th centuries, Ukrainian clothing and household items, a model of a Ukrainian peasant's house of the 19th century, as well as a unique model of the Velyki Sorochyntsi Savior and Transfiguration Church of the 18th century, the family tomb of the Hetman of the Left Bank of Ukraine Danylo Apostol, which is located nearby, are presented.

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street, 28 Velyki Sorochyntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Лохвиця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum of Local Lore named after Hryhoriy Skovoroda

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The Lokhvytsia Museum of Local Lore named after Hryhoriy Skovoroda is located in the old one-story building of the county court, built in 1865.

The museum was founded in 1919 on the basis of the collection of the local real school. Among the exhibits of the museum are collections of Cossack weapons, archaeological finds, sacred objects, samples of decorative and applied art, weapons of the Second World War period.

The museum is named after the poet and thinker, native of this region Hryhoriy Skovoroda. Part of the exposition is devoted to his life and work.

In the courtyard of the museum there are samples of weapons and military equipment from the Second World War.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 48 Lokhvytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Горішні Плавні
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum of Local Lore of city Horishni Plavni

Museum / gallery

The local lore museum of Horishni Plavni has been operating since 2000. The exposition tells about the history of construction of the city of Horishni Plavni and the local mining and processing plant, as well as about the ancient history of the region.

Paleontological and archeological collections are exhibited. The ethnographic exposition "Ukrainian House" recreates the interior of a rural house. The lecture hall contains a mineralogical collection and an art gallery.

The "Shrine" exposition in the courtyard of the Museum of Local Lore presents a collection of "stone chests" - burial structures of archeological culture of the Eneolithic period, found during archeological excavations of local mounds, as well as anthropomorphic or amorphous gravestones and over-mound hewn slabs.

Map pin icon Kosmonavtiv Street, 4 Horishni Plavni

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Раїси Кириченко "Мамина вишня", Корещина
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum-Estate "Mother's Cherry-Tree"

Museum / gallery

The Memorial Museum-Estate of the Hero of Ukraine, People's Artist of Ukraine Rayisa Kyrychenko was officially established in 2024. Previously, it operated on a non-profit basis. It bears the informal name Museum-Estate "Mother's Cherry-Tree" in honor of the popular Ukrainian song performed by the artist.

The museum is located in Rayisa Kyrychenko's native house in the village of Koreshchyna in the Poltava region. She was born here in 1943. She went to school in the neighboring village of Zemlianka, where she first started singing in the choir (a monument was erected in front of the school in 2008).

The house has preserved the atmosphere that existed here during the life of the People's Artist. Personal belongings and photographs are presented. It is possible to listen to recordings of Rayisa Kyrychenko's concerts.

The most valuable exhibit is the titular Ukrainian stage set of Berehynya, donated to the museum by Rayisa Kyrychenko's niece.

Also in the village you can visit the grave of Rayisa Kyrychenko, where she was buried, according to her will, next to her mother's grave in 2005.

Map pin icon Romana Shukhevycha Street, 9 Koreshchyna

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Гоголя, Великі Сорочинці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mykola Hohol Literary Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The first Literary and Memorial Museum of Mykola Hohol in Ukraine was opened in Velyki Sorochyntsi in the restored house of the Sorochyntsi doctor Trokhimovskyi, where the future writer was born in 1809.

The museum was initiated by the artist Amvrosiy Buchma, who in 1929 took part in the filming of the film "Sorochynsky Fair".

During the Second World War the building was destroyed, reconstructed in 1951 without preserving the original layout. The interiors of the 19th century have been restored.

The exposition of the Mykola Hohol Literary and Memorial Museum includes the writer's personal belongings, the first editions of his books, documents, a portrait of Illya Repin's work, and others.

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street, 34 Velyki Sorochyntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Миколі Гоголю, Полтава
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mykola Hohol Monument

Monument

The monument to the writer Mykola Hohol in Poltava was erected in 1934, although it was created before the revolution.

In 1913, the city public of Poltava began to collect funds for a monument to their outstanding compatriot, and 2 years later, the sculptor Leonid Posen handed over the sculpture made by him to the city. The sculptor depicted Hohol sitting in thought with a book in his hand.

The monument was planned to be erected on the square in front of the drama theater, but the First World War stood in the way of these plans. Under the Bolsheviks, they initially did not want to erect a monument for ideological reasons, since Hohol came from a noble family. Only in 1934, the monument took its current place on the boulevard part of Mykoly Hoholya Street.

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street Poltava

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Гоголю, Великі Сорочинці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mykola Hohol Monument

Monument

The monument to Mykola Hohol in Velyki Sorochyntsi is one of the first monuments to the writer in Ukraine. It is also considered one of the best in the world.

The residents of Sorochyntsi decided to perpetuate the memory of a great compatriot in 1909, when they celebrated the centenary of his birth. The author of the monument project is St. Petersburg sculptor Illya Hintsburh.

The monument was inaugurated in 1911 near the house of doctor Mykhaylo Trochymovskyi, where Hohol was born in 1809. The bronze sculpture depicts a writer sitting in deep thought.

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street Velyki Sorochyntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Миколи Лисенка, Гриньки
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mykola Lysenko Museum

Museum / gallery

The Memorial Museum of Mykola Lysenko operates in his native village of Hrynky in Poltava region. It was here that the outstanding composer was born in 1842 in the family of a local landowner, Colonel Vitaliy Lysenko. Here his mother Olha Lysenko gave her son his first music lessons.

A small museum exhibition is located in one of the rooms of the Hrynky Village Council building with original stained glass windows.

The museum exhibition tells about the life and work of Mykola Lysenko. Documents, photographs, as well as some original personal belongings of the Lysenko family from their former house in Hrynky are presented.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 36 Hrynky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Миргород
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Myrhorod Local Lore Museum after Opanas Slastion

Museum / gallery

Myrhorod Museum of Local Lore was organized on the initiative of the famous artist and ethnographer Opanas Slastion (Slastyon), who worked for a long time in Katerynoslav with the famous historian Dmytro Yavornytsky.

The exhibition presents a variety of materials about the history of Myrhorod. The museum is located on the site where in the XVII-XVIII centuries. was Myrhorod fortress. In memory of this, in 2007 a Square of Cossack Glory was opened in front of the museum building, a monument to the Myrhorod Cossacks and a Cossack cannon were erected - a memorial sign on the site of the Myrhorod Fortress (sculptor Dmytro Korshunov).

The museum is named after its founder - Myrhorod Museum of Local Lore named after Opanas Slastion.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Street, 2 Myrhorod

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миргородська калюжа, Миргород
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Myrhorod Puddle

Natural object

The pond in the center of the city, next to the Assumption Church, was immortalized by Mykola Hohol as the "Myrhorod Puddle" in the story "How Ivan Ivanovych quarreled with Ivan Nykyforovych".

In 2009, to the 200th anniversary of the writer, a monument to Hohol, about three meters high, was opened on the embankment. It became the basis of a sculptural complex dedicated to the heroes of Gogol's works: Ivan Ivanovych with Ivan Nykyforovych, Khlestakov, the blacksmith Vakula and Oksana, the incomparable Solokha, Pot-bellied Patsyuk, the pig.

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street Myrhorod

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей курорту, Миргород
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Myrhorod Resort Museum

Museum / gallery

The People's Museum of the History of the Myrhorod Resort was opened in 1998 on the second floor of a separate building on the territory of the Khorol sanatorium.

The exhibition is dedicated to the history of the health resort and its founder, the zemstvo doctor Ivan Zubkovsky, who was the first to evaluate the healing properties of "Myrhorodska" mineral water back in 1914. This happened after, on the initiative of the city administration, drilling of an artesian well began in Myrhorod to provide the city with tap water. The brackish water from the spring was deemed unsuitable for drinking, but Zubkovsky sent samples for analysis, and it turned out that the chemical properties of the water are similar to the healing mineral waters of the springs of Baden-Baden and Aachen.

The museum exposition presents a model of the first Myrhorod water hospital, which opened in 1917 (the original building with the tower has not been preserved).

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street, 112 Myrhorod

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей рушника імені Надії Бокоч, Степне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nadiya Bokoch Towel Museum

Museum / gallery

The Nadiya Bokoch Towel Museum in the village of Stepne bears the name of its founder. Local collector Nadiya Bokoch began collecting antique towels in the early 2000s. Her private collection became the basis of the museum, which opened in 2009 on the second floor of the local cultural center.

Currently, the exhibition features over 600 exhibits, most of which are embroidered towels collected from all districts of Poltava region, as well as from Kharkiv, Sumy, Chernihiv, Vinnytsia, Transcarpathia and other regions of Ukraine. All of them are hand-embroidered in different techniques and have patterns characteristic of their regions. Embroidered paintings, rural clothing and household items are also presented.

One of the exhibits is the "Peoples Friendship Towel", which Nadiya Bokoch embroidered herself, collecting in it samples of embroidery techniques from different parts of Ukraine at the same time.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 17 Stepne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable