Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Chernihiv region

Attractions of Chernihiv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Chernihiv region

Found 220 attractions

Chernihiv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Chernihiv region

Пам'ятник Іванові Мартосу, Ічня
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ivan Martos Monument

Monument

A monument to the sculptor-monumentalist Ivan Martos was erected in his homeland in Ichnia in 1980.

Ivan Martos was born in 1754 in Ichnia in a Cossack family. His most famous work is the monument to Minin and Pozharsky on Red Square in Moscow. During the creation of Martos's sculptures, his sons posed. On the front bas-relief, he depicted himself as a Roman patrician who pushes his sons forward, giving the most precious thing he has to the Motherland. Martos's face was made by his student Samuyil Halberh, keeping his portrait resemblance to his teacher.

In Ukraine, Martos's most famous sculptures are the Dyuk de Rishelye monument in Odesa, the Hrihoriy Potomkin monument in Kherson, and the tombstone of Hetman Kyrylo Rozumovsky in the Baturyn Resurrection Church.

Map pin icon Kovalya Street, 2 Ichnia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Іоанна Богослова, Ніжин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

John the Theologian Church

Temple , Architecture

The two-level church of John the Theologian in Nizhyn was built in the 18th century on the site of a wooden church (1619).

The architectural style of the church is characterized as a transition from Baroque to early Classicism, where experts see the hand of the famous Kyiv architect Ivan Hryhorovych-Barskyi. There was a warm church on the first floor, and a cold one on the second.

Saint John of Kronstadt blessed the city and its inhabitants from the balcony of the Saint John the Theologian Church when he visited Nizhyn in 1893 on his way to Kyiv.

The church was restored in 1954-1955, since then its premises have been used as an archive.

Ancient frescoes, interesting openwork stairs and fences have been preserved. Negotiations are underway regarding the return of the Orthodox Church.

Nearby is a monument to the navigator Yuriy Lysyanskyi, whose father served in this church.

Map pin icon Mykoly Hoholya Street, 4 Nizhyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Казанської ікони Божої Матері, Семенівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kazan Icon of Mother of God Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Semenivka was built in 1875.

The large five-domed stone temple has a central dome above the altar and four small domes. The five-tiered bell tower 47.5 meters high is considered a separate part of the temple. The church has 3 entrances, the main one is from the western side.

In 1935, the church was closed by the Soviet authorities, the bells and crosses were removed. Damaged during World War II.

The Kazan Icon of Mother of God Church was restored in 1999.

Map pin icon Chervona Ploshcha Street Semenivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Кочубеїв, Тиниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kochubey Estate

Palace / manor , Architecture

The Kochubey estate in Tynytsia is an architectural monument of national importance.

It was founded by the descendants of the general judge Vasyl Kochubey, who owned the village in the 19th century. The center of the composition is the manor house of the Kochubeys, built in the 18th century. A beautiful thick pine alley leads to the house.

The palace building is one-story, stone, rectangular in plan, with a strictly symmetrical composition of facades. Further in the park is the treasury building with a second floor added, which changed the original appearance of the building.

The park in Tynytsia was founded at the same time as the Sokyryntsi park by the efforts of Hryhoriy Galagan in the first half of the 19th century. In general, a complex planning system of several park sites with alleys has been preserved. The architectural structure of the park is very interesting: four alleys - spruce, maple, chestnut and linden - converge in rays to the center.

Until 2006, there was a vocational school on the territory of the complex. At the moment, the buildings and the park are in a deplorable condition.

Map pin icon Parkova Street, 2A Tynytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історичний музей, Корюківка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Koriukivka Historical Museum

Museum / gallery

The Koriukivka Historical Museum consists of 5 exposition departments, which tell about the life of people on these lands in different historical periods.

The museum's holdings include more than 8,000 exhibits: numismatics, stone tools of the late Neolithic period, a mammoth tusk, household items and antiques, personal belongings and materials of prominent people, photo documents.

In particular, a fragment of a Ukrainian house of the Koryukiv region of the end of the 19th - beginning of the 20th century is presented. This is a three-room apartment (work, household and ritual parts), in which various things that were used in everyday life at that time are displayed.

Map pin icon Zarichna Street, 8 Koriukivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Центр дитячої творчості, Короп
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Korop Children's and Youth Creativity Center

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The Korop Center for Children's and Youth Creativity is located in the former. the house of the merchant Bohdan, who was one of the richest entrepreneurs of pre-revolutionary Korop.

Here you can see the works of the center's students, including ceramics and straw products, samples of painting.

Map pin icon Voznesenska Street, 14 Korop

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історико-археологічний музей, Короп
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Korop Historical and Archaeological Museum

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The Korop Regional Historical and Archaeological Museum is located in the building of the former Theodosius Church, which was built in the 1880s in the pseudo-Rus style.

Under Soviet rule, the baths were removed from the temple and housed first a cinema and then a museum.

Archaeological, geological and ethnographic collections are of considerable value. In the exposition you can see finds from the Mezyn Paleolithic site, a diorama of the Radychiv settlement from the times of Kyivan Rus, samples of traditional clothes and towels.

The museum also widely presents samples of ceramic pottery and tiles of Korop region, which was known as one of the leading centers of pottery.

The architecture of the region is represented by models of all 9 churches that existed in Korop in the early XX century.

Map pin icon Voznesenska Street, 2 Korop

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Костянтина та Олени, Ніжин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kostyantyn and Olena Church

Architecture , Temple

The church of Kostyantyn and Olena at the Greek (Trinity) cemetery of Nizhyn is one of three Greek churches in the city.

It was built in 1819-1820 (according to other sources - in the second half of the 18th century) in the Baroque style at the expense of wealthy Greek merchants, the Zosyma brothers, possibly their ancestral tomb. Under the altar walls of the church, one of the three legendary brothers of Zosyma is buried - Anastasiy, a nobleman and a knight of the Greek Commandery Order of the Savior. The brothers became famous not only for their wealth, but also for their vow of celibacy, which they swore to keep until the liberation of their homeland Greece from the Ottoman yoke.

Mykola Hohol described the consecration of the church of Kostyantyn and Olena at the Greek cemetery in the youth satire "Something about Nizhin, or The law is not written for fools."

Currently, the church of Kostyantyn and Olena in Nizhyn belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Kosmonavtiv Street, 2A (Trinity Cemetery) Nizhyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Ліцей №1, Козелець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kozelets Lyceum

Architecture

Kozelets Lyceum No. 1 was established in 1996 on the basis of a secondary school, which in turn was established in 1912 as a Higher Primary School for girls.

Arithmetic, writing, reading, embroidery, cutting and sewing were taught there for 4 years. Teaching was conducted in Russian.

During the First World War, the building was used as a hospital. In 1919, the 1st Congress of Councils of the Kozelets district took place in the premises of the lyceum, at which Soviet power was proclaimed. During the Second World War, the Germans used the premises as a granary.

In 1943, training resumed.

Map pin icon Ivana Franka Street, 36/1 Kozelets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Меморіал Пам’яті героїв Крут, Пам’ятне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kruty Heroes Memorial Complex

Museum / gallery , Monument

The Kruty Heroes Memorial was opened in 2006 at the railway station "Kruty" (Pamyatne village near Kruty), where on January 29, 1918, an unequal battle took place between the 4,000-strong Bolshevik army of Mykhaylo Muravyov and several hundred Kyiv cadets and students who took up defense on the approaches to Kyiv.

The student group, formed from students of Saint Volodymyr Kyiv University, Ukrainian National University and Cyril and Methodius Gymnasium, was sent by the Central Council of the Ukrainian People's Republic to help the Bahamian garrison, which consisted of cadets of the cadet school. The battle lasted 8 hours. Ukrainian troops repelled several attacks by the Bolsheviks, but were forced to retreat, having previously dismantled the railway track.

There are no exact data on the number of dead on the Ukrainian side (historians give different figures - from several tens to three hundred). One reconnaissance platoon (about 30 men) was captured and executed by the Bolsheviks. The bodies of those shot were later buried at the Askold grave, history has preserved the names of only 18 of them.

In the course of military operations, the battle near Kruty was not of decisive importance, but the feat of Kyiv students is heroized as an example of patriotism and self-sacrifice of Ukrainian youth. Oleksandr Vertynskyi's song about the fallen cadets "I don't know why and who needs it..." and Pavlo Tychyna's poem about the thirty martyrs "They were buried at the Askold grave" became a symbol of the era.

The central element of the Kruty Heroes Memorial is a monumental stele in the form of a column of the Red Corps of Kyiv University, crowned with a trident.

The museum exposition is housed in old railway carriages collected from all over Ukraine.

Festive events take place on January 29 every year.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Krut Street, 38 Pamyatne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Куликівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kulykivka History and Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The Kulykivka People's Museum of History and Local Lore was founded in 1978. In 1980, it received the status of a "People's Museum".

The museum's collections include about 3,500 exhibits, which are spread across two exhibition halls with a total area of ​​110 square meters. The exposition is divided into thematic sections: "Nature of the Region", "Kulykivka Region from Ancient Times to the Beginning of the 20th Century", "Archaeological Research", "Ethnography", "Natives of the Region on the Fronts of World War II", "Modern Period and Outstanding Natives of Kulykivka Region".

In 2015, an exposition was created dedicated to honoring the memory of the Heroes of the Heavenly Hundred and the Russian-Ukrainian War.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 4 Kulykivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровський монастир, Ладан
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ladansky Intercession Monastery

Architecture , Temple

The Ladansky Intercession Monastery near Pryluky was founded in 1600 by the Kyiv monk Yevfimiy at the same time as the Hustynia Monastery. At first it was called Pidhirskyi.

Princess Rayina Vyshnevetska (Mohylyanka) helped in the construction of the monastery. After the fire of 1753, the monastery was quickly revived. The first stone building in 1763 was the Church of the Holy Mother of God. In the second half of the 19th century, the Intercession Cathedral and Ascension (Saint Nicholas) Church were built.

In Soviet times, a labor commune for homeless children was located on the territory of the Ladansky monastery, then a factory of fire-fighting equipment. Currently, the Holy Intercession Cathedral near the plant is being restored.

Map pin icon Myru Street, 100A Ladan

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок Кучми, Чайкине
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Leonid Kuchma's House

Historic area

Leonid Kuchma's house in Chaikyne was built in 2000-2003 on the place where the wooden parental house of the second president of Ukraine used to stand.

Kuchma was born in 1938 in the local forestry near the nearby village of Uzrui, where his father Danylo worked as a forester, and spent his childhood and youth in Chaikyne.

The current brick building of modern architecture has an area of ​​about 600 square meters. Visually from the street, it seems that Kuchma's house has only 2 floors, but in fact it is four-level. The Great Hall on the fourth floor is used as a public children's library. Other rooms are residential. Leonid Kuchma stops here when he visits his small homeland.

A modern kindergarten and a school have been built nearby. The architecture is reminiscent of the buildings of the famous Kovalivka in the Kyiv region, the homeland of politicians and businessmen of Zasukha, who also own the Taras Shevchenko CJSC agricultural enterprise in Chaikyne.

Map pin icon Kuchmy Street Chaikyne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Левка Ревуцького, Іржавець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Levko Revutsky Manor-Museum

Museum / gallery , Palace / manor

The Irzhavets Manor-Museum of the composer Levko Revutsky has been open for a century from the day of his birth in the ancestral manor of the Revutsky family, where he was born and spent his childhood and youth.

In 1789, the composer's great-grandfather received an estate in Irzhavets near Parafiivka for his services during the Russian-Turkish war. Composer Mykola Lysenko, artist Mykola Ge, composer Platon Mayboroda, writer Lev Tolstoy and others visited the Revutsky estate.

After the composer's family moved to Kyiv, the building housed a school, a library, and a paramedic-midwifery center.

Currently, the estate has recreated the atmosphere of the Revutskys' house. The piano on which the future composer learned to play, the furniture he made himself, the portrait of Shevchenko that hung in his office and other personal items are presented.

Map pin icon Kosmichna Street, 28A Irzhavets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Новгород-Сіверський
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Local Lore of the Novhorod-Siverskyi historical and cultural reserve introduces the history of the city, archeology and nature of the Siverskyi region.

The history department presents a diorama of the late Paleolithic Pushkarivska site, as well as a diorama of the liberation of the city from the German-fascist invaders.

The exposition of the nature department with the diorama "Polissya" introduces the flora and fauna of the region.

The exhibition "Ukrainian life, clothing and embroidery" has been opened in the ethnology department.

Local Lore Museum employees conduct tours of the city.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 3 Novhorod-Siverskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable