Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Khmelnytskyi region

Attractions of Khmelnytskyi region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Khmelnytskyi region

Found 204 attractions

Khmelnytskyi region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Khmelnytskyi region

Старий особняк, Хмельницький
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Old Mansion

Architecture

The ancient one-story mansion on the boulevard next to the monument to Bohdan Khmelnytskyi is one of the oldest civilian buildings in the city of Khmelnytskyi.

Currently, the department of the Khmelnytskyi City Council dealing with citizen appeals is located here.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Mariupolya Street, 18 Khmelnytskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стара синагога, Дунаївці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Old Synagogue

Temple , Architecture

Jews settled in Dunaivtsi since the days of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth and were mainly engaged in trade and crafts. During the Liberation War of 1648, most of the city's Jews died.

In the 18th century, the Dunaivtsi Jewish community recovered. Textile enterprises were opened. In the 19th century, Jews received the right to tailor and shoemaking, and opened a tobacco factory.

In 1847, the community purchased land for a Jewish cemetery on the territory of the neighboring village of Sschyntsi. In 1890, there were 11 synagogues, a synagogue, and a Jewish hospital in Dunaivtsi. At that time, the Jewish population made up more than 60% of the total number of city residents. At the beginning of the 20th century, the community actively developed industry, leased iron foundries and distilleries, owned cloth factories, printing houses, pharmacies, hotels, and shops.

During the Second World War, the Jews suffered greatly. The most tragic events are related to the massacre in the Dunaivtsi Phosphorite Mine. In total, more than 12,000 Jews died in Dunaivtsi. In 1965, a monument was erected at the New York cemetery to commemorate the Holocaust in Dunaivtsi.

During the Soviet period, the Jewish quarters, which were emptied, were actively built up. The last synagogue survived, in the building of which a state institution is located these days.

Map pin icon Sportivna Street, 2 Dunaivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Собор Олександра Невського, Кам'янець-Подільський
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Oleksandr Nevsky Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Grand Cathedral of Oleksandr Nevsky is the main Orthodox church in Kamyanets-Podilskyi.

The neo-Byzantine style cathedral was built in 1893 in honor of the 100th anniversary of Podillya "accession" to Russia. The temple was built with public funds collected by the Oleksandr Nevsky Guardianship. The building was impressive in its grandeur and was one of the most beautiful temples in Kamyanets-Podilskyi.

Oleksandr Nevsky Cathedral had a large main dome and four semi-domes on the sides, a small bell tower was located above the western entrance. The main altar of the cathedral was dedicated to Saint Oleksandr Nevsky, in memory of Oleksandr III, the southern altar bore the name of the Holy Great Martyr Catherine, the patroness of Catherine II, and the northern altar - Saint Nicholas. The church premises were heated by steam heating.

The Oleksandr Nevsky Cathedral was destroyed during the years of Soviet power, but after the restoration of Ukraine's independence, the cathedral was rebuilt.

On April 8, 2023, the residents of Kamyanets-Podilskyi unanimously supported the transfer of the Oleksandr Nevsky Cathedral to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine. However, the faithful of the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate still do not allow the people of Kamyanets-Podilskyi to enter the church.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 2 Kamyanets-Podilskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Олександрівське училище, Хмельницький
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Oleksandrivska School (City Council)

Architecture

The Khmelnytskyi City Council is housed in a building built in 1904 as the Oleksandrivska Real School, named after Tsarevich Oleksandr.

It was a school during the Soviet regime. In 1986, the city council moved here. Four hundred-year-old red beeches growing in front of the building were planted in the year the school was founded and are botanical monuments of nature.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Mariupolya Street, 3 Khmelnytskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Орловських (музей), Маліївці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Orlovsky Palace (Historical and Cultural Museum)

Palace / manor , Architecture , Museum / gallery

The palace and park complex in Maliivtsy was built in 1788 by Count Yan Orlovsky, who bought the estate from Yuriy Svirsky. Now the Orlovsky palace is a historical and cultural museum.

The palace in the style of early classicism was built according to the project of the architect Domenico Merlini. A huge library, paintings by Polish artists, a rare numismatic collection, and an archive containing correspondence between Polish kings and Roman popes were stored in luxuriously decorated rooms. Peacocks were walking in the yard between the marble sculptural groups.

The palace was surrounded by an English romantic park, planned by the famous park builder Denis McClair (Dionizy Mikler) and the gardener Kliger. In the park, located on the slopes of a picturesque stream, 84 types of trees grow: Weymouth pine, beech, 300-year-old ash, etc. A water tower, a bridge, a spring, and two ponds have been preserved in the park. A special historical value is an 18-meter limestone rock with a two-tiered grotto and an artificial waterfall.

Until recently, the Maliivtsi regional children's tuberculosis sanatorium "Svitanok" was located on the territory. On September 30, 2021, by decision of the regional state administration in Maliivtsi, the Maliivtsi Regional Historical and Cultural Museum was created instead of the liquidated sanatorium and the palace of Count Orlovsky was opened for visits.

Map pin icon Ivana Michurina Street, 1A Maliivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац "Маєток Ілляшівка"
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Palace and park complex "Manor Illiashivka"

Palace / manor , Architecture , Museum / gallery , Park / garden

"Manor Illiashivka" is a palace and park complex in the classicist style. The palace was built in 1780 by a Polish nobleman, hero of the Russian-Polish war, memoirist Severyn Bukar.

According to one of the versions, the author of the project was the famous Polish architect of Italian-Swiss origin, Domeniko Merlini, a representative of late classicism and Empire.

The park facade of the palace is decorated with a semi-rotunda risalite. The portal of the front facade has not been preserved. The side facades are decorated with porticoes. The stucco of the halls was made by the sculptor-decorator Zhan-Batist Tsahlyano (the author of the stucco decoration of the Samchyky Palace).

The park was planned by the famous park builder Dionisiy Mikler (Makkler).

The last owners of the "Illiashivka" estate were representatives of the Dorozhynsky family.

Currently, Severyn Bukar's palace houses a local school, and a small village local history museum also operates here.

Map pin icon Parkova Street, 5 Illiashivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Панівецький замок, Панівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Panivtsi Castle

Castle / fortress

The castle in Panivtsi was founded in 1590 by Jan Potoski, the elder of Kamyanets, on the basis of older fortifications.

The stone fortifications were surrounded by a deep moat (now filled in). A two-story palace was attached to the defensive wall between the northern towers, a chapel was arranged in the southwestern tower, and a two-story collegium building and a gate tower were located between the southern towers. On the first floor of the palace was the Calvinist printing house, which worked from 1608 to 1611.

During the Liberation War, the Panivtsi Castle was destroyed by the Cossacks, and in 1769-1770 it was partially restored.

In 1840, Count Karol Starzhynskyi built a luxurious two-story palace with arcades (now in ruins) between the two northern towers above Smotrych.

The southern castle wall with a gate tower and a collegium attached to it on both sides is well preserved. Adjacent to the collegium is a church built in 1907 on the basis of the south-western tower-chapel (now the building of culture and village council).

The stables and farm buildings of the count's estate were converted into a village school during Soviet times.

Despite the many reconstructions and the general poor condition, the Panivtsi Castle reflects the evolution of a regular wall castle to a tower castle.

Map pin icon Smotrytska Street Panivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Переца Маркіша, Полонне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Perets Markish Literary Museum

Museum / gallery

The first museum of the famous Jewish poet Perets Markish in Ukraine was opened in Polonne in 1998.

Markish was born in Polonne in 1895, and spent his childhood there. He became famous in the world as one of the leading Jewish writers, was widely published abroad, was a member of the leadership of the Union of Writers of the USSR, and was awarded the Order of Lenin. In 1949, he was repressed for his participation in the Jewish Anti-Fascist Committee, and in 1952 he was shot.

The exposition of the Polonne museum tells about the life and creative path of the poet. The museum exhibit includes 23 books by the writer in Yiddish, Hebrew, Ukrainian, Russian, English, and even Chuvash. A special place in the exposition is occupied by the jubilee Israeli edition of three books by Perets Markish. They were issued in 1998 on the initiative of the mayor's office of the city of Beer Sheva. One of the three books contains 24 poems and excerpts from the poem in Yiddish, the other two are translated into Russian and Hebrew. The museum received these books as a gift from David Bonfeld, the mayor of Beer Sheva.

The museum exhibits a lot of photographs from different periods of Perets Markish's life, including his childhood and youth spent in Polonne. Also in the museum exposition is a gift from the poet's daughter, the famous artist and sculptor Olha Rapay-Markish - original ceramic products. The exhibition also includes books by Perets Markish's sons - Shimon and David.

The Perets Markish Jewish Cultural Society operates on the basis of the museum.

In 2007, the museum was awarded the honorary title "People's Museum".

Map pin icon Desyatynna Street, 34 Polonne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Петропавлівська церква, Кам'янець-Подільський
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Peter and Paul Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saints Peter and Paul is one of the oldest in Kamyanets-Podilskyi.

The exact date of its construction is unknown. In 1834, during the reconstruction, the date 1580 was discovered on one of its elements. The first documentary evidence of the already existing Peter and Paul Church dates back to 1591 and 1593. Some historians believe that the church is older and attribute it to the period of the reign of the Rus-Lithuanian princes Koriatovych (Koryatovych), who ruled in Podillya until the end of the 14th - beginning of the 15th century.

The bell tower in the Empire style was built on the ruins of the old bell tower, which was destroyed during the Turkish occupation of the city. The architecture of the temple is characteristic of Podillya. In the harsh border conditions (throughout its medieval history, Kamianets was an outpost of Christianity and blocked the way for the spread of Islam to Europe), religious buildings lost their external decoration and often performed defensive functions.

Of the defense-type Orthodox churches in Kamyanets-Podilskyi, only the three-conch (which resembles a shamrock in plan) church of Saints Peter and Paul has survived to this day.

Map pin icon Tatarska Street, 9 Kamyanets-Podilskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей подільської вишивки, Маниківці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Podillya Embroidery and Life Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Podillya Embroidery and Life opened in 2021 in the Manykivtsi House of Culture in the village of Manykivtsi.

In two halls there are more than 500 exhibits of the late XIX - early XX centuries, including ceremonial towels, embroidered shirts, pillows, icons, chests, nights.

It is planned to open two more halls, where, in particular, an old loom will be installed in working order.

Map pin icon Yana Olshanskoho Street, 42 Manykivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Польська брама, Кам'янець-Подільський
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Polish Gate

Castle / fortress

The Polish Gate is a unique hydrotechnical fortification structure in Kamyanets-Podilskyi, which served simultaneously as a city gate, a defense tower, and a dam.

The well-known military engineer Jov Pretvych, who at that time was reconstructing the Kamyanets-Podilskyi fortress, took part in the construction. The Polish Gate complex consisted of five towers on both sides of the Smotrych River and a dam wall that crossed the canyon. In normal times, the dam kept the high water level on the river above the city. In case of danger, water was launched through the locks into the canyon, which was closed by the Rusky Gate located downstream, and the river level rose, creating a water obstacle for the attackers.

By the end of the 17th century, frequent floods destroyed the dam, but the Nadvrantna, Naskalna, Priberezhna towers and the Barbican have survived to this day. In the 19th century, they were handed over to blacksmiths, and since then they have been called the Blacksmith Towers. On the other side of the river, you can see the Wall Tower, which is now on private property.

From the Polish Gate, you can go up to the Peter and Paul Church by the Farenholtz Stairs.

Map pin icon Ruska Street, 2 Kamyanets-Podilskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Полонський історичний музей, Полонне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Polonne Historical Museum

Museum / gallery

The People's Museum of the History of Polonne is located in the building of the city's cultural center.

The museum was founded on October 25, 1964. The exhibition presents a collection of antiquities found on the territory of the region, which gives an idea of the ancient way of life, traditions, and customs of the inhabitants of Polonne region.

Currently, the historical museum of Polonne preserves a unique collection of 4,735 pieces of products of defunct, at the time, world-famous porcelain and art ceramics factories. The products were transferred to the balance of the museum by the keeper of this unique collection, in the past the chief artist of the Polonne Porcelain Factory, Mykola Kozak.

Map pin icon Lesi Ukrayinky Street, 95 Polonne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Гончарська вежа, Кам'янець-Подільський
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Potter's Tower

Castle / fortress

The Potter's (Honcharska) Tower is a distinctive fortification structure above the Smotrych Canyon, which is well visible from the Novoplanivsky Bridge in Kamyanets-Podilskyi.

The tower was built in the 16th century at the expense of a potter's workshop.

The Potter's Tower is open for visitors. Inside the tower, it is fashionable to walk through the restored galleries, to view the panorama from the loopholes. Exposition tablets with information about the monument and its restoration are also installed in the tower.

The "Stara fortetsya" restaurant has opened in the building adjacent to the Potter's Tower.

Map pin icon Valy Street, 1 Kamyanets-Podilskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей пропаганди, Шепетівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Propaganda Museum

Museum / gallery

Propaganda Museum was opened in Shepetivka as a memorial museum of Mykola Ostrovsky - one of the four museums of the writer on the territory of Ukraine.

Renamed by the decision of the Khmelnytskyi Regional Council in 2020.

It was founded in 1946, and the current building of the museum was built in 1974-1979 according to the individual project of architects Mykola Husyeyev and Viktor Suslov. A three-story building of round shape, built of stone and metal, covered with red and black enamel. According to UNESCO, the Museum of Propaganda in Shepetivka is included in the international catalog "Museums of the World" as a unique architectural monument.

The artistic and monumental decoration of the exposition was developed by the artist Anatoliy Haydamaka. In the vestibule, there is a bust of Mykola Ostrovsky by the sculptor Volodymyr Kornev. The main exhibition is on the third floor. The exhibits are in black cubes fixed on rails. Above the cubes are placed spatial compositions of various things corresponding to the era and the theme of the stands. Submitted photos, documents, memorabilia, editions of the writer's works and illustrations to them.

The museum is located on a hill, all the approaches to it are beautifully paved with stone, which, in addition to the original design, unfortunately creates serious inconvenience for people with disabilities.

Here, on the square, stands a monumental monument to Mykola Ostrovsky.

Map pin icon Sobornosti Street, 2 Shepetivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Пшездецьких (Музей Леоніда Глібова), Чорний Острів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pshezdetsky Palace (Leonid Hlibov Museum)

Palace / manor , Museum / gallery

The Literary and Local History Museum of the poet-biker Leonid Hlibov is located in one of the buildings of the former estate of Counts Pshezdetsky in Chornyi Ostriv.

The palace in the style of classicism was built at the end of the XVIII century by Mikhal Pshezdetsky on the site of the castle of the Vyshnevetsky princes. The interiors of the palace have been partially preserved. Oak stairs lead to the second floor, stucco and tiled stoves have been preserved.

In 1847, the famous composer Ferents List visited the Pshezdetsky Palace. The estate was visited by the prominent Ukrainian poet Leonid Hlibov, who from 1856 to 1859 taught history at a local school.

The museum has a photo gallery of the owners of the palace in the Black Island. Here you can meet the Vyshnevetsky and Pshezdetsky families and Kateryna Ihnatyeva, who once owned the town.

Map pin icon Vovchohoransky Lane, 2 Chornyi Ostriv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable