Attractions of Chortkiv district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Chortkiv district

Found 123 attractions

Chortkiv district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Chortkiv district

Вознесенська церква, Чортків
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Ascension of Lord Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Ascension of the Lord is located near the Chortkiv railway station.

It was built in 1717 on the site of a burned-down church founded in 1630 in the suburb of Dolishnya Vyhnanka.

This three-log wooden church is considered one of the best examples of Podillya folk architecture. The Church of the Ascension was built by Chortkiv folk craftsmen without a single nail, and impresses with its monumental forms. The interior has many carved details.

The Ascension Church belongs to the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.

Map pin icon Zaliznychna Street, 83 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Успенська церква, Чортків
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Chortkiv is an example of Podillya folk architecture, the oldest surviving church in Chortkiv.

Assumption Church was founded in 1538 on the initiative of the city brotherhood, whose members were local craftsmen. It was rebuilt in its present form in 1635.

This type of church is called "house" - they were built like ordinary residential houses-huts without architectural decorations. Wooden log cabins are covered with a common shingle roof. 

A wonderful carved iconostasis of the 18th century has been preserved.

Assumption Church belongs to the parish of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Tserkovna Street, 12 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Небовзяття Пресвятої Діви Марії, Скала-Подільська
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in Skala-Podilska in 1719 at the expense of Valentiy Mezheyevsky, who owned the city at that time.

Made in the Neo-Gothic style, the spire of the belfry was completed in the 19th century. The bell tower is decorated with a tower clock installed during the reconstruction in 1852. At the same time, the church building was surrounded by defensive walls with corner towers.

During Soviet times, the temple was closed, it housed warehouses and a power plant.

Currently, the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary has been returned to believers and restored.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 7 Skala-Podilska

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Діви Марії, Ягільниця
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in Yahilnytsia by the Polish magnates Lyantskoronsky.

The stone building in the Baroque style was erected in the 19th century on the site of the first wooden church, founded in 1478. The facade is decorated with the coat of arms of the Lyantskoronsky family.

In Soviet times, the premises of the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary housed a gym, then a warehouse.

In 1992, with the assistance of the Karolina Lyantskoronska Foundation, the church was revived.

Map pin icon Bazarna Street Yahilnytsia

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Пресвятої Діви Марії, Монастириська
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Monastyryska was built in the 18th century at the expense of Yuzef Potocki.

The altar was once decorated with sculptures by the famous master Ivan Heorhiy Pinsel. They are currently on display in the Pinsel museum in Lviv.

200-year-old ash trees grow around the temple.

Since January 2019, the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Monastyryskie has belonged to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 18 Monastyryska

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Успенський костел, Бучач
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Assumption of Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary was built in Buchach under the castle hill near the town hall at the expense of the owner of the town, Kaniv mayor Mykola Vasyl Potoski, as evidenced by his Pylyava family coat of arms on the pediment. The inscription on the portal says: "Out of a desire to have three crosses in Pylyava Potocki, the House of the Cross was built for the glory of God."

The outstanding sculptor Ivan Pinzel worked on the interior design of the Assumption Church for several years. The monumental composition of five altars includes the image of the Mother of God with the Infant Jesus, the figures of Saint John the Evangelist, Saint Yoakhim, Saint Anna, Saint Zazarius, Archangel Michael, Saint Yan Nepomuk, angels, allegorical figures of Swiftness and Love, and the composition of the Glory of God.

After the Soviet devastation, the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary in Buchach was restored and is once again welcoming believers.

Map pin icon Prosvity Street, 2 Buchach

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Бучацький замок, Бучач
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Buchach Castle

Castle / fortress

The ruins of the defensive Buchach Castle, which protected Buchach from the Tatars and Turks since the 14th century, stand on a hill in the center of the city.

The fortress was founded in 1379 by the local magnates Buchachskyi, and three centuries later it was fortified by the new owners Potocki. In 1648, the Cossack army tried to capture Buchach Castle, and in 1665 and 1667 it was unsuccessfully besieged by the Tatars. Only in 1672, the Turkish army was able to capture the city and the fortress was destroyed.

The Potocki tried to restore Buchach Castle, but in the 19th century it finally lost its significance and was almost completely dismantled for building materials.

Fragments of walls and towers have been preserved.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street Buchach

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Бучацька Ратуша, Бучач
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Buchach Town Hall

Architecture

Buchach Town Hall is a wonderful baroque creation of the Lviv architect Bernard Meretin, and is a hallmark of the city.

The 37-meter-high town hall was built in Buchach at the expense of Mykola Vasyl Potoski. The two-story tower rests on a two-story cubic base. Initially, the town hall was crowned with an 18-meter spire (replaced by the current dome after the fire of 1811) and decorated with 17 sculptures by the outstanding sculptor Ivan Pinzel on the theme of the struggle between good and evil. Most of the sculptures were destroyed by a fire in 1865, four of them survived only in fragments.

Thanks to the sophisticated synthesis of architecture and sculpture, the Buchach Town Hall is considered an outstanding work of world architecture of the late Baroque era.

Restoration is currently underway, and the creation of the Ivan Pinzel Museum is planned. The lost sculptures are planned to be replaced with copies. The restored clock on the top tier strikes every quarter of an hour, and every hour plays the melodies of Ukrainian songs.

In 2014, a monument to Ivan Heorhiy Pinzel was erected in front of the town hall.

Map pin icon Halytska Street, 53 Buchach

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац графа Бадені, Коропець
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Count Badeni Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

The elegant palace of the Badeni count family was built in Koropets at the beginning of the 19th century.

It was originally made in a classical style.

In 1906, Count Stanislav Badeni rebuilt the old palace in the Viennese Renaissance style. The facade of the house is decorated with three risalites and porticoes. The middle part of the palace on the first floor was decorated with frescoes. The pediment is decorated with a decorative relief. In the central part of the palace there was a vestibule, and on the side of the garden - a large hall for balls. The lobby was surrounded on three sides by a gallery, from which an oak staircase descended. There was a black marble fireplace in the hall. The upper part of the walls was covered with three rows of portraits of Polish kings. To the left of the royal hall was the dining room, and behind it - the library. In the ballroom stood a marble table with carvings in the style of Louis XVI. The palace was surrounded by a landscape park.

During the First World War, the palace was damaged, but the Badeni managed to restore it before the Second World War.

Currently, a children's boarding school is located on the territory of the manor, and a music school is located in the premises of the palace.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Street, 3A Koropets

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Оборонна синагога, Гусятин
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Defense Synagogue

Architecture , Temple

The defensive synagogue in the Gothic-Moorish style is located on a hill in the oldest part of Husiatyn.

It was built in the 16th century, when there was a significant Hasidic Jewish community in the city. Initially, the building had a pronounced defensive character, but in many respects it lost it after the reconstruction of the 17th century. Gun loopholes have been preserved in the walls of the first tier.

During the Second World War, the building was badly damaged. Later, the synagogue was restored, placing a local lore museum in its premises. Later, the museum was moved to another building, the synagogue building is falling into disrepair.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Maydanu lane, 15 Husiatyn

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Джуринський водоспад, Нирків
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Dzhurynskyi waterfall

Natural object

Dzhurynskyi (Chervonohorodskyi, Chervonogradskyi) waterfall near the village of Nyrkiv is the largest plain waterfall in Ukraine (height - 16 meters).

It is located in the Chervone tract, next to the picturesque ruins of Chervonohorodskyi (Chervonohradskyi) castle, on the territory of the Dniester Canyon National Nature Park.

According to legend, the Dzhurynskyi waterfall is of artificial origin. In 1620, Turks and Tatars, breaking through to an impregnable castle surrounded by water, destroyed a stone ridge and changed the course of the river so that it passed by the castle.

According to another version, the channel was changed during the construction of the Poninsky Palace in the 18th century.

On the rocky shores of Dzhurynskyi Waterfall, you can see the ruins of a water mill that existed in the past. This is a popular summer vacation spot for Ternopil residents. Gazebos and tent sites are available for rent.

Map pin icon Naberezhna Street, "Chervone" tract Nyrkiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Василіянський монастир, Бучач
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Exaltation of Holy Cross of the Lord Basilian Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The majestic monastery of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross of the Lord rises in the center of Buchach on the opposite hill from Buchach Castle, in the Fedir tract.

It was built for the parents of the Basilians, who were invited to the city by Stefan Potoski in the 18th century to found a theological school.

The central building of the Basilian Monastery complex is the Baroque Church of the Ascension of the Holy Cross with a bell tower (architect Yohan Shiltser). It is adjoined on two sides by the buildings of the cells and the Basilian gymnasium (now the Saint Yosafat Buchach Collegium).

During the Soviet era, the Basilian Monastery was closed and fell into disrepair, but after 1991, a complete restoration was carried out. All buildings, including the hydroelectric power plant on the Strypa River, have been restored and are being used as intended.

Map pin icon Adama Mitskevycha Street, 19 Buchach

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Маєток Ґолуховських, Скала-Подільська
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Golukhovsky Manor

Palace / manor , Architecture , Park / garden

The park of the Golukhovsky manor in Skala-Podilska is a monument of horticultural art of national importance. Founded at the end of the 18th century by the Polish elder Adam Tarlo.

Until 1939, it was the estate of Count Agenor Golukhovskyi. According to legend, the count built the park in the shape of the name of his beloved Olena.

In 1968, the "Zbruch" tourist center (now a children's health center) was built on the foundation of the Count's Palace. An outbuilding styled after a medieval castle has survived from the original manor buildings, where the polyclinic is now located.

More than 100 types of exotic and rare trees grown in the park on 26 hectares of land, imported from different countries of the world, including: Japanese red oak, black maple, silver spruce, European cedar, black and Weymouth pine, Virginian juniper, western and eastern thuja, magnolia, sycamore and others. The pearl of the park is an old linden tree over 550 years old with a trunk thickness of 7 girths.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 116 Skala-Podilska

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святої Покрови, Чортків
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Holy Intercession Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Holy Intercession in Chortkiv is one of the new churches of the city, which is distinguished by its rich decoration.

It was built in 1905 at the expense of parishioners on the site of a wooden church. The building of the Intercession Church in the classical style was built according to the project of the Lviv architectural company under the leadership of the architect Mykola Shashkevych and the Chortkiv builder Andriy Drazhnovsky.

According to legend, after the consecration of the Church of the Holy Intercession, a miraculous spring broke out in the yard, over which a chapel was built in honor of the Mother of God. In 1944, another miracle happened: a German shell hit the church, severely damaging it, but the icon of the Mother of God remained intact. And in 2004, there was an apparition of the Mother of God over the chapel of the Queen, built on the site of a new spring.

The 40-meter bell tower with a gilded dome was built in 1996.

There is a bathhouse on the territory of the temple.

Intercession Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Oleny Telihy Street, 16 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Домініканський костел, Сидорів
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Immaculate Conception of Blessed Virgin Mary Dominican Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Order of Dominican Observants was built by Vinnytsia's headman, Colonel Lyudvik Kalynovsky, in the late Baroque style.

The project was developed by the famous architect Yan de Vitte, commandant of the Kamyanets fortress. The plan of the temple is made in the form of the family coat of arms of the Kalynovsky family - an arrow with two stars near the forked tail. The role of stars is performed by multifaceted towers, the tip of an arrow is guessed in the altar part. The facade is crowned by a sculpture of the Virgin Mary.

Nearby is the monastery building, which, after the abolition of the Dominican monastery by the Austrian authorities in 1784, was used as a priest's house.

During Soviet times, the church was closed and abandoned, now services are sometimes held. Restoration has begun.

Map pin icon Tserkovna Street Sydoriv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable