Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Lviv region

Attractions of Lviv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Lviv region

Found 477 attractions

Lviv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Lviv region

Палац архієпископів, Оброшине
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Archbishop's Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

The Palace of the Lviv Archbishops in Obroshyne is an outstanding example of a Galician country estate, the architecture of which intertwines the styles of Baroque, Rococo and Secession (Austrian Art Nouveau).

Since the 15th century, the village of Obroshyne near Lviv served as the summer residence of Lviv archbishops. In 1730, Archbishop Yan Skarbek built a palace here according to the project of the architect Yuzef Fontana. Initially, the architectural complex was built in the Baroque style. In 1922-1925, the architect Bronislav Victor rebuilt the front facade in the Art Nouveau style, while the park facade retained its Baroque design. The service buildings adjacent to the front gate are decorated with sculptures in the Rococo style.

Adjacent to the palace is an arboretum (60 species of trees and shrubs) with a small menagerie.

Currently, a research institute of agriculture and animal husbandry is located on the territory of the manor.

Map pin icon Markiyana Shashkevycha Street Obroshyne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Михайлівська церква, Воля-Задеревацька
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Archstrategist Michael's Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Archstrategist Michael was built in 1856 (according to other data - in 1807).

It is located in the center of the village of Volia-Zaderevatska, near the cemetery.

Archstrategist Michael's Church is characterized by simple forms. Nearby is a small two-story bell tower.

Map pin icon Ivana Franko Street Volia-Zaderevatska

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стадіон "Арена Львів"
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Arena Lviv Stadium

Stadium / sports complex

Arena Lviv Stadium was opened in 2011 as part of preparations for the European Football Championship Euro-2012.

This is one of the newest stadiums in Europe, which was built taking into account all UEFA requirements. The capacity of the stadium is almost 35,000 seats, including 14 VIP boxes. The construction of the arena seats is designed in such a way as to create the maximum effect of the presence of spectators on the field.

"Arena Lviv" has a natural lawn with modern systems of drainage, heating and automatic watering.

During mass events, guests are served by 19 fast food outlets located on the promenade, as well as 7 fast food outlets selling food and beverages on the outer perimeter of the stadium.

The arena has 4,500 parking spaces, of which 100 are for people with disabilities.

Excursions are held by prior appointment, during which visitors are shown the playing area, conference hall, footballers' block (dressing rooms, showers and massage rooms), flash zone, substitute benches, media tribunes, fan sectors, VIP area (restaurant and sky boxes) and the hall of the history of the stadium. Among the "highlights" of the excursion is the opportunity to sit in the seat of the famous football player Ronaldo, try on a T-shirt with the autograph of Andriy Shevchenko, look at the 3D model of the stadium or take a photo with Svyatoslav Vakarchuk.

Map pin icon Stryiska Street, 199 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Аріанська вежа, Белз
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Arian Tower

Temple , Architecture

The Arian Tower in Belz, also known as the Snopkovsky Chapel, is the oldest surviving architectural monument in the city. It was built in 1606, as evidenced by a stone tablet with the Ravych coat of arms on the facade.

A low brick hexagonal structure is located on the old cemetery at the entrance to the center of Belz. According to one of the versions, it was built by the Belz trumpeter Andriy Snopkovsky as a burial chapel. A large basement with a separate entrance, covered by a barrel vault, is obviously the burial crypt of the Snopkovsky family. It is possible that the structure could also perform defensive functions as part of the city fortifications.

The unusual architecture of the chapel is explained by the fact that its founder could have been a supporter of Arianism - one of the currents of early Christianity, which was revived in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in the 16th and 17th centuries in the form of Socinianism. Hence the common name - Arian tower.

From the beginning of the 19th century, the building was used as a flour and salt warehouse. It is now partially restored. It is one of the objects of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve in the city of Belz.

Map pin icon Lesi Ukrayinky Square Belz

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей-Арсенал (Міський арсенал), Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Arsenal Museum (City Arsenal)

Castle / fortress , Museum / gallery

The building of the Lviv City Arsenal is one of the few preserved defensive structures of the medieval city. The Arsenal was part of the system of city fortifications of the 16th century. It is here that one of the largest and best state collections of cold steel and firearms and military paraphernalia is presented in Ukraine.

The first small armory existed in this place at the beginning of the 15th century, but after a fire in 1571 it was demolished and a new two-storey building for the manufacture and storage of weapons was built in 1574-1575. The architects were probably well-known Lviv builders Pavlo Shchaslyvyi and Sebastyan Mochygemba.

On the east side, the Arsenal was adjacent to the High Defensive Wall between the Tokarivska and Shevska towers. There was a bastion in front of the building. Workshops for casting guns and bells and repairing weapons were opened at the arsenal. There was an ammunition depot nearby.

Under Austrian rule in the 18th century, the building was used as an unofficial prison. In particular, it housed the Haidamaks, participants in the Koliivshchyna uprising, as the memorial plaque reminds us.

In 1981, the Arsenal Museum was opened in the premises of the City Arsenal, which represents one of the best weapons collections in the country from 30 countries. The exposition includes ancient Rus and Cossack maces, graceful Arabian sabers, daggers of the peoples of the Caucasus and the Arab East, heavy European two-handed swords, armor of Polish "winged hussars", rifles and pistols with different types of locks, guns with coats of arms and much more. Many monuments are decorated with precious metals, gems, ivory, pearls, coral, mother of pearl. And this is only a small part of the weapons collection of the Lviv Historical Museum, which has about 4.5 thousand units.

"Museum-Arsenal" is a department of the Lviv Historical Museum. There is an antique salon at the museum.

Visually impaired visitors are offered audio description.

Map pin icon Pidvalna Street, 5 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Артцентр "Фабрика Повидла", Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Art Center "Jam Factory"

Architecture , Museum / gallery

Jam Factory Art Center is a contemporary art center in Lviv that organizes exhibitions, theater, music, educational and community-oriented projects.

The exhibition space with an area of 3,410 square meters opened in 2023 in the Pidzamche district, on the territory of the former "Yozef Kronik and Son" spirits factory, where jam was made in Soviet times.

The architectural dominant of the building is the neo-Gothic tower of 1910, where the authentic stairs, windows and doors have been preserved. The historical exhibition on the second floor of the neo-Gothic tower tells about the history of the building and the enterprises that operated in this landmark of the industrial suburb of Lviv.

The heart of the complex is the Great Exhibition Hall, where, after the opening of the art center, the exhibition "Our years, our words, our losses, our searches, our us" was placed. More than a hundred works of Ukrainian artists are presented here: from the 19th century to today.

"Black cube" serves as a multifunctional space for various events. The theater for performative practices is equipped with modern technological means.

A cafe, a bar and a souvenir shop operate on the territory of the complex, there is a large parking lot and a shelter. Pets are allowed in the courtyard, cafe and bar.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 124 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Леся Курбаса, Самбір
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Art Museum named after Les Kurbas

Museum / gallery

The memorial museum of Les Kurbas in Sambir was opened in 1993 in the house where the future actor and director was born in 1887.

Kurbas was the founder of the national Western Ukrainian theater school and the creator of the famous theater-academy "Berezil".

The museum's collection includes 5,594 items: a bust of Les Kurbas by the sculptor Mykola Posikira, a bas-relief board by the sculptor Emmanuyil Mysko, paintings by Mykhaylo Yaremkiv, Stepan Muryash, Lesya Fryntsko and others.

Selections of theatrical photographs, embroidered napkins, etc. are presented.

Map pin icon Lesya Kurbasa Street, 1 Sambir

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Петра Обаля, Стрий
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Artist Petro Obal Museum

Museum / gallery

The memorial museum of the artist Petro Obal in Stryi was opened in 2005 as a department of the local history museum "Verkhovyna". The basis of the collection was the collection of the artist's daughter, Vira Obal.

Part of the exhibition in the first hall is the artist's memorial working corner: a table, a bookcase, in which there are some books from the Obal family library and objects of applied art. The presented documents include a diploma and a certificate of graduation from the Krakow Academy of Fine Arts, a certificate of secondary education, a certificate of a gymnasium professor, photographs, early drawings of the artist.

In the second hall, works from the time of imprisonment and the stria period of Obal's work (1950–1980) are exhibited. Letters to Oha's wife, written from prisons in Kazakhstan, as well as a drawing of a barrack in which the artist's workshop was located, deserve attention.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 107 Stryi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Вознесіння Діви Марії, Наварія
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ascension of Holy Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The first wooden Catholic church in the village of Navariia near Lviv was built at the turn of the 16th and 17th centuries, but it was soon burned down by the Tatars.

The same fate befell the second wooden temple.

Only in 1641-1645 was the stone Ascension Church built at the expense of Elzhbeta Humnytska. The temple was damaged during the Liberation War and in 1739 the shrine was partially dismantled. The money for the reconstruction was allocated by the Venyavskyi family, and in 1740-1748, the prominent Lviv architect with Italian roots, Bernard Meretyn, built a new Ascension Church on the old foundations in the then popular late baroque style. It was probably the first work of the master.

Finishing and decoration with the participation of the artist Antonio Tavelli continued for several more decades. A bell tower was built in 1766.

In 1991, the church, restored after the Soviet period, was re-consecrated as the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and after 2011 it changed its title to Saint Valentine, since the relics of this saint have been kept here since the 17th century.

Map pin icon Poshtova Street Navariia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Успіння Богородиці, Борислав
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Boryslav was built in 1929.

It is located at the exit from the city in the direction of Skhidnytsia (then it was the village of Mraznytsia).

The temple, according to the project of architects Serhiy Tymoshenko and Oleksandr Pezhanskyi, is built on a high plinth made of Ternopil stone, the floor is paved with Czech tiles, the main throne is made of white Carrara marble. The church is decorated with four entrance columns made of white stone, the domes of the church are covered with copper sheet. Artistic stained glass windows were executed by the famous impressionist artist Petro Kholodnyi under the supervision of the poet and artist Bohdan Lepkyi.

In 1962, the Church of the Assumption in Boryslav was closed by the Soviet authorities.

Reborn in 1991 as Greek Catholic.

Map pin icon Stepana Bandery Street, 97 Boryslav

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Діви Марії, Золочів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (the former Church of the Ascension) was founded in Zolochiv in 1730 together with the monastery and the collegium of piary.

After the liquidation of the Order of piary by the Austrian authorities in 1788, the church was closed, and warehouses were placed in the building. In 1838, the Roman Catholic parish moved here from the Resurrection Church, which was transferred to the Greek Catholics.

In Soviet times, it was the only functioning church between Lviv and Zbruch.

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is made in the magnificent late baroque style. During the restoration in 1878, a quadrangular tower with a clock made of hewn stone was erected on the main facade, a veneered pediment, a roof covered with galvanized sheet metal, and five stone sculptures were installed in the niches. The vaults of the nave and apse are richly decorated with carvings and paintings.

Map pin icon Hryhoriya Skovorody Street, 6 Zolochiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Успіння Пресвятої Богородиці, Славсько
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Slavsko was built in 1901 (architect Vasyl Nahirny) on the place where, according to legend, a cross fell twice, torn by the wind from an old wooden church on a nearby hill.

The bell tower at the cemetery survived from the wooden Assumption Church.

A monument to the writer Mykola Ustyyanovych was erected near the church.

Map pin icon Ivana Franka Street, 16 Slavsko

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Діви Марії, Жидачів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was founded in Zhydachiv in 1301.

At first it was wooden. In 1415, the brother of King Svydryhaylo, who owned these lands, decorated the temple. In 1602, the construction of the Assumption stone church was started at the expense of Mykola Lihenza and Yezhy Zholchynsky.

In 1676, the Polish king Yan III Sobeski celebrated the victory over the Turks near Zhydachiv in this church.

In 1895, there was a fire in the church, and only in 1938 was the reconstruction completed.

During Soviet times, the Church of the Assumption was closed, first a bus station was placed in it, and then a museum of local history.

Currently, the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is active.

According to legend, there used to be a family estate on three hills outside the city, to which an underground passage leads from the church. Until now, the old "man's" stables have been preserved, which now contain classrooms and garages of the local professional lyceum.

Map pin icon Ivana Franka Street, 4 Zhydachiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Діви Марії, Білий Камінь
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Bilyi Kamin is one of the best works of the Lviv architect Amvrosiy Prykhylny.

The founders of the temple were Prince Yuriy Korybut Vyshnevetskyi and his wife Teresa.

The Church of the Assumption is surrounded by a stone wall with an exit gate and two bell towers. The wall paintings in the interior were made at the end of the 18th century.

In 1983-1991, the temple was used by the Lviv Art Gallery.

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary harmoniously combines elements of Baroque and Renaissance architecture.

Map pin icon Bilyi Kamin

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Катедральний храм Успіння Богородиці, Стрий
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is the main Greek-Catholic church of Stryi.

The history of the shrine originates from the church of the Franciscan monastery, known since 1608. In 1785, the Austrian authorities liquidated the Catholic monastery and handed over the religious building to the Ukrainian community.

The wooden Assumption Church was the oldest in Stryi, but due to its poor condition, it was dismantled and a new church was built on this site. The relics of Blessed Petro Verhun are kept here. The main shrine is the miraculous Lesko icon of the Mother of God.

Map pin icon Uspenska Street, 16 Stryi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable