Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Transcarpathian region
Found 226 attractions
Transcarpathian region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Museum / gallery
The Ethnographic Museum "Svitlytsya" was founded in Uzhhorod in 1991 by Transcarpathian ethnographers, folklorists and teachers as an ethnographic corner of the Transcarpathian Regional Center for Children's and Youth Creativity "PADIUN".
The exhibition "Transcarpathian House" reproduces the interior of a traditional residence of the inhabitants of the region. The tools of peasant work and everyday life, folk costumes of Transcarpathia are exhibited.
The exhibition "Past by hands of the future" presents historical miniatures of the life, everyday life, trades and crafts of the residents of the Eurocarpathian region, models of architectural monuments of Transcarpathia.
Studentska embankment, 8 Uzhhorod
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The ethnographic museum "Verkhovyna" is located in the premises of the Volosianka secondary school.
The exposition presents a variety of ethnographic materials that characterize the culture and daily life of the inhabitants of the Velykyi Bereznyi region: samples of national clothing, embroidered towels, a loom, ceramic dishes, and other items of peasant life.
Tsentralna Street, 301B Volosianka
Architecture , Museum / gallery , Ethnographic complex
The manor-museum of the Transcarpathian village of Velyki Berehy was opened in 2013 in a modest village house built in 1898 on the initiative of the Ferentsa II Rakotsi Transcarpathian Hungarian Institute.
The estate is located in the center of the village, near the Reformed Church. Restored during 2009-2012. The residential building consists of three rooms, has a pantry and an authentic stove. The exposition presents looms, other work tools and household items.
The courtyard is separated from the garden, where more than 500 species of plants grow.
Workshops on traditional crafts are held.
In 2021, the Velyki Berehy Ethnographic Museum-Manor was awarded the "House-Museum of the Year" award from the Association of Local History Museums of Hungary.
Ferentsa II Rakotsi Street, 25 Velyki Berehy
Temple , Architecture
The Roman Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Berehove is one of the oldest Gothic buildings in Ukraine. The church was probably founded in the 11th century.
According to legend, the first temple at this place was built by the legendary founder of Berehove - shepherd Sas, who found a pot of gold here. In written sources, the Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Berehove was first mentioned in 1247.
It was rebuilt in the Gothic style in 1418, but the Romanesque style is preserved on the northern portal. Restoration works were carried out in the 19th and 20th centuries.
A monument to the Hungarian king Istvan the Holy was erected in the yard.
Rakotsi Ferentsa II Square, 7 Berehove
Museum / gallery , Architecture
The house-museum of the artist Fedir Manaylo is dedicated to the life and work of one of the founders of the Transcarpathian school of painting.
The museum was opened in 1981 in the house where Manaylo lived in the middle of the XX century in Uzhhorod. Here he taught decorative arts at the Uzhhorod School of Crafts and the Uzhhorod School of Applied Arts, worked as the chief artist of the Transcarpathian Regional House of Folk Art.
The museum exposition includes more than 2,000 exhibits, including personal belongings of the artist, documents from his personal archive, as well as works of art that acquaint with the work of Fedir Manaylo: paintings, graphics, scenery, etc.
The interior of the artist's workshop and living room has been preserved.
Fedir Manaylo Memorial House-Museum is a branch of the Transcarpathian Regional Art Museum named after Yosyp Bokshay.
Druhetiv Street, 74 Uzhhorod
The Fine Arts Museum was founded in 1997 at the Mukachevo Boarding School of Art, now the Mukachevo Lyceum No. 8. The Lyceum is located in the premises of the former Hungarian State Royal Gymnasium, which was built in 1892.
The exhibits of the museum became the examination works of the graduates of the school in fine and decorative and applied arts – the best works of art of painting, graphics, embroidery, ceramics, carvings, moldings, straw appliqués, collages, etc. Here you can see embroidered towels, Easter eggs, paintings with Transcarpathian landscapes, various clay products.
Excursions to the Fine Arts Museum are conducted by members of the "Young Tour Guides" group.
Korolevy Yelyzavety Street, 22 Mukachevo
The only European Forest and Wood Alloy Museum is a part of the Synevyr National Nature Park. It is located in the Sokolovets tract on the Chorna River, 3 kilometers from the road leading from the village of Synevyr to Synevyrska Poliana.
The museum was created on the Chorna River – in the place where a dam with a gate was built to release water in the middle of the 19th century. It was a complex of wooden structures, technical units and mechanisms 80 meters long and 5.5 meters wide. Wood from the mountains was floated from here to the valley and then delivered to Hungary. The dam functioned until 1960.
In 1976, the unique hydrotechnical structure was restored, and a wood-rafting museum was created on its basis. Here you could familiarize yourself with the technology of timber rafting, visit technical and residential premises, see the tools of loggers and woodcutters-bokorashs.
In 1998, due to excessive rainfall, the water level in the river rose sharply, the museum was partially destroyed, and the dam was damaged. Another flood in 2001 finally destroyed the dam.
Currently, part of the Museum of Forest and Wood Alloy exposition can be viewed in the Synevyr NNP Visitor Center, where it is temporarily located. The rest of the exposition is presented in one of the restored premises of the museum. The old bokorash hut has been repaired, the rafts that were used to bring down the wood have been built, and a real bokor (raft) is on display.
Restoration of the dam on the Chorna River is underway. There is a mini-hotel on the territory. The ecological trail to the Wild Lake starts from the museum.
Sokolovets tract Synevyrska Poliana
The first Franciscan monks appeared in Vynohradiv in the 15th century, which gives grounds for dating the monastery.
In the same century, the Franciscans received their order from Baron Pereni, the castle of Kankiv. In the middle of the 16th century, when the reformation movement began to spread in Transcarpathia, the order was disbanded.
Half a century later, the Franciscans returned and rebuilt the monastery and the church of Saint. Francis. Initially, it was made in Gothic forms, but after it was destroyed by the Tatars in 1717, it was restored in the Baroque style.
In the 19th century, the temple was abandoned and partially rebuilt. In Soviet times, a historical museum was located here.
Myru Street, 3 Vynohradiv
Natural object
The giant oak in the center of the village of Stuzhytsia, nicknamed "Grandfather-Oak", is considered by ecologists to be one of the oldest in Ukraine - its age is estimated at 1200 years (according to old data - 500 years).
The girth of the tree trunk is 9 meters, the height is more than 30 meters.
According to legend, the acorn from which the oak tree grew was brought from Hungary by a huge fairy boar. There are many other legends associated with "Grandfather-Oak".
Bequeathed in 1968. It was considered the oldest until recently, until a tree of an even older age was discovered nearby - the Champion-oak.
Stuzhytsia
The Gothic Church of the Heart of Jesus in the village of Bene is an architectural monument of national importance.
The first written mention of the church, located on the main road on the right bank of the Borzhava River, is found in 1333, but most likely it was an older structure, on the site of which the monumental stone Catholic Church of the Heart of Jesus was built at the end of the 14th century.
The temple probably had defensive significance, as the small windows of the massive tower look like loopholes, the northern wall of the temple has no windows at all, and the rest of the walls have small pointed windows. The single-nave basilica is reinforced with buttresses.
In 1593, the villagers joined the reformed faith, the church was rebuilt.
In the 70s of the 17th century, the temple was reconstructed after the destruction during the Poles' suppression of Prince Ferents Rakotsi rebellion. As a result of the last reconstruction of the 19th century, the tower, which was originally in the form of a Gothic spire, was rebuilt in the Baroque style with a central decorative lantern.
In 1999, restoration was carried out by Hungarian masters, which returned almost the original Gothic style to the temple. The roof of the building, as well as the buttresses, are covered with shingles (wooden tiles).
The Church of the Heart of Jesus is active
Ferentsa Rakotsi Street, 74 Bene
The Stepan Vayda People's History and Local Lore Museum is located in the village of Dulovo in Transcarpathia. It bears the name of tank driver Stepan Vayda, who was born in the village of Dulovo in 1922, during the Second World War he fought on the side of the Soviet Union as part of the 1st Czechoslovaska Army Corps and died in the battles for the Polish city of Tworków in 1945.
The exhibition in 4 halls reflects the history and culture of the Tyachiv region. Many items of ancient clothing, household items, and work tools are presented. Also collected are collections of local folk craftsmen - weaving, embroidery, etc. A tank and a bust of Stepan Vayda have been installed on the territory of the museum.
Stepana Vaydy Street, 62 Dulovo
The Museum of the Salt Mines History in the urban-type village of Solotvyno tells about the origin and development of salt industries in Transcarpathia, methods of salt extraction in the territory of the region in different historical eras.
Since 1974, the museum has been located near the Solotvyno Salt Mine, which is one of the largest in Europe (salt reserves here amount to 300 million tons, the thickness of the layer of industrial development is 300 meters). However, due to the emergency condition of the building in connection with the karst processes on the territory of the salt mine, the Historical Museum of Salt Mines has temporarily stopped working.
In 2021, the Solotvyno Village Council allocated a new exhibition space to the museum. Here are presented tools of salt miners, various lanterns and lamps, clothes and personal belongings of miners, various engineering structures, documents, maps and photographs.
Yevropeyska Street, 10A Solotvyno
The private museum of the history and ethnography of Transcarpathian Romanians opened in 2014 in the village of Nyzhnia Apsha, which is called the richest village in Ukraine. A significant part of the population here is made up of ethnic Romanians.
The museum was created in his own yard by the Apsha dentist and writer, ethnic Romanian Ion Botosh, who has been collecting Romanian antiquities since 1984. The real adornment of the complex is a 200-year-old wooden house in the Maramorosh style.
The exposition presents Romanian embroidery, authentic clothes, towels, household items, icons, books, manuscripts, documents. You can also familiarize yourself with the tools of peasant labor and the working tools of craftsmen.
Borkanyuka Street, 17 Nyzhnia Apsha
The Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul in Irshava was built in 1802-1825 as a Greek Catholic church on the site of an old wooden church founded in the 18th century.
Later, the Peter and Paul Church became Orthodox. Belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Narodna square, 4/8 Irshava
The wooden church of the holy apostles Peter and Paul in the village of Uklyn is the oldest church in the Svalyava region. Probably, during the construction of the church in the 18th century, building materials from the previously dismantled church of the 14th century were used.
The small temple is built in the style of folk architecture. The architectural monument was restored in 2001.
Tsentralna Street Uklyn